Wonder why the price of the Steem is going down?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

What happened and what is happening?

Many people lost interest in Steemit and left (or stopped posting on) Steemit.
Not just lately, but since many months.
Most of the comments on the site (under the majority of the posts) are spam or spam-like.
No community, no interest = No value.
As more people leave the site, the price of the Steem will go further down.

Why is this happened/happening?

Some people say that people are leaving because of the low price of the Steem. That is wrong/false.
People don't leave because of the low price of the Steem.
People leave, because they and their content are constantly getting ignored.
Just look around.
I saw many new and old Steemians, whose content and page are basically ignored.
I am in the same situation. I am on Steemit since 2017.05.17, so more than a year, and nowadays only 1-2 people are care about my content, no matter what I post or what I do.
I had 3-4-5-6 active supporters (real followers) for long months (they upvoted and sometimes commented my posts), but nowadays less and less people are active on Steemit.
I rarely received and receiving real comments.
Most of the people are writing their comments under the posts of other Steemians, because they want attention to their own posts, not because they care about the post and/or the author.
I also considered leaving (or stopping posting) (or just simply start writing the blog posts for myself on) Steemit multiple times.
I currently (2018.09.12, 12:35 CEST) have 914 followers, but most of them are inactive nowadays.
They left the site long ago.
Nowadays there are only 1-2 active people from the 914. Not a good ratio.
5-6-10 or 20 active people compared to 800-914 followers are not a good ratio either, but certainly better.
The low price of the Steem is a consequence, not a reason.
As I said above, I rarely received and receiving real comments, but every time I considered leaving Steemit or stopping posting on Steemit, people are tried to convince me to not to leave Steemit and stay active.
The next part of this blog post is mainly for them.

Ask yourself:

  • Would you stay (and keep posting) on a "social media" site, where your content (be a post or a comment) is constantly getting ignored and no one really cares about?

I think the honest answer to this question is "no".

A few people say that "they are staying for the community".
That is not true, but they are only lying to themselves.
There is no community, and this is why (thousands of) people are leaving Steemit.

Ask yourself another question:

  • What do you see in the future of the Steemit?

Based on the happenings, I don't see much good in the future of the Steemit, but what do you think?
Write your opinion in a comment.

Sort:  

The price of Steem is falling in line with the decline in the crypto market overall.

It hasn’t got anything to do with the activity on Steemit. Steemit is just one application on the Steem blockchain. If Steemit came to an end, the blockchain would still serve a purpose.

As far as community goes, I’m personally a part of 3. And they continue to be active and we support each other. If you haven’t found a good community yet then look harder. They are there. And many are very active.

"The price of Steem is falling in line with the decline in the crypto market overall."
It's interesting to see that the Steem Dollars (SBD) is pegged to $1 USD, and it's currently (2018.09.12, 14:30 CEST) $0.943388 USD, while the Steem is currently $0.675590 USD.

"If you haven’t found a good community yet then look harder.
Not just me, but many other Steemians. Thousands of people.
They are there. And many are very active."
Maybe, but probably not for me and not for the above mentioned thousands of people either.
A lot of people leave Steemit after a few weeks/months of trying, but these "communities" are surely hard to find, if I haven't found even one yet during more than a year of Steemit activity.
I constantly supported Steemians with daily upvotes, even when my upvote is worth less than a cent ($0.01) nowadays. I am now delegating most of my Steem Power since 2018.09.09, 07:19 CEST.

I participated in contests/challenges nowadays and several months ago, but nowadays literally almost no one cares about my posts, no matter what I post. A joke, a photo, or a blog post with my thoughts.

But no problem. I am no longer looking. I don't even care now.
I think it's somewhat showed in my Steemit activity as well, for example not publishing a blog post for 6 days and so on.
If I will continue to write blog posts on Steemit, I will probably write them for myself.
Maybe I will try to write for the community for some more time, but I am not going to make my vision worse intentionally by spending hours in front of the computer on Steemit every day just to get some comments and upvotes on my posts.
I tried for enough time. For more than a year.
If the people don't care about my posts on Steemit, then the people don't care about my posts on Steemit. Period.

