@jl777 : Why do you have so many upvote bots?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

This question is for @jl777 .

Seriously, why so many? What purpose do they serve?
They tend to swarm, but is that necessary? Are they necessary?

EDIT: I now realize that my post comes off as a complaint. I assure you that's not the case.
I'm a novice when it comes to this kind of thing, so I was hoping for an informative answer.

Thanks for chiming in. :)

Sort:  

I was just testing things and getting measurements on how all the different rewards work. Seems all the upvote bots got a total of 0 gain for me, but if it boosted activity on some posts and they got more money, then it seemed a good thing, so I didnt think it would be a problem.

However some people took offense and kept downvoting everything, even when the poster upvoted things, so I stopped most all the bots. I am still running the taker marketmaker bot as it seems that all the other market makers are not very active now the rewards are gone

Ah, there we go. Very cool. What was really interesting was that the moment I posted this, first bernie upvoted it, then BAM....5-10 bots simultaneously upvoted it as well. LoL They seem to be following him around.

With voting power at ~34%, does it even matter. He's got no weight left to benefit from curation reward.

I supposed that's a good point.

That could be considered part of my original question.
Why or why not.
I guess the meat+potatoes of my question is what's the purpose?

So it's a matter of quantity, not value now? When I brought up @wang automatically upvoting people, nobody gave two shits.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@drinkzya/pro-tip-for-instant-results

I'm not trying to be negative with this post at all, actually. In fact I'm a novice and I assume there's a purpose involved with the creation of upvote bots.
I just noticed last night that there were upvotes coming in droves - like literally a dozen upvotes within 4 seconds. Hey, no complaints here. That's numbers going up as far as I'm concerned. I was just hoping for an explanation.

Directly from #steemit-abuse , there's nothing we can do about it.

lol totally love how @berniesanders was the first to blow this post up :P

lol With enough coffee, neither do I. ;-)

I think this is a fair question! a little a bit of bs to be honest

Talk about a bot attack - iRobot revolution lol @winstonwolfe

Human high five upvote

LOL I usually fall asleep to Futurama (it's mindless, easy to doze off to), and I just watched this episode last night!

its also my favourite adult cartoon - bender is a cracker lol

My guess would be that the swarm effect causes a cascade of activity, bringing the post on both 'trending' 'active' and 'hot'.

Alternatively, a dormant passion for beekeeping.

He is trying to make money I guess...

Yeah after re-reading how I worded my post, it certainly does come across as a complaint. Sorry about that. It was intended as a genuine question to seek an informative answer. Thanks for the link. I'll check that out.

If you don't like it, just flag them down.

Again, it's not a matter of me bitching. I'm simply asking a question in hopes of receiving an informative answer. :)

After re-reading how I presented myself in it, however, I suppose I could have chosen different wording.

This post got a heavy payout. Congratulations, you've won.

Bots and swarms are a really good thing in an attention scarce environment.

LOL Yeah, point well taken. Didn't see that coming at all.
This was very much an example of...
"Why?"
"This is why."
"Ooooooooh!"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25