Your Blog Can Be An Extension Of You - Advice On What To Write AboutsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

So you have joined Steemit or another blogging site (I do not know why you would join another blogging site when this one actually pays you but whatever) and you are ready to start writing. You look at the blank page and think, okay, what do I do now. Then you just stare it and do nothing :p. But it is not as daunting as it seems. Your blog can be an extension of your life, whether it bis your hobbies, or your work, or your dreams. Every day you wake up and spend your time pursuing goals that you want to achieve in areas that are of interest to you. Maybe you have to work some 9-5 that is just a job but it isn't who you are. And these things that interest you and the goals you are trying to reach are all things you can write about on steemit.

Do you watch television every night and binge on the weekends (hopefully you stretch in between)? Then tell us what you are watching, what is hot on Netflx, the direction you would take a show and the shows you want to see. It is the same if you buy a movie ticket every weekend or are a filmmaker yourself. This site can be a way to share you thoughts, ideas and progress as you grow in your field. You can share your recipes, weekend outings, IT tips and hidden talents that you always show off at parties. Let us know why we need try a restaurant or some new club that opened last week.

The point I am making is you do not have to see steemit or your blog as this place where you have to come up with things but an extension of the things you are already working on and the life that you are living. It can be your partner at the job or the gym or a way to gather opinion on your projects. You should work to bring quality to this site, but what topic that quality is about is up to you. And if it is about video games, or gardening, or animals, or finance, odds are you will find people who are into the same things. That is what the internet is about, people finding people of similar interests.

So stop worrying and do you. This community needs more communities if it is going to grow outside of the crypto world.

Tell me about your areas of interest in the comments.

@whatageek

*my upvotes/rep disclaimer: https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatageek/my-steemit-account-where-i-stand-on-bots-self-votes-and-multiple-account

Sort:  

Wonderful and encouraging post, especially to those who have stayed silent. A very good friend of mine is v shy and intimidated by Steemit, although she has got an account. Forwarding this article to her. :)

ch @globocop

Please do :)

She loved it... in her own time she will become active.. :)

Thanks for the great advice. I just did a blog about my favorite Steemit Users, and you were featured! Love your content!

Thank you, I am honoured. And thank you for the kind words, you are a name I always recognize in my comments.

@whatsgeek Nicely done. I am into Entreprenuership and Tech hence the reason I found out about Crypto and later Steem & the Steemit community.

I'm interesting in many things, and I like to share my experience, my thoughts, some of my creations or just beautiful views or unforgettable memories. I like everything which is related with human life

Yep, there is ALWAYS something to write about, although I do find my top "creative" times are in the morning from about 7-11 AM.

Interests:

  • Me and @captainobviou3 & @eggmeister are pretty crazy about #paragliding.
  • When I'm not flying or kiting, I'm usually #reading. Working through On the Move by Oliver Sacks and Turing's Cathedral by George Dyson right now.
  • Of course, I'm into #paleo. :) Total food fan, and my wife & partner @bunnylove is one of the greatest grillers I've ever met. Lucky me!
  • #Philosophy, especially the Stoics, usually captures my attention. I've been spending a bunch of time lately trying to figure out what it means to be a "good" human. The deeper you go, the deeper you get.

Thanks for posting this up, stoked to see you encouraging more excellent work in the How To Steemit section. :)

I'm big on lit as well though I haven't read anything in awhile. Thanks, I think I will make a couple more.

thank you for sharing

I have also written something about this. Travel, or just go out, have fun, get a life. Then tell us your story.

Write something you're passionate about, spend time on writing quality content and everything will follow. Just enjoy writing without worrying too much about the money.

Read books / blog to get some inspiration.

I love writing about writing and editing. :-) But I really love that I don't have to commit solely to those topics on Steemit because there are so many others that spark my interest that I want to discuss and share.

You're advice is my favourite writing advice for this reason -- when people write about the things that interest them, their readers will sense that passion in their work and will find their writing more interesting as well. Passion is contagious, and Steemit appears to be the perfect environment for it to spread. :-)

That is true and it can show in your words. Great, the writing topic has help front page, go writers ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25