Learners' Anxiety in Math on focus

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

images (22).jpeg
Image source:Google

We always hear children or students saying that Mathematics is the most hated subject for them. Like in my case, I am a Mathematics teacher and I witnessed that many of my students saying that they find Mathematics as hardest subject and sometimes mental torture.

Screenshot_2018-05-12-16-17-18-65.png

I took up Mathematics as my major because I really love numbers, problem solving and analyzing equations. I also want to formulate my own formula. But when I started teaching in public school, It test my patience and hardship in teaching mathematics. I really need to decongest the topic and make it easy for them to understand it more.

For me, here are some reasons behind the hatred towards Mathematics.

  1. ATTENTION SPAN

images (16).jpeg
Image source:Google

As a teacher, I allowed my students to ask me a question regarding the particular topic if they didn't understand the lesson. Students may be mentally distracted and have difficulty focusing on multi step problems and procedures. And me, as a Math teacher, I innovating ny teaching Aids. I downloaded energizer and sometimes motivational song about mathematics. They need to earn attetion from us.

  1. MEMORY PROBLEM/MEMORY ABILITY

images (19).jpeg
Image source:Google

Based on my experienced in teaching Mathematics for 5 years, most of the students have memory problem affecting their studies in Math. I noticed that Math is the one subject giving more headaches for the students as they recall the equations, theorems, graphs, calculus, logarithms, sequences and many more which can be hard for my students to memorize.

  1. UNDERSTANDING THE LANGUAGE OF MATHEMATICS.

math.jpg
Image source:GOOGLE

YES!!! The language of Mathematics is deeper from other languages. Students are confused by words that also have special mathematical meaning such as "volume", "yard", "power", squareroot" and "area" seriously hampers students abilities to focus on and understand terms and operations for algorithms and problem solving. For me, memorizing these terms without meaning and context is not productive.

  1. FEAR IN THE SUBJECT "MATH"

images (25).jpeg

Everytime I write an equation on the board , I saw the fear in the face on some of my students. They always told me that they dont want to encounter any numbers or any math symbols and operations. They dont want to attempt answering the given equation to find the value of "x" and "y" because accroding to them, its hard for them to attempt cause they lead always in wrong answer.

They also don't want to see any numbers on the board, they dont want to try because of "FEARNESS", fear of not understanding it because they actually try the real thing.

  1. TEACHING ABILTY/STRATEGY OF TEACHERS.

5125166-teaching-student-maths-problems.jpg

When I got a chance to interview the higher lever students in our school why they have Math anxiety, one of the factors they have told me is the "teacher". his abilty in teaching Math. "My teacher in Math is so boring, his strategy didn't meet our expectation"those are some answers I got.

I also interviewed some people about Math anxiety . I interviewed them through facebook messenger.

The first one is my student who are a Math wizard. He is Ace Meelan Balbarez. He is also "UPCAT" passer.

FB_IMG_1526115308362.jpg

Screenshot_2018-05-12-14-12-21-99.png

According to him, the major factor is "FEAR".For him, its about mind over matter. If you think math is difficulty it may be difficult but if you think that Math is easy , it easy.

He also said "students didn't appreciate the importance of Math in our daily living and How math can help in our future.

The next one, is "MS . JENN BERDIN". She is my former co teacher. She is an English teacher and a friend of mine.

FB_IMG_1526115821437.jpg

According to her "They hate Math subject because of the following reasons ;1.It is a difficult subject. 2. Sometimes the teachers are not goof enough in explaining the concepts ,in short ,they have difficulties in reaching out their Math teachers. Maybe the teacher is very serious and strict. 3. They find it a little bit boring especially if they have issues in numbers and many things related to this subject"

"When I was in fourth year high school, I was really amazed because I really understood all the lessons of my Calculus teacher. Math is the most difficult subject for me but because of the teacher's performance, I started to enjoy my Calculus subject that time."that was according to teacher jhenn.

