You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If I've lost you as a follower, what can I do to bring you back?

in #steemit7 years ago

First of all, you didn't lose me as a follower, but if you lose a follower, who cares? I mean that, and not trying to be rude. I mean, if you lose a follower, it is unlikely they followed you for the right reason in the first place. I would strongly suggest catering to the 1200+ followers you have instead of worrying about the couple that you lost. I think it will serve you better in the long run. I try to vote and reply to your stuff often. You do a great job on here, and I wouldn't worry about the people that stop following if I were you. With all due respect. I think if you put that energy into making your current followers happier, you will see better rewards over the long run. Just trying to help. Great blog as usual. I'm not going anywhere as a follower. Keep it up!

Sort:  

Just to clarify, I'm not hurt by people unfollowing me, but if there's a reason, perhaps I can either fix it or improve upon it so that problem doesn't repeat itself. Surely if someone unfollowed me for a particular reason, it wouldn't be a stretch to think that others might do the same for the same reason. If I don't know what that reason is, then I can't plug the hole in the boat.

I agree 100% trying to figure out why you lost followers, but coming from a social media professional, unless you are losing them in droves, you are not necessarily doing anything wrong. It is part of the process. Some people unfollow because they tried to get you to follow and then went back in their list and cleaned it up to make it look like they have more followers than people they follow. Those are not the kind of people you want. In my experiences in life and online, I have found that the time spent focusing on the people that unfollow or unlike is better spent catering to the people that are still following and liking. I think you put out great content. I really do. If people are leaving, I am willing to bet a fair amount of money it isn't for things you are doing. It's people trying to game the system or get the attention of a "whale". I wouldn't worry about it. Just my suggestion. Just trying to help.

Yeah and over time peoples tastes change too. Maybe a week or so ago someone was into the subject matter you write about @winstonwolfe but then lets say 4 days ago they suffered a small stroke and believe they have found their true calling as a dog whisperer. Now all they want to do is fill their feed with Chow Chows and Yorkshire Terriers and sorry pudding you aint no pug. My point is people are crazy and then top that off with art being subjective and you have can't help the inevitable. Trying your method feels like going against the current. You can not let others dictate the current or you'll just get swept up in it and burn out with exsaustion. You may be afraid to try new things or hesitate when going against the current. All you can do is be your best self because your best self is unwavering. Post about what matters to you and gain the followers that sincerely care about those things with you. Those are the followers you want with you because they just ride the wave with you, supporting what you want to do without needing you to be anything but what you are. Moving with the current feels good, the work goes by faster too. So do this thing for yourself and let the following happen as it may. That is my plans anyways haha.

I voted for this, then realized it was only 3%, unvoted, readjusted to full-punch-to-the-face vote power then voted again.

Maybe a week or so ago someone was into the subject matter you write about @winstonwolfe but then lets say 4 days ago they suffered a small stroke and believe they have found their true calling as a dog whisperer. Now all they want to do is fill their feed with Chow Chows and Yorkshire Terriers and sorry pudding you aint no pug.

My God, this is beautiful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97