Jack of all trades, teaching is fun: Love guru

in #steemiteducation6 years ago


Image source

One of the benchmarks I use to gauge how much my students trust me is when they tell me who their crush is. To set the record straight, my students are teacher trainees and they are at the age where they would date. So, I am not encouraging young children to date, but for the students in my age group, I am not exactly surprised.

It all started with a knock on my office and two student told me that they are both dating. They ask if it was alright and came to let me know about it. I was flattered, really, I was expecting to play Varys from game of thrones where I have little spies to spy on them. Turns out they were rather transparent and I am grateful for that.

I asked what I could do to help them and they ask what advice I had for them and so begins a long lecture on love.

Trust them

Ok, it was not a lecture, more of a concerned person helping them along the way. I met my wife when I was studying as well and told them all about it. I told them that I trusted them fully, they were after all adults and I believed that they would make the right call in all things. My students are contracted to complete their studies and if they were to get married before the completion of the studies, they will be fined.

I remember at one point the administration caught one of my students and she was punished for sneaking off for a date. I know, you are probably thinking what rubbish this is, but rules are rules and they are strict for my students. So before she was formally charged, I asked if she was indeed in the wrong. Turns out it was all a misunderstanding but in the midst of it all, I had to vouch for her. It is difficult trusting the students to tell you the truth at times. However, I see it as my responsibility. If I chose not to trust them, no one would and having no one to stand up for you at times is not a good feeling, as such, I try to make them feel as supported as I can.


Image source

Thank God, it has turned out well for me, thus far.

Walk with them

I also advice students who talk to me about their relationship issues to allow me to walk with them. My class calls me 'mummy' or 'daddy' as I care for them while they are studying away from their families. That being said, I try to be the cool kind of parent (I may not give the same treatment to my real children, sorry kids.). I would talk to my students on occasion to find out how they are doing. At times if they are not doing well academically, they may have gone through a bad relationship and I try my best to walk with them.

I have to admit though, I like to be on top of things and so I try to find out all about my students so I can better help them. I am required to run weekly 'meet-ups' with them to impart wise, sage-like advice to them. The problem is that, if I am not aware what are their struggles, its hard to impart good advice, as such, I try to walk with them as often as possible so I am better prepared to help them during the actual meet-up sessions.

Look for teaching opportunities

I like to use this opportunity to teach critical thinking skills. For example, one asked me if he could get married to the girl of his dreams while he was studying. Yes, love blinds us and so it was my responsibility to advice patience and now he is happily married. If he were to have chosen differently, he may even be fined by the administration. I also tell them stories of what I do with my wife and how we work as a unit. I do have my disagreements with my wife, but I do talk to them the lessons that I have learnt and hope that it helps them in their relationships.

While I may not be the expert in these things, I try my best to be relevant to them and I will not be surprised if one day they will stand in my shoes.

I hope this was a good read, do let me know your thoughts in the comments below.


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

inspirational bro

Congratulations @alvinauh! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.86$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88