Steemit is not for me. At least not the community part of it.
There are other community (social media) websites, where you don't have to be a "try hard(er)".
For example see the Facebook.
I nowadays don't have a Facebook account, but that site is much better in this aspect.
There are groups and real communities on that site.

If I will continue to write blog posts on Steemit, I will probably write them for myself.

Well, in my own view, there is no other way to do this correctly and well. Not within steemit, certainly not on the entire Steem blockchain or anywhere else.

Keep writing blog posts only for yourself till the end of the days mate. And if it happens that some daring/lucky & curious/inquisitive soul stumbles over them and snoops in & out, well, then allow they floods themselves till the marrow with your muses & wisdom wanting to come back for more. };)

There's no harm in writing for yourself, especially if spending a lot of time in front of a screen damages your eyes.

Do what is best for you and what you enjoy. I'm spending less time on Steemit right now, but only because I have a lot of things in my daily life happening right now.

Personally, I still get comments and interaction on my posts and I don't have that many more followers than you. But I am also very active in the Australian community, the beer blogging community and a part of a couple of other groups that support and encourage one another.

And I think that's the difference, having other Steemit users who encourage and support you makes a huge difference here and drastically changes your perception. With that said though, my posts typically earn between $1 to $4 so it's not huge money. And because of that I sell my votes as well which brings in an additional 2 - 3 Steem per week.

I don't like the idea of delegating which would cause my voting power to be worthless, and I like to vote on stuff. So selling a portion of my voting power makes more sense to me.

Ahogy mazzle is írja, ahogy esik a btc, úgy esik minden. A 8 doleszes steem mellett meg mindenki örvendezett, hogy mekkora nagy jövője van a platformnak :D

Nos, nem a steem árfolyam adja a platform jövőjét, hanem mi :)

"Ahogy mazzle is írja, ahogy esik a btc, úgy esik minden."
Nem minden. Érdekes például, hogy a Steem Dollár (SBD) nem esik.
Szépen $1 USD közelében/környékén van. Jelenleg (2018.09.12, 15:15 CEST) $0.941235 USD.

"Nos, nem a steem árfolyam adja a platform jövőjét, hanem mi :)"
Én is ugyanezt próbáltam/próbálom hangsúlyozni a blogbejegyzésben, csakhogy nem nagyon van "mi". Mármint nincs közösség.
Van rengeteg (több ezer) ember (köztük én is), akiknek a bejegyzéseit figyelmen kívül hagyják.
Emiatt sokan inaktívvá válnak. Sokan már a regisztrációtól számított néhány héten vagy hónapon belül.
De már az is kezd előfordulni, hogy több régi motoros a bálnák (Orcas) közül is, ha csak részben is, de kiszáll.
Power Down-t nyomnak több százezer dollár értékben és eladják a Steem-jük többségét.
Van olyan is, aki a witness node-ját is leállította.
Bővebb információkért lásd például ezt és ezt a blogbejegyzést.

Az SBD két dolog miatt nem esik:

  • stablecoin, azaz úgy alakítják az árfolyamát, hogy nagyjából az usa dollárhoz passzoljon
  • most éppen nem generálódik sbd a blokkláncon (talán két hete), így elkezdett "fogyni", azaz nem fogy, hanem változik az eloszlása
    és mivel vannak, akik felhalmozzák, így csökken a kínálat, így nem esik az ár
    A közösség ott kezdődik, hogy beszélgetsz másokkal. Ne ezer emberre gondolj. Fél tucat már elég, ha elég, én sem vagyok többel napi kapcsolatban :)
    Aki meg elveszti a motivációját, hát na, nem én fogom neki visszaadni, az nem az én dolgom :D

"stablecoin, azaz úgy alakítják az árfolyamát, hogy nagyjából az usa dollárhoz passzoljon"
Tudom, lényegében ezzel kezdtem a mazzle-nek írt válaszomat.

"most éppen nem generálódik sbd a blokkláncon (talán két hete)"
Természetesen az is egyértelmű, hogy napjainkban nem generálódik SBD a blokkláncon, hiszen egy jó ideje csak Steem-et és Steem Power-t kapunk a szerzői jutalmaknál.
De ez szerintem minden valamennyire aktív felhasználónak egyértelmű/nyilvánvaló.

