Weekly public Steemit copycat blacklist report (2018-06-03)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitabuse6 years ago

Having started my own private initiative against semi-professional Steemit copycats a week ago, this is my first weekly report.

I blacklist accounts when they have violated the Steemit community’s original content rules 3 times by posting copy/pasted or plagiarized articles. Unfortunately, even in this first week of operation, I already had to put two accounts on my public blacklist:

New?UserNew violationsTotal violations
*masudurrahman+ 33
*mili2018+ 44

On a positive note, I had one plagiarist reacting positively on my warning, deleting the content in question and ceasing copy/paste activities (at least for a while). This wouldn’t have happened, though, by just leaving a warning (plus a separate warning from steemcleaners). I had to explain in detail what plagiarism means, and to urge him to remove the content in question, to which he then complied. I see this as an encouragement to continue, and also as a confirmation of my theory that the work that steemcleaners does, although laudable, is just not enough: You have to seek the direct dialogue with people in order to make a change in behavior.

Speaking of steemcleaners, also, 6+ out of 8 rule violations I’ve reported are still pending (or left unanswered), even though I delivered clear proof.

To sum this up, I will continue my mission, summoning steemcleaners to amplify my voice, but seeking direct contact with people regardless of steemcleaners interventions.


This initiative is targeted against networks of semi-professional Steemit copycats who do not contribute their own work, but copy the existing work of others with the sole intention that, by publishing it here on Steemit, they make profits with it, with minimal investment in time and resources of their own.

Copy/pasting content on Steemit is harmful. It unfairly disadvantages original content creators for reward payouts, contributes to Steem currency devaluation by reward inflation, damages the public image of the platform, and diminishes the visibility of all of its content in search engines.

Further information:

This is a 100% STEEM POWER post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62