And the last one is "SIR MARVIN UMALI". He is an OIC HEAD in MAYONDON NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL AND MY MENTOR.

FB_IMG_1526115950791.jpg

According to him, "Hahaha.number itself is a threat.. it makes everyone sick of computing hehehe"

I am thankful to have an interview with regards in Math anxiety.

As a Mathematician, I can attest that my field is really about ideas above anything else. Think of it this way: you can appreciate art without acquiring the ability to paint or enjoy a symphony without being able to read music. Math also deserves to be enjoyed for its own sake without being constantly subjected to the question, "WHEN I WILL USE THIS?". So, actually you can apply this to your life, in your everyday life.

We all want our kids or students to succeed in Math. Being intentional and using creative approacj to your instruction can get students excited about Math.

So for all teachers out there, especially Math Teachers, I will give some tips and strategies in teaching Mathematics that can make your classes enthusiast and alive.

  1. Be INNOVATIVE

Classroom.jpg
Image source:Google

We are in the 21st century niw and we have to innovate our Math teaching strategy.The technology are there to help us in teaching math in easy and exciting way.

You can visit mathscore.com and Mathiscool.com. these sites provides a interactive games about mathematics.

hqdefault.jpg

images (27).jpeg

images (28).jpeg

I believe, by innovating strategies and teachinh techniques, we can easily catch their attention.

  1. ENCOURAGE MATH TALK

images (29).jpeg
Image source:Google

external_image.jpeg
Image source:Google

In my own experienced, I engaged students in converaations about their works and have them describe How they solved a problem in a certain way. My goal is to get information about what students are thinking and use that to guide my instructions.

Sometimes I called my students in the name of some Mathematicians instead of their real name. Example , instead of "CARL, HOW ARE YOU?", I called him "PHYTAGORAS, HOW ARE YOU? DID YOU MEMORIZE YOUR OWN FORMULA THE PHYTHAGOREAN THEOREM?. And by that they are forced to memorize it because that is their own formula.

  1. BRING EXCITEMENT AND GIVE REWARDS

images (31).jpeg
Image Source:Google

For me, this one is very effective. For example:With fist in Math, students earn points and recieved rewards and certificates, stickers, badges or sometimes candies. Everyafter discussion, I prepared a Seat Work. The firat 15 students who sokve the problem correctly, they will get a rewards aside in getting a perfect score.

Having that recignition and moment is powerful. I also prepared a motivational game before we start our discussion. It really helps.

  1. TEACHER TEAM WORK AND REFLECTION

images (32).jpeg
Image source :Google

This is very important, to collaborate with other teachers to improve math instruction skills. Start it by discussing the goal for the math lessin. Don't be shy to seek some help and suggestions from your co teachers. It will help you as a global competitive and effective Math teacher.

I hope you will like it and start to.love Mathematics. Because Math is fun and exciting. Don't be afraid.Again, its a mind over matter. Thank you and God bless

U5drvU7rQXWmrwGvWBkAD2vpnrFWVGV_1680x8400.png

received_1899006360118610.gif

DQmPWVWpevRndDsuWVY74Tv41GLrdogb2DzVch6ZmsWcHYt.gif

Sort:  

Good to see you starting to write Steemit Education post.

Yes sir, thank you po hehe..

Hello AJ.
One cannot innovate on what we call "Exact Science". Innovation will yield to different outcomes :)

You can make it fun though that's for sure!

Great post. Really thrilled by seeing such an article on the most hatred and hard to learn subject for students . Your summary is of a great value because you covered every possible area which should be noticed if one want to make it easy or make students or himself/herself show intrest in Mathematics. I really liked your reasons because mainly these are the problems one can face during learning mathematics but your techniques to cope with it is amazing and helpful. I hope students will take benefit of your article. Be blessed sir

Yes ..thank you so much . God bless you too

Thank you sir, your response means alot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73