"A közösség ott kezdődik, hogy beszélgetsz másokkal."
A Steemit közösségről annyit, hogy van, hogy napokig (vagy éppen hetekig/hónapokig) nem kommentelek semmit sehova, bejegyzést sem írok.
Régebben volt néhány olyan időszak, amikor aktívabb voltam, de a beszélgetés igazából nem az erősségem. Élőben nem is nagyon szoktam másokkal beszélgetni. Őszintén megmondva nem is nagyon szeretek beszélgetni.
Soha nem is szerettem. Kiskorom óta ilyen vagyok. Autizmus sprektummal élek.
Azt hiszem, hogy a Steemit (legalábbis a közösségi része) tényleg nem nekem való.

Hm, akkor miért nem mutatja nekem a kommenteket? Explorerben látom, aztán itt meg nem.
Ja oké, frissítés kellett :D

Amúgy én azt vettem észre, hogy a beszélgetés része a legfontosabb az oldalnak, legalábbis ha tényleg növelni akarod az accod, akkor kellenek a barátok, ismerősök, meg a jó témák, a semmiről azért nehéz sokat beszélni :D Persze vannak, akik nem szeretik, érthető. De hát ezt meg te tudod, hogy mit szeretnél csinálni meg mit nem.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Xplosive from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

IMHO:
Steemit is a social media site that has massive benefits for those posting compared to sites like facebook and twitter, one of the main benefits is being able to reward content you like. Okay so the price has fallen a lot, but shit its still better than fb etc.. Even if steem was down to 10cents a dollar, thats still something on your posts. As for people leaving the site and engagement being down. Its tough but who cares, the internet will be around for a while, once you post it doesn't vanish so maybe it takes a year before your content reaches an audience.
Don't worry about payouts. If you want money get a job, if you have an investment in steem use smartsteem or something to earn a passive income. Steemit is about content and blockchain technology, that means whatever you post is recorded forever. If your interesting and your posting content then that stuff is there to stay, one day you may have a following who are interested enough to go through your back catalogue.
Steemit has a future, just look a little deeper, Maybe cryptocurrencies in general are going back underground where they started, so be it. It doesn't mean steemit is dead. It's just back in it's hometown.

"Steemit is a social media site that has massive benefits for those posting compared to sites like facebook and twitter, one of the main benefits is being able to reward content you like."
Only if you have enough Steem Power in your account. A lot of people (including me) don't have enough.
My upvote is worth less than a cent ($0.01) nowadays.

"As for people leaving the site and engagement being down. Its tough but who cares, the internet will be around for a while, once you post it doesn't vanish so maybe it takes a year before your content reaches an audience."
I am already on Steemit for more than a year, so maybe it takes years.
If there still be an audience to reach at all.

"Don't worry about payouts. If you want money get a job, if you have an investment in steem use smartsteem or something to earn a passive income."
I didn't said I worry about payouts, but getting a job is not so easy. Especially with multiple disabilities and in my country.
However I am receiving a small pension-like income in real life, and I currently have enough money for everything I like to do in real life, so it's not a problem.
But I am still earning a passive income nowadays by delegating most of my Steem Power since 2018.09.09, 07:19 CEST.

"Steemit has a future, just look a little deeper, Maybe cryptocurrencies in general are going back underground where they started, so be it. It doesn't mean steemit is dead. It's just back in it's hometown."
We will see it (or won't), but if that will happen, the number of the active users will probably be very small.

Thanks for your in depth reply, some of my answer wasn't directed exactly at your post but more towards my imaginary assumptions of what makes people leave a site like steemit and what some of the issues I have came across are.

I don't even look at the price for long time, no reason to do so. Long term value proposition has not changed at all. Looking forward to HF20, will take place on Tuesday, September 25 if am i correct.

Yes, you are correct on the date, but the main problem is not with the price.
The main problem is with the user retention, the big number of the leaving users.
Many newcomers are leaving Steemit after a few weeks or months of trying.
Thousands of users already left the platform.
Even some old users (even from the Orcas) are partially leaving by Powering Down with a value of hundreds of thousands of Steem Power.
One of them are even shut down his witness node.
For more information, see this and this blog post, for example.
Maybe this could affect the long term value proposition, especially if this becomes a trend and continues.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85