Steem & Me - 5 Questions Answered (A challenge by @Snowpea)

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago

steem & me.png

The other day I was tagged in a new challenge started by @snowpea. I don’t often participate in many challenges but I liked the idea of this one, because it was thought provoking. Perspective is always a good thing and that is what appealed most to me about this particular set of questions. We are ever evolving beings and with such, our thought processing and opinions are always developing and changing. Having to put some real thought into this challenge was a wonderful opportunity to gauge my own growth and change here on Steemit. I really had a lot of fun doing this and it also brought back many memories and plenty nostalgia. So thank you for considering me @snowpea.

text03.png

In my opinion, what are the two greatest aspects of the steem platform?

There are so many amazing aspects of the steem platform, but if I were to focus on two, then these would be them… Firstly, for me personally – it is the amazing friendships I have formed through not only the @steemitbloggers community I founded in 2017 but just on the platform in general. If you look at other social media sites and how they operate, you are far more likely to make a few enemies through sharing your opinion or feelings than you are to make a friend lol – Steemit is so polar opposite in that respect and I love how opinion and expression are encouraged and (for the most part) openly received. Yes sure, there are politics floating around here too, but I generally steer clear of most of that anyway – not only online but in the real world too – however, to my experience, the engagement here is driven with a positive fuel and that is half the world’s problem, because everywhere else you look, it is driven by the opposite. Many may say that this is because of the reward system in place here, and yes that would be true to a degree, but much like anything else in life – and as I have made statement before, anything you practice often enough will become habitual and that includes positive engagement with those around you, no matter what the original reason for it was… and that, irrespective is a good thing – and through it, I have formed some really beautiful friendships.

Second in mention, but not second in place would be how this platform is changing the lives of people who needed it the most. Some who were in desperate situations, stripped of hope and saw no way out of the corners they were stuck in – are now able to hold power over their own financial futures. Even if the relief is a small one initially – every little bit counts and to my mind it is shifting people’s perceptions with regards to feeling trapped in “the rat race”. There is a strong wave of passion and enthusiasm which you can see developing as people start to realise that they actually CAN steer the direction of their future the way THEY want to. This is an incredibly exciting change in the lives of people worldwide and I am thrilled to be a part of that shift.

text03.png

What are the 2 largest complaints I have concerning the Steem platform?

Honestly, I don’t have any complaints – but I do have one suggestion which I have raised a couple of times previously. It is not a massive thing, but to my mind, it would be a positive tweak. That is – a change in the way the resteem option functions. I think that it should have a split operation, so that you can decide how and where the resteem takes place. At this point your resteems only go back into the feed of the people who follow you, not the primary Steemit feed and in addition to that they are stuck on your blog too – which I know MANY people have an issue with, as it dilutes the appearance of their own blog and for that reason, are discouraged to “share” the work of others which really appeals to them... If however, the resteem button gave you the option to share it back into the main Steemit feed OR to share it onto your page and feed – it may encourage more “sharing”… and also exposure to those that do scout around the “new” feed. Or perhaps – another alternative would be an additional feed called “resteems” and that is where all of them are fed into because 99% of the time, content is resteemed because it is felt by someone to be worthy of more exposure and/or attention. Having a dedicated feed like that, could potentially eliminate a degree of the ”look a cloud” posts. Lol – Well… that’s my 10c anyway ;)

text03.png

What 2 moments are the most memorable to me?

Oh wow!!! That’s a tricky one – there have been so many!!! I suppose the first one would have to be the very first member that joined the @steemitbloggers community back when I started it. I was so over the moon and simultaneously super nervous!! It was a whole new venture and I really was walking in the dark back then… I look at us now and we have come such a long way, established an impeccable reputation on the platform and it never ceases to make me grin from ear to ear when I see the amazing compliments we receive from the general public. I have had an incredibly focused vision for us since the beginning – one which has caused many people to meet “the other side of me” and my boot lol – but I have stuck to my guns the whole way through and proudly so, because together, we have built, and continue to build - a truly first class community.

