With great voting power, comes great responsibility! An afternoon rant directed at my fellow minnows.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm sure many of you have become elated after logging on and finding your potential rewards for each post and comment shoot through the roof! After the high of seeing 7 whole dollars on your potential payout absolves, I'm sure many of you asked yourself the question, what now? Although this an exciting time, I can't stress enough (especially to us minnows), the importance of making your vote matter!

With great power, comes great responsibility- Uncle Ben

()
Source


In the past many of us have just tagged along on the upvote train on many of the posts on the trending and hot pages because we were attracted to the huge payouts and wanted to be a part of that success. What I'm most concerned about is that we minnows and smaller dolphins will continue that habit and even more of the reward pool will go towards that less than 1% of whales and large dolphins whose content is already televised for the world to see.

Don't get me wrong, these whales and dolphins deserve everything coming to them because they believed and invested their time and money into this platform early on when there was the highest risk of losing it all. There're however, thousands of authors in this community whose content is getting overlooked everyday. If this community is going to continue to grow, then we as minnows need to Find those underrepresented authors and collectively lift them up. If we start filling the trending and hot pages with more QUALITY content from whales and minnows a like, we will attract and retain so many more users and as a result bring more value and utility to this amazing community.

I challenge you all to ignore the hot and trending tabs and use your new found influence to find and curate a few new users who produce quality content everyday. If we all band together and set a new bar on what is to considered quality, the value of Steemit will continue to rise, which means we all will win.

If you enjoyed this rant and want to read more like it, please follow, upvote, and resteem!

Sort:  

Yeah I think it will be a problem. I am skeptical of calls to honor to fix things. We might need a new hardfork to align self interest and voting. Still I think we should get an influx of power ups and new users due to the rewards.

Dam, lets hope it doesn't come to that! I'm thinking the same in regards to an increased influx of users. Not only will we get new users, but I'm sure we will retain them as well. I think the value of Steem is going to go up a lot in the coming weeks because of it. Hopefully I'm right haha. Thanks for reading and commenting ender, appreciate it!

Tons of minnows already blew 4 days of steem power in minutes, they will all have to wait 24 hours just to get back 20% ... shesh lol

Man I know it's crazy! Not enough of them watched enough spider man growing up to understand the danger of having to much power haha

Without the slider they can't control their power

@waphilip, agreed that although seemingly more rewards for everyone but it should make us be more aware of the power of our vote.

exactly! Thats all i've been thinking about leading up to the hard fork, so I'm happy to finally get all of that off my chest! Uncle Ben has never been wrong in my book, so i'm all about responsibility at this point haha thanks for reading and leaving a comment!

Couldn't agree more.

Hey thanks for stoping by Senderos! I just got sone reading you post on crime and punishment and woah that was intense!

you are right man, its time to new minnows become dolphins and whales, lets support each other, following you

I'm not too worried about becoming a dolphin or a whale anytime soon, but maybe one day haha Thanks for the support!

I'll do my best to help out my fellow minnows. Much appreciated for this rant!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by King Philip III from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I admit that after I look my feed over, I generally go to new and upvote posts that I find interesting. That's my voting strategy.

I wish I had your voting strategy when I was rep 40 (like 2 weeks ago) lol Your on the right path. Thanks for reading Mr. Fox

I posted a similar rant this morning. Another problem is people using voting bots to vote blindly without even reading the post!

Literally wasting their VP on shit posts smh! Once authors get hip to having a bot or two attached to their posts, they feel like it's ok to post a meme of a unicorn peeing out skittles because they will get over $50. They will learn sooner or later that bots aren't best way to generate rewards, especially after this update.

Yeah, it's crazy. I know it takes a lot of effort to get to over 2 or 3k followers, but posting a picture of a door and making $100+ is crazy.

Lmao the sad thing is I only used to upvote shit posts with high rewards smh I got like .00001 SP out of it tho *wipes dust off shoulder

I tried it too!

Everyone is going to upvote his own posts, that's a given, just try to not over do it, leave a percentage of your voting power for those posts you think deserve it, of course the ideal would be only voting for quality posts, but let's face it if everybody just votes for quality, where would that leave me and the majority of people on Steemit?

haha yeah, I doubt people will actually actively seek out quality content! But in the rare case they all did, I'm sure someone would make a shit post support project, decked out with like 5 bots to upvote as much shit as possible haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87