Just got my taxes done and paid my CPA with Ethereum. HOW FREAKING RAD.

in #steemit6 years ago

That's a first for me! Really not much to tell, but I had to post this because I thought that was freaking awesome.

The CPA we used last year didn't seem very versed in crypto, and we were prepared to have to deal with that with him again, but it turns out he had some life changes this past year and isn't a CPA anymore. So, he referred us to this new guy who nailed it on the first go. He seemed eager to get started, saying that he and his brother dabble in crypto so he has to know how to do it. He did ask me what the sale prices were for the coins I bought, so I had to explain Steemit to him as briefly and as accurately as possible, but it didn't phase him. He just said "That makes sense." That was about 3 days ago.

Then, today I got this email from him:

Needless to say, I'll be using this guy again next year.

We live in the future.

To learn about the #wwtop5pix initiative,
PLEASE CLICK HERE.

Sort:  

@winstonwolfe thanks for post this information with steemians.The CPA represent open mindset of the services.
Very good. I voted you.

Thats cool. I am always very skeptical that "professionals" in the current economy (ie., bankers, accountants, etc) will think Im crazy for holding crypto. The other day I cashed out some RRSPs for crypto and the response was as I expected... "You shouldn't do that". Thanks lady, Im a big boy, I can manage my own finances, I didnt come to ask permission to have my allowance, I came to collect my hard earned dollars and spend them how I see fit.

Point being, I think this accountant accepting your situation, embracing it, working with it, and even accepting it as payment is really forward thinking, and rare.

Well, and what's more is after I told him I'll be letting my local friends know about his service, he said,

My brother and I dabble around in crypto, and deal mostly with XRP at the moment. But it helps me keep an eye on the tax implications since it directly effects me.

So knowing that he has a personal interest in this tells me he wants to make damn sure he's accurate.

Good to see an open-minded CPA since most of them our not used to thinking outside of box...imo....I studied accounting 2 years at Banard Baruch College 30 years ago but could not stand it with accounting being so inflexible and later on when I met accountants they are so rigid in their thinking...imo

Nowadays, people used digital coins to do their transaction. Last christmas, I receive SBD as a gift when the value is more than $10. How cool is that!

I say that steemit now it's hard.now steemit not the first they say,because friends don't see we are still under the

it is very important, so we should respect it

I get that I can do a transfer to an @somebody and send them Steem or SDB, but how do I take it out in USD? Do I exchange it to Bitcoin and then drive to Detroit 200 miles to the closest Bitcoin ATM? Thanks!

You just hit the point
> The CPA we used last year didn't seem very versed in crypto, and we were prepared to have to deal with that with him again, but it turns out he had some life changes this past year and isn't a CPA anymore.
> Then, today I got this email from him: Needless to say, I'll be using this guy again next year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24