Secondly, would have to be New Years morning… The beginning of 2018 marked a HUGE change for me with the decision to close my design and print business of 11 years and move into Steemit full time… it was a really big turning point in my life and when I woke up that morning and logged into discord, my now partner in the community @zord189 had gone and organised personal messages to me from our entire community – wishing me happy New Year and thanking me for the community itself. I was literally blown away and brought to tears!!! It was a very, VERY special day in my life… and now – almost a whole year has past – crazy!!! Haha!

text03.png

What are the two most important lessons I've learned in my time as a Steemian?

Those are simple – well they are to me anyway, and warrant no detailed explanation.

  1. Stay away from politics and negativity in the comments. – It NEVER sheds you in good light and seldom serves you well.
  2. Never forget to reach out. You too were a 25 with an empty wallet and no clue once too.

text03.png

Out of my entire time here, what 2 posts am I most proud of?

Hmmmm…. I don’t know that “proud” would be the associating word (for me anyway), but there are a few posts I have done which hold special memory for me… I suppose one would be an article I did almost at the beginning of my Steemit journey called Calculators to Crypto – the post itself meant a lot to me because of the message that lay within it, but it was also the very first post that I had upvoted by @curie – and I think that is no doubt a memorable occasion for any Steemian.

The second, would probably be when I decided to take a little trip down Steemit memory lane… and did a compilation of all my “Steemit related” posts called My Steemit Stepping Stones. It was a real eye opener for me in terms of the journey I had traveled up until that point. Sometimes when you stand where you are… you forget just how long it took you to get there and how much you learnt along the way – so sometimes it is good food for the soul to recall such.

In fact, this challenge holds much the same quality @snowpea. It really is a wonderful idea and I hope more people participate.

text03.png

I would genuinely encourage everyone reading this to consider participating in this challenge as, like I said - it is wonderfully thought provoking for yourself and it is also a fantastic way to get a deeper insight into those around you. If you would be interested in participating, you can read the original challenge post HERE


And to continue the challenge, I am going to nominate the following people:
@zord189@raymondspeaks@rwedegis@claudiaz@denmarkguy@derekrichardson@zen-art@thekittgirl@abh12345@iamjadeline@traciyork

text03.png

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

FOUNDER OF THE @STEEMITBLOGGERS

SB_new.png

line1.png

WHO ARE THE

The @steemitbloggers is a discord community of individuals who are committed to producing content which adds value to the Steemit platform. We are STRONGLY focused on supporting our fellow members individual growth as well as offering support to those that are new to Steemit and still trying to get ahead. We are a CLOSE KNIT community of individuals, each with our own strengths, passions and input, yet ALL willing to go the extra mile for our family members... WHY? - because, simply put - we CARE about one another and MANY HANDS make light work! - THAT is what FAMILY is about! - To infinity and beyond...

Interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

line1.png

INTERESTED IN SUPPORTING CURATION INITIATIVES?

@theluvbug regularly supports the Steemit community with upvotes and resteems of great content which is really adding value to this platform, but in order to grow and be able to offer MORE SUPPORT, @theluvbug needs your help - with upvotes and resteems of the latest curation announcements on that profile.

line1.png

Oh, and if you wanna meet the
wannabe photographer in me...

line1.png

Looking for some AWESOME Steemit Blogs to follow?

Check these peeps out...

@giantbear@prostosun@amalinavia@nomadicsoul@thekitchenfairy@quillfire@rebeccabe@tryskele

There are way too many awesome bloggers to mention all at once,
so I will share different people at the foot of different posts.

Sort:  

Hi @jaynie, i discover you from Steem-ua discord and i like your post and as you are, so i followed you. I would like to visit South Africa, this country is so similar to european country people behaviour...:))

@jaynie I enjoyed reading your post earlier and am finally able to comment. I can read on my phone but am not signed in. An attempt at time regulation. I may change the setup.

