Another Unplanned Post - Helping others by keeping it casual

in #steemit6 years ago

After I posted my last post about not planning my post, a couple of people mentioned they liked my random posting.  It turns out my shitty post raised their confidence that they could also make a crappy post.  Which increased their feeling that it is okay to post.  

We all have different gifts and it turns out that mine is to set a standard that others feel they can live up to.  Oddly I like that.

The Content Evangelists can preach about Quality and how they hate memes and "low effort posts", that can be their thing.   I want to seek engagement and connections instead.

Here are some things you can do on the site today:

  • Write a Story
  • Sing a Song 
  • Post some Art or Photos
  • Explore a Topic
  • Seek support for a view or idea
  • Publish your Work
  • Share a discussion worthy articles
  • Engage with others from a certain Nation
  • Simply make some friends
  • Program an App
  • Get paid to Curate
  • Hunt Plagiarism and Scammy Posts

I'm sure there are many more things.

The Wisdom of The Crowd


Everyone can react to your actions by curating with up and down votes.

The crowd can upvote it if they like it, they can ignore it, or they can downvote it.  After a week you get to keep the rewards.    Some content and some rewards will naturally receive more engagement, more votes, more flags and more discussion.

In some cases that attention will come from what you write, but also attention comes from who you know and how many people "lay eyes" on the content.  Visibility is a factor.

Our current UIs support different types of content and all of that content dumps into SteemIt.com, changing it from being our Proof of Concept into being kind of a Firehose of all content.


Most people did not come here to polish their writing skills or see what they retained from English Composition, however some did.  There is room for both.

There might be things you can say and say well, that there just isn't an audience for. (yet) If you care about getting the votes and the interest, consider whether you are getting your content in the face of the correct audience.

You are free to move around the platform. 


@whatsup

Sort:  

This is already a very successful post!

No, stay with me here...

You just inspired me to go write a post about "quality" and "value."

The Content Evangelists can preach about Quality and how they hate memes and "low effort posts", that can be their thing.

Although I am often a "Quality Content Evangelist," my main thing is whether something adds value more than whether it is quality. Sometimes they are the same, sometimes not...

This post added value, as far as I am concerned!

lol, I agree that value or "attention" might be a better judge. It is my mission to kill the words "Quality". Evil giggle.
I don't consider you an Evangelist, I consider you someone who leads by example!

I like simple posts which is usually what I make although I do a lot of planning on what I will post.

I am one of the guys who came here to learn how to blog but there is no real metric that i can use to see if i m improving or not. Any ideas?

Also there are a lot of very smart and talented people here so I believe its important to post on stuff your passionate about or very knowledgeable. If you post the same things a million others are doing but they are doing it better its kinda like pissing in the wind. But with passion can make you strive to be the best. Also comment comment comment. I'm never surprised when a quick comment of mine gets better payout than post I spent a lot of time on. Lots of people here have posted for months getting ZERO payout. I know I did while price was low and learning the platform.

Appreciate your response. I am not worried about payout. I have worked out a strat with upvote bots that makes me decent profit but certainly more will be better :)

I like to blog about my interests. Its hard to gauge improvement here. You could go all out and have an amazing post but if you only have a handful of followers your payout won't be the best even though the same exact post on a well know persons page could pull in a huge payout. I think socializing may be the best way. That way you can expose your work to a large amount of people and then you are sure to get feedback.

Thanks for your reply. I have about 250 followers but i dont know how many are active users. What do you use to socialize. I dont get any comments on my posts.

Well I am here to BOOOOOOOO THIS MAN!

(Sometimes a social conversation and light post is as good or better than a well-thought out and structured post. I diggit.)

I always enjoy your posts except for when they are politically charged in relation to Steemit and it's internal politics. I just don't love reading about that stuff very much because it bums me out.

I really do like reading about various things that happen in your life though. I love random writings.

I do realize I write about Steem too often, but it is a calculated risk.
admittedly, I do annoy some, but someone needs to have a calm middle of the road view and express it.
We all have this in common.
I agree though about the "Burn Out" factor that comes with reading too much about Steem Politics. :)

Some users advice us to write long posts, but does this matter? to me it's a big no! writing a short post with detailed information is better than writing a long story with less content.

I agree with you @whatsup, we need engagement and connections than just posting better content because a lot of minnows have been writing good quality posts but still their posts do not get upvotes.

If I want to go deep into a topic, I am not sure that a SteemIt post would be my main choice in a source. So, My preference leans towards casual and fun interactions.

Did you risolve your mouse problem?

Post a reliable and successful, I like your post. So I always follow you, thank you @whatsup

Excellent!! this is a good post about being yourself. We always try to satisfy people with our writings or work. So, we lost the part we love. Being ourself and having people around me the people who are having the same taste, is incredible. Thanks.

Hi @whatsup, Just want to thank you for this list because it helped me with something:

Write a Story
Sing a Song
Post some Art or Photos
Explore a Topic
Seek support for a view or idea
Publish your Work
Share a discussion worthy articles
Engage with others from a certain Nation
Simply make some friends
Program an App
Get paid to Curate
Hunt Plagiarism and Scammy Posts

Thumbs up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05