You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 💌 Steemit Comment Challenge #51 - 600 SP 2 Weeks Delegation - Comment like a Champ, Grow your blog like a Champ!! 💌

in #steemitcommentchallenge5 years ago (edited)

Constantly challenged by the time commitment of actively engaging on the Steem blockchain, I am often “slow to the party” @danielsaori, but … I usually get there eventually … 😉

Long overdue, this morning I have taken care of an important task. Voting the +13.7 MVests over which I have control in support of your role of one of our all-important Steem Witnesses:

Maybe doesn’t “move the needle” too much, but it will hopefully help you.

I appreciate all that you do, of which I am sure I don’t know the half of it. Still, I have been “in here” long enough to know you are one of the “good guys.” 😊 Lord knows we can’t have too many of those … Keep up the great work! 👍

Sort:  

I really appreciate it Roleerob! Thank you for showing your support. 👍
I've really had a good week and managed to push myself into Top100. I should have a small celebration and make a long overdue witness update post.

Hey @danielsaori ...

"I've really had a good week and managed to push myself into Top100."

... that is great news!

Much further removed from the intricate details of being a Witness, than you are, I have thought about how the Steem blockchain has set this all up. Probably my single biggest concern is how "decentralized" is it truly? When the Top 20 appear to get the "lion's share" of the benefit of being a witness ...

I find the decentralized nature of this new "digital asset" class to be what has probably attracted me to it more than any other factor. Specifically that no "central authority" has control of it - either for good or for bad ... At least, "in theory" that is how it is often represented ...

If you have written a post anywhere on your own philosophy about this, I'd welcome a link to it.

I hope you are having a great day (or night ... 😉), wherever you are!


P.S. While not necessary to maintain my support, if you are comfortable letting me know where you are, I would appreciate it. Just the country is close enough ... 😊

True that the Top20 witnesses are reaping the biggest witness rewards, but they are also playing a special role and they are expected to support and promote the blockchain in the best possible way. If not, they will be voted out of Top20.

Today there is still a financial incentive to maintain a backup witness role, a witness outside of Top20. But what will happen if the costs will rise and rewards keep decreasing? Or even worse, what if it is not profitable to be in Top20, will that be the death of the blockchain? If the steem price would drop that low, the chain might be dead anyway, but the increased costs of running nodes and the lower steem price are things that bother me.

btw, I'm based in The Netherlands. Getting close to bedtime for me. :)
I wish you a nice Friday afternoon/evening.

Hey danielsaori. Thank you for the comprehensive response. I appreciate that! This ...

"... but the increased costs of running nodes and the lower steem price are things that bother me."

On the former, does what I am reading about MIRA help? Supposedly not just a modest, but dramatic reduction in the cost of running a node? On the latter, right there with you.

I elected to take advantage of the "silly" prices late last year to buy myself a dolphin-sized stake. But ... While I have the means to buy a much, much larger share than that, I won't as there are too many issues currently which give me pause. Pretty serious pause ...

That said, it has been fascinating to me to interact with others all over the world. Like with you! 😊 If you are in the Netherlands, perhaps you have worked with @exyle? And the @blockbrothers Witness?

Thanks again for your reply! 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87