You are wise beyond your years, I have held my tongue many a time in comments because like you said:

Stay away from politics and negativity in the comments. – It NEVER sheds you in good light and seldom serves you well.

That is all I will say about that. LOL

I am honored to be listed among such great members. I don't think they even know who I am. Maybe now they will notice. Okay having fun either way. @jaynie is taking us places.

giphy-2.gif

Also, your suggestions about resteeming in Steemit I like.
Resteeming this one anyway.

Hehehe... @rebeccabe - I absolutely LOVE your candid and uninhibited passionate approach to everything!!! You speak to my soul!!! Love you long time 🤗 and thank you for the one way resteem hahaha 😉

Hey our night dreams intersected that speaks volumes to my soul.
Much success to be had by all. :)

To infinity and beyond beautiful xxx

true .. I love that little space guy ..haha!

...and the space of infinity itself 😎

The wonderful Steemer people never cease to amaze me @rebeccabe ! Diamonds in tha ruff just like ya! OooYa! ~ Always ~*

I kinda wish this platform was a'round way back in the day when I was on one of the very first "photo-chat" site - the internet was so innocent then (believe it or not)!

hey @lanceman :)
I remember when the internet started, remember I am older than you. haha!

An innocent internet.... lol now THERE's a thought ;)

I agree... @lanceman has a good heart .. innocent in many ways he will not admit. lol

hey now Rebbie~rock'r - I read betwixt yur lines! wink

I knowwwww love right?! Ah well, now all we're stuck with for us die-hard romantics is . . . . e-Harmony....um, are ya kiddin' me?! lol

yes always joking around with you...did you do e-harmony... do a post on it.

That is a great idea sweet @rebeccabe ! - I could do an entire series on "The Dating Years" lol (as much as I haven't bl*cked out!) <~~ blOcked not bl@cked haha ~Weeeee!~

Awesome input @jaynie. I really love your resteem idea. Makes a lot of sense and would certainly encourage more people to share.

aaah thanks hon!! Yeah, I thought so - nice to know someone else shares that sentiment.

@jaynie, this is a most excellent post! Well written and very thoughtful! Of course it is, you're the one who started @steemitbloggers. 😉

I love how opinion and expression are encouraged and (for the most part) openly received.

Imagine how unpleasant it would be if everyone was at each other's throats and being rude all the time. I checked out Sola and posted there for a few weeks, but people fight like cats and dogs all the time, and on one post it keeps going for days on end! Steemit is so pleasantly unique. 😊

I don't know why I keep putting off applying for @steemitbloggers. I know some really wonderful people are there. Really gotta get on that after reading this! Thanks for doing the challenge, and I'm glad you appreciated it! 🤗 This one totally deserves a resteem! ❤

Thanks @snowpea :) It was a really great post challenge to participate in. And yes.... looking forward to hearing from you on discord :)

Staying positive, reading motivating content, sharing wonderful travel, food and daily life experiences, who needs to become involved in politics or religion, well that is my own opinion online.

Like your idea about sharing option @jaynie it would encourage more sharing of great content. Another is encouraging people to comment, think more about what they have read and thank the content creator.

Your post has been selected to be entered into @teamsouthafrica's Daily Nominated Post section in Teamsouthafrica's Discord group. Congratulations!

All exceptionally accurate points @joanstewart :) and WOW... thank you that is wonderful - much, much appreciated xoxoxoxo

Hey @jaynie

You are one of the most interesting people out there and seeing you answer these types of questions just adds to that.

The SB's are in safe hands.

Gaz

WOW What a lovely compliment @cheese4ead! Assuming interesting as a good thing that is :P ;) lol

Lol. Hell yeah, it is!! 😁

hehehehehe ;)

Yes, every little bit counts

It sure does ;)

Just curious, who was the first member to join?

haha interesting question.... took me a few moments to recall that... which I did - but will abstain from tagging or naming as he eventually met my boot lol :)

Hi @jaynie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.191 which ranks you at #793 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 795).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 516 contributions, your post is ranked at #54.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82