Sketchbook Page Through Video Part 3: 2009-2010

Hello!

Welcome back to the third installment of pagebook sketch throughs! I mean sketchbook page throughs! Where I take you through my old sketchbooks in a video.

For those who can't watch the video due to time or data constraints, I give you- Le writeup!

This time we are looking at end of 2009 and 2010. My sketchbooks at this time are fully functional to fit in with my digital painting work flow. I would use my sketchbooks for life drawing and to plan digital paintings. There were a few things that I really focused on in this sketchbook. I will point those out in the next few images.

Focus 1: Character development.
FullSizeRender_3.jpg
Weirdly enough Morgoth or Melkor appeared a few times in this sketchbook. I love the Silmarillion, and Morgoth is an awesome character! I haven't seen a depiction of him that I super love though. So every now and then I take a crack at him!

Focus 2: Dynamic poses
FullSizeRender_4.jpg
The prize for most hated image in this sketchbook goes to this cat-man-fellow. He was so stiff and boring that he sent me on a tangent to prove to myself that I could produce more dynamic poses!

FullSizeRender.jpg

FullSizeRender_2.jpg
Proof of said tangent. I wanted to make dynamic poses. These were much better, much more fluid and dynamic.

Focus 3: Planning paintings
FullSizeRender_6.jpg

I was at now regularly planning paintings in my sketchbooks. The painting would often end up almost exactly the same as the planning sketch.


Ta da! Weird alien culture duel, or ugly little alien dudes as my wife called them.

FullSizeRender_7.jpg
This image is my attempt as Smaug, a long while before The Hobbit movies. I wanted to show his coiled raw power as he shattered the side of the mountain where the Dwarves and Bilbo were hiding.

Here is how it turned out, look at that chest full of bling!

Thanks for checking out my post. If you'd like to see more of my stuff have a look at :

- #tbt Sketchbook page through part 1
- Sketchbook Page Through Video Part 2: LOVE&NARNIA
- Venom Charcoal Sketch

Cheers
Lynton
Steemit banner Lynton 2018.jpg

Sort:  

Dude, those are super cool man! I love your work :)

Thanks so much man!

Really awesome draawings. You make me want to go back in time to when I still had time to draw. Well I still do, I just prioritize otherwize :-) Interesting that you have bashed your head against Melkor so much. I have also had difficulty getting a clean idea in my head about his appearance. Now I want to draw him :D

Ha ha yes, it's always the priorities. Yeah, Melkor is a complex character, he has more than one look. At the start, pure elemental fury and by his end, much depleted and weakened , and everything between those two points. So he really is hard to pin down. If you are interested, coincidentally I saw a new painting of him by Justin Gerard, truly jaw dropping http://www.muddycolors.com/2018/02/morgoth-and-the-silmarils-part-2-of-2/

You just planted 1.76 tree(s)!


Thanks to @simplylizelle

We have planted already 5467.32 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20594.85
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Lovely choice of characters, thoroughly enjoy going through artists work from the planning sketch stages, through to the colour final edition amazing art work @moderndragon

Thanks so much, I love the energy of first sketches. I find the challenge is to preserve it in the painting.

hello good friend drawing if you want you can go through my blog so you can see my drawings too I invite you .. you have a great talent ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82