My most satisfying experience as a teacher

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

ROLES OF A TEACHER
Role is the way in which an individual is expected to perform according to his social position or status. This we are judged according to what is expected of us. As a teacher, there are lots of roles to play in the success of any educational system.. The teachers roles are complex and diverse that one does not know were to begin and were to end compared to medical doctors, or engineers who plays specific roles.. Some basic roles of the teacher includes; imparting knowledge, creativity, foresight, understanding learners and honesty.
In the classroom, the teacher is expected to be able to plan, organize, guide and evaluate...
Other roles comes in to play amumin the community and among his/her colleagues
image
Photo source: @enomfonetuk
My Experience As A Physics Teacher
One of my most satisfying experience as a physics teacher is creativity skills(hey! Don't give me that stern look).. Smiles! Yes, I mean creativity skills..
Physics as a subject has to do with creative thinking.
As a teacher, I realized that most students don't like subjects that deals with calculations thus making physics to be one of the subject that makes them bored when taught..
I could recalled while I was teaching and one of them said, "MA, we can't understand why We have to do all this calculations.. Like, how does it affect our lives".. She spoke just like a Nigerian student of course..
I only smile cos I was in her shoes when I was a student too..
With this I started learning how to be lively go make the class interesting..
The first approach I took was visiting the laboratory for experimental verifications of theories immediately after the class..
Wow... It seemed like I just found solutions to their problems.. I could see the glimpse of happiness on their faces after every class as some will run to me telling me how they understood the topic they thought was difficult... I was just so happy cos the joy of every teacher is realizing that he or she has imparted knowledge to His or her learners..
As it gets better, I tried looking for other ways to get them the more.. I tried linking physics to their everyday life..
"madam, we tried verifying the law of gravity by throwing our ball up the air..... Now we understand better" one student said happily.. I smiled
image
Photo source: @estherekanem

At that time, I realized they needed something creative and fun-filled
I thought of going to the class with drawings and pictures but too bad I wasn't really perfect in drawings and art work..
"what do I do?" became the question I asked myself everyday..
I started learning the skills.. Drew so many things and end up dumping it in the waste bin..
The first day I took My first drawing to the class, they were just like, "wow! Madam so you can draw.." till the end of the class, their faces were as bright as I could imagine.. They gave me the looks that made me believed they understood the concept better with the teaching aid

"I've gotten the code", I said to myself..
I then understood I needed to be creative..
I did more of such works and I became perfect..
It was such an experience that made me satisfied with myself
My students now likes physics cos of my creative skills. Nobody is complaining about the calculations again as they now take physics to be one of their best subject..
As a teacher, your Creative skills can go a long way to making learning successful
Yes, being a teacher taught me how to be creative and I love it..
image
Photo source: @steemiteducation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94