Steemit as a Full Time Job

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Prior to 2003 I worked in different facets of the financial/brokerage world, from customer service, at one of the first online brokerages, to sales. The jobs were soulless and leading nowhere so I made a break from traditional work and set out to be a golf pro.

I had ten enjoyable years at a job that I will never be able to re-create. The members at the club I was working for were so overly generous that I was able to live alone, drive a new car, take the winter off and go to an island. Ten years on, half of the members were dead or dying, the money at the club had dried up and ownership was failing.

Golf banner.jpg

As that golf gig wound down, I left and went into a management position at a golf course management firm and subsequently became the general manager of a semi-private club. That was up until three weeks ago, when the owner of the club and the management firm walked into my office and started telling me what a great job I was doing and then proceeded to tell me my job was being eliminated and there were no other positions available at other properties.

BAM! and out the door I went!

Just like that I was unemployed. They had told me that they wouldn't challenge an unemployment claim and they'd pay me two weeks severance. OK, now what do I do? I went to every golf club within 30 miles and walked in the front door. A handsome and versatile guy like me, of course any club would love to employ me. Not so much.

I went on indeed, monster, the whole lot of them. Updated my resume, reupdated my resume, repurposed my resume and started applying to anything that looked interesting. Not much luck there either. My wife has a good government job that can tide us over till my next thing happens, it'll be tight, but we won't be homeless or starving. She came in from work one night and just went ahead and blurted out:

WHAT IS IT THAT YOU WANT TO DO WITH THE REST OF YOUR LIFE?

She wasn't being mean about it. This got us going in discussion and we both decided that trying to work from home sounded like a good option. No boss to please or employees to manage. Perfect, let's do it. The question then was: DO WHAT?

I looked into multi-level marketing, you know those guys who advertise themselves walking around a big house and a garage full of cars. Looked into copywriting, customer service and dog walking, to name a few.

It then occurred to me that I had opened a Steemit account last year, that I hadn't used. I enjoy researching and writing and I know how to spell, so I found my password in my email and logged in about 10 days ago. After trolling around reading posts, I realized that Steemit truly is a community of seemingly responsible people making an effort to create quality content. I realized that some Steemians are blogging full time and some others are making a living at it.IMG_0913.JPG

Back to the title of this post, I am now a full time blogger, curator and investor for Steemit Inc.

Eight days of actively working on this site has brought me in touch with very intelligent and thoughtful people, focused me on coming up with new content daily/hourly and proven to me that there is no point in producing quantity over perceived quality.

Through posting and commenting I have attracted over 100 followers and had two posts that have earned over $60 each! I feel encouraged to continue blogging and working as a community member.

I see so much upside potential with this platform and the crypto universe in general, I no longer feel unemployed.

I want to thank all the quality people who have put out useful how-to blogs about navigating this platform and the accounts whose upvotes have led to a few successful posts: @papa-pepper @aggroed @curie @shayne @acidyo @dollarvigilante @kalinart to name just a few.

Please feel free to upvote, resteem, comment or follow.

All images taken on my old Iphone
The banner in the one image was designed by me

Sort:  

YAY! I made the "just to name a few" list!

Your video series for noobs has been very helpful. Next on my to-do list is to create a banner at the end of my posts.

I'm consistently amazed at how helpful and knowledgeable this community is.

I'll cover some more stuff about that tomorrow.

Well, full time job for Steemit only sounds risky but we'll see if it pays off. Good luck!

Oh it is, but what's the worst that can happen, I get a job.

You can totally do it. And you look just a little bit like Kevin Spacey. And I am already following 2, maybe 3 of the people you listed, and now I'm following you.

I'm told I look like a mix of Nicholas Cage and Bogart. Followed you too. I appreciate the encouragement. I don't see why I can't succeed if I put in the work, which I'm willing to do.

Well unless you write total crap which you don't. Although eventually I'm sure this will all be monopolized eventually, you are going to have companies coming in here with people hired to write articles on whatever topic and spamming the place with advertisements, but right now is are golden days, you can make good things happen before any of that.

I just found a guy here, I think his name is"Ijustsaymeep" He made $15 just saying meep

That's the plan. I can tell my writing is improving already and I will also be working on skills to make a more professional looking post. I also made a five time return on reddcoin yesterday. You're right that this platform will someday become perverted by corporate interests.

My wife sent me a better picture. Updated the headline photo.

Wow, man, smile more, it makes you younger!

My attempt at a selfie was an absolute failure. My wife was pissed that I used a shitty picture. We are our own brand!

Welcome back to Steemit, and great attitude towards your goal. This truly is a great platform with a plethora of knowledge. Glad to follow your blog.

Thank you for the comment. I agree with you on the knowledge that is on this platform. There are so many intelligent people in this community. I have trouble even visiting Twitter anymore now that I've immersed myself in Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30