The Blessing of Rain

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago

howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

We finally have rain. It's been a long, hot, DRY summer so we are
relaxing and enjoying the rain as it replenishes the cracked soil here.

a light shower hitting the pool
pool 2.jpg
pool.jpg

Jack, our German Shepard was loving the cooler weather, here he's
going after a cricket, he loves eating those things. See it on the
float? he's a little suspicious of the camera though!
jack and pool.jpg

lastly, a sunrise from last month through the pine trees.
DSC05352.JPG

thanks for stopping by folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy Texas
the gentleman redneck

ps- ya know...you might just be a redneck if:

Your favorite Christmas present is a painting on black velvet!

texas-facts.jpg

Sort:  

Lol shepard is like to snap a pic when I'm trying to eat! Hoping for cooler weather and rain tuesday!

haha! that's right about Jack ihashblox! hey I've seen you commenting in places before, you get around quite a bit I think. what part of the country are you in? and is it the U.S.?
thanks for commenting!

Im due north of you.

Yeah i see ya around as well! We usually talk to hippie a lot.

No worries about the comment. Jack is a beautiful shepard btw. My shepard was a half breed. Mother was papered but bred with wolf. Certain states sadly frown on the breed. Anyway, Pup had a lazy ear. Considered surgery, but uh well.. i was 13 at time. Lol anyway take care

sir ihashblox! wow a shepard and wolf mix, now that sounds interesting, was yours a great dog? any advantages of being bred with a wolf?

Had white coat. Didn't seem as prone to hip displacia. Idk cool dog, gentle giant until crossed.

well the hip thing would certainly be an advantage. gentle until crossed, ha! then you had a problem on your hands!

hi @janton!!!

The Alliance (@thealliance) takes all kinds of people. even me. loll It is a special group of people from all over Steemit that call themselves 'family' because we all are family once you join.

@enginewitty is the founder and head of The Alliance. He is a wonderful man that has built a place many of ALL walks of life now call home. It's a great place to learn and be excepted for JUST WHO YOU ARE.

No FAKE people are allowed to join. Only real people who do not pretend to be someone other then they are.

Here are The Rules of the Castle. Read them and see if you would be able to really follow them. If so then go to this post......

The How and read the rest of the rules there. and click on the link to go into the rabbit hole and tell them #snookmademedoit :D

very nice people will meet you at the front door and make you feel at home..... and the rest is up to you and you just being YOU!!

any questions please just ask!!

Well said sis, hats off to your loving description 😎

howdy to you the famous snook! it's a pleasure to meet you. Well Ma'am I thank you for your sincere invitation and I will look at those links. I guess I was stopped by the first set of Alliance questions, one of them being what do you bring to the table or why the Alliance should want you or something along those lines and I'm thinking....uh...I don't know, not much. have no skills or technical knowledge.
Ecoinstant is fantastic, skilled, gifted in many areas but I'm not any of those. I can comment, that's about it! lol. So that's what made me hesitate.

So you don't think commenting is important? Don't you think that someone that REALLY reads posts and spends the time to think of a REAL comment to write is NOT important?

Why are you selling yourself short on what you DO bring to this platform? You have commented more then most people do in ALL their time here which means you have READ more posts then most people will ever in ALL their time here........

How is this not important?

How can you think this is not important?

How do YOU feel when someone reads, really reads one of your posts and makes an intelligent comment on it?

Why would you even think for one second that what YOU do is not bringing JOY to every person that gets a comment from you and that you are not bringing something of value to Steemit and a group of people you would call Family?

so think about that and then rethink your statement to me please.

Oh and this is not about @ecoinstant this is about YOU. YOU being YOU. we already have one ecoinstant............ why would we want 2 of them?

That's what I keep telling him @snook! He's important here :)

Do you hear this @janton? :)

haha! Nothing like being ganged up on by a couple of classy women! in real life I'd just melt away now and be gone! I'm such an introvert.

Give it a go, you won't know unless you try. ;-) Lots of great people to make friends with... and we don't bite... much. LOL Just watch out for the cane, big hint right there. @snook :D

howdy there inthenow! I don't recognize your username but you probably run in different circles. Thanks for the encouragement. And warning.

ha! Not ganged up, just settin' you straight my friend :)

By the way, I sent you an email. Saw your last message...somewhere?!

ok, I'll check that thing.

ok..yes Ma'am well when you put it that way. My problem is that I don't know anything about the group except that they appear to be a powerful, mysterious bunch working on technical projects or something so that's why I figured I wouldn't be a good fit. lol.

So that's the problem, I don't know what it's about or what ya'll do and my impression was like I told you.,.something beyond my pay grade.
I'm a total introvert who likes to stay anonymous but I do love talking to people and encouraging them so if you think I would be a fit then of course I'd be honored to apply. But I don't do videos.

Oh, and I assume it would take away from my Engagement League time also?
I'm tempted to tell you why we need two ecoinstant's but I don't think I better at this time! lol.

janton .. there is a reason there is a #snookmademedoit tag... just put away the Ma'am and write the application post. It's just easier.

haha! oh my gosh..ok I'm thinking I'm thinking..

don't think.. just do

I'm a total introvert who likes to stay anonymous but I do love talking to people and encouraging them

so like @shadowspub

they appear to be a powerful, mysterious bunch

so like @jackmiller and @grow-pro

Oh, and I assume it would take away from my Engagement League time also?

Good Lord!! why in the world would you stop doing just what you are doing?

I'm tempted to tell you why we need two ecoinstant's but I don't think I better at this time!

One of my son is more than enough...thank you very much so yes you are right in not telling me "why' at this time.......

howdy this fine thursday Miss Snook! I read the rules, absolutely love what I saw, I am old fashioned and loyal to a fault and would be totally dedicated to ya'll and your organization and love supporting and encouraging others.

hahaha! God bless you Ma'am!
I don't know who shadowspub is but I've seen jackmiller because of his buying byteballs and I've seen grow-pro too, because he's with jackmiller right? but I don't know what else they do. sorry I'm clueless.

I have to go to your blog and learn something about you, you seem highly educated, probably used to be a psychologist.

sounds like you need to visit Pimp Your Post Thursday and meet @shadowspub ... it's on twice on Thursdays.

I'll check it out, thank you!

I'm so happy to hear that :D

Hope your day is going wonderful!!!

I'm so happy to hear that :D

Hope your day is going wonderful!!!

Pimp your post Thursday is going on. Come join us.

https://discord.gg/YYhRDC

yes Ma'am that sounds good but because I had to be gone today until just now, I'm hours behind on commenting and replies. Ecoinstant and I created a monster, a good one, when we contacted so many new people last week, we didn't know they'd all reply back! lol. Now we're buried.
God bless you for your help and all that you do!

Please call her Miss. She's only 18.

hahaha! well guiltyparties I have a hard time just calling her snook, that doesn't seem respectful enough, it needs to at least be MRS. someone!

Miss Snook. Or better yet, Senorita Snook.

oh man.. I don't know..might get smacked with a cane before I even apply!

Jack is very handsome. I spotted him in the background of the second picture and thought to myself "he has his own version of Big Dog".

Congrats on the rain. I think it moved from Florida to Texas, and I'm grateful.

oh thank you ginnyannette! are you saying that it finally stopped raining there? yes I know, about Jack..Big Dog reminds me so much of him, both handsome dogs!

Hey @janton, great to hear that :) Enjoy rain and make sure the dog knows how to swim in case if it slips into the pool, its on the edge with rain pouring.
Loved the last photo too, who is @winchestergirl42 and who am i? You're a much better photographer :D

haha! well in our real estate business I took thousands of photos but not nature ones or anything like that so I don't really know how to take that kind. but anyone can get lucky.

Any one can get lucky in writing as sir @glenalbrethsen and at photography as @winchestergirl42 :D One day we both will catch them too ;)

well I plan to let Mrs. J do the photography so I don't have to and I don't think I want to do as much writing as sir Glen but I'll let you take that challenge on!

haha that's not fair, you have support now, whereas I am alone :D
This is not a fair competition :D

hey there hananali...it's not my fault if you can't find a girlfriend!

Okay @janton thank you for making me sad :(

ha! I thought I was stating the truth! lol. is it my fault? what's the status regarding that anyway? you're supposed to go home and find a rich girl. that way you can spend all your time on steemit.

YAH @janton, beautiful rain.

thank you Ma'am yes it is a real blessing.

I hope you get lots!

That sunrise! 😳
Jack is very handsome. My very first dog was a German Shepard. He was my baby sitter.
Bless you!

howdy sugarcreek! yes I remember you talking about that, the dog watching out for you and all, amazing.

Rain, glorious rain! How much rain did you get? Are you like my husband where you can know how much rain you got just by watching and looking at the ground? Did your cracks disappear?
Oh and how much does Jack weigh? Chester was so bulky last winter, and now he seems so skinny. I don’t know if that’s just how they are between winter and summer?

howdy hebrewhousewife! I can't tell how much rain we get here by looking at the ground because as soon as it starts raining it is on the ground running everywhere because of our clay soil, it has a hard time of soaking it up, that's why we always need soft, gentle, slow rains.

it is still raining, we probably has a half inch but looks like it's going to rain all night so who knows how much we'll get. enough to make the cracks disappear that's for sure.

Jack weighs 70 lbs but he loses at least 5 lbs in the summer heat and only eats 2/3rds of what he normally does. In fact some days he won't eat at all in the summer so yes they fluctuate alot from the seasons.

I think that’s about how much Chester weighs too. I notice he has been eating less too. I thought maybe it was because we aren’t giving him as many leftovers, haha! Alright, I’ll have to wait and see if he puts on weight again in the winter.

good day this fine Sunday Ma'am...yeah he should start eating like normal when it gets cool. It's been in the 80s for highs here the last few days which feels really cool and Jack has returned to eating like a horse again so we know it's totally related to the heat.

Love the photo of the dog. Does he really eat crickets ?

haha! yes Jack loves those things! we go out at night and catch them and he will eat dozens at a time. wasps too, he loves to chase down and eat wasps. thanks blanchy!

@janton What a relief the rain arrived dear friend.
I really like your pisina, my dreams is to have an equal in my house
I wish you a beautiful Sunday

well howdy there @jlufer! thank you so much! what do you wish to have equal in your house?

A pool equal to yours

oh howdy back again @jlufer! yes that is a very good goal indeed, in warm climates it is wonderful and makes you not mind the heat!

Beautiful sunset! Love the pine needles in the foreground.

With the ground the way it is, do you get a lot of flash flooding when it rains after a long dry spell?

howdy sir dollarsandsense! I just remembered that you have a post that I need to see. well sir, with this clay soil out here, it floods at almost any level of rain we get, not at our place but all the roads and highways, it's crazy, the clay soil just doesn't soak it up.
thanks for commenting sir!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87