My Retirement - Beginning 12/2020 with a 23 Country Mega Road Trip

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

So I have been putting a hell of a lot of thought into this. I initially wanted to do an Overlanding Expedition around the America's. Then I decided I would just retire to Thailand. Then I decided to retire in Belize instead. Then I realized I wanted to travel before I retire in a fixed place. So why not travel and I mean travel.

Here is the idea:

STAGE 1: Exploring all 23 Countries in the America's (North/Central/South America)

I am thinking of acquiring a US Military M35A2 6x6 Truck and a Military Trailer and rigging it up into the Ultimate Off-Grid Overlanding Off-Road Vehicle. Something like this:

I should be able to acquire the vehicle and trailer, with a few modifications like better gear ratios so it will do 75 mph instead of 50 mph and air lockers on all three axles for around $30,000 USD. Then I would build a rack on the roof to hold 2,000 Watts of Solar Panels and install Four 400 Watt Wind Turbines on the corners of the rack like these:

That bad boy is all metal construction, can withstand winds of up to 100 mph (so I can permanently mount them and charge my batteries while driving). Then using a hybrid (wind/solar) charge controller use them to maintain 8 Optima 620 CCA Amp Dry-Cell Batteries like these:

Then I will build out the Inside of the box on the truck (which has dual expanding sides to make it almost 16 feet wide when expanded) with a full kitchen, 100 gallon fresh water tank, 50 gallon grey water tank with Charcoal Filtration System so I can clean the Grey Water and legally/safely dump it anywhere, Nature's Head Composting Toilet (no need for Blackwater Tank then), Full Sized Bed, Couch, TV, Satellite TV/Internet Dish, Ham Radio and Cellphone (Booster) Antenna's, Wood Burning Stove (for the Arctic and Anarctic Regions), Toolbox (with Air Impact Tools, Small Portable Welder, Honda 2200 Watt Gas Generator (for backup power or to run Power Tools), an assortment of hand tools and power tools, etc.

The trailer will be rigged up to haul a Scooter, Spare Tires, Extra Water, Fuel, etc. and will have modified suspension so it can run the same (as in matching) tires and rims as the truck.

There will be two Spare Tires and Rims mounted on the truck and two more Spare Tires and Rims mounted on the trailer.

Once I have the vehicle rigged, ready to go and enough money to make the 3 year, 46,000+ mile trip around the America's I will set off on the trip, recording virtually every second and posting regular Vlog posts here on Steemit and on my Youtube Channel (https://www.youtube.com/user/venuspcs). The road trip will go something like this:

Chicago, IL -> Grand Canyon National Park -> Redwood National Park -> Juneau, Alaska -> Anchorage, Alaska -> Prudhoe Bay, Alaska -> Nova Scotia, Canada -> Key West, Florida -> San Diego, California -> Cab San Lucas, Mexico -> Mazatlan, Sinaloa, Mexico -> Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico -> San Juan Teotihuacán, State of Mexico, Mexico -> Cancún, Quintana Roo, Mexico -> Belize City, Belize -> Guatemala City, Guatemala -> San Salvador, El Salvador -> Tegucigalpa, Honduras -> Managua, Nicaragua -> San José, San José Province, Costa Rica -> Santiago, Panama -> Panama City, Panama -> Colón, Panama -> Load Vehicle on Ship to Cartagena, Cartagena Province, Bolivar, Colombia -> Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela -> Caracas, Capital District, Venezuela -> Boa Vista, State of Roraima, Brazil -> Lethem, Guyana -> Lethem, Guyana -> Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica, Guyana -> Friendship, Coronie, Suriname -> Cayenne, French Guiana -> Recife-Pernambuco, Brazil -> Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil -> Asunción, Asunción, Paraguay -> Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay -> Buenos Aires, City of Buenos Aires, Argentina -> Punta Arenas, Magallanes and Antarctic Region, Chile -> (board another ship to get here) Ushuaia, Argentina (board another ship to leave here)-> Concepción, Bio-Bio, Chile -> Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan, Chile -> La Paz, La Paz, Bolivia -> Nazca, Ica, Peru -> Santa Elena Province, Ecuador -> Bogotá, Capital District, Colombia -> Cartagena, Cartagena Province, Bolivar, Colombia -> Load Vehicle on Ship to Colón, Panama -> Belize City, Belize

Depending on how the trip goes I will either settle down when I get back to Belize City, Belize or hopefully I will have earned enough that I can sell my vehicle, trailer, scooter, and everything else I can't carry on a plane with me then proceed to:

STAGE 2: Exploring More Countries

If the America's Journey goes well enough once I get back to Belize City, Belize I will sell most of my belongings. I am choosing here due to the massive amount of Ex-Pats (foreigners) from the United States, Canada and Great Britain that live here. Then I will board a flight to New Zealand. Rent a Toyota Hilux Pickup truck with already rigged for camping/offroading for a few weeks and explore New Zealand. Then fly to Australia and rent another vehicle rigged for camping/offroading and explore Australia for a few weeks.

Then I will fly to either Singapore or Malaysia and begin working on buying/building me another Overlanding/Off-Road vehicle that I can continue traveling in. I am thinking something like the Iveco 90.17.

I will get a one with a Box (if possible) that is similar to the US M35A2 and build it out as an Off-Grid vehicle then travel every country in Asia all the way to Africa to Europe that I can get to by land/bridge over a 3-5 year period.

Vlogging the entire adventure.

Stage 3: Circumnavigating the Earth

If Stage 2 is successful enough when I end my trip in Great Britain (after hitting Scotland and Ireland of Course) I will sell that vehicle and buy/build an Steel Hulled Boat and rip out the engines/generators and install massive DC Electric Motors (with gear boxes) to turn the propellers, install massive amounts of solar panels, wind turbines and batteries. Install a desalinization unit that can make 50 gallons a day of fresh water using solar/wind power. Install/Upgrade the Satellite Internet, Radar Systems, Communications Systems, Navigation Systems, etc. Convert the kitchen to all electric (if there is any Gas/Propane Systems). Install Sonar/Depth Finder/Fish Finder system.

Then once the boat is fully operational, stocked and ready I will sail away from Great Britain and hit every other country (Island Nations) I haven't already driven/flown to. Circumnavigating the Earth in the Process.

This will take another 2-3 years.

Conclusion:

If I am successful in all three stages above I will have spent roughly 10 years traveling to EVERY COUNTRY ON EARTH and traveling over roughly the distance from Earth to the Moon (238,900 miles) in the process.

After which I will likely sail my ship to either Belize or Thailand and spend the rest of my days living on my ship and taking friends and fans that come to Thailand out on Sailing/Fishing trips.

DQmWZ7vNxihSXUnTjYiUkYbWzp637L835LUPmkovB6tZLwt.png

Make sure you follow me on Youtube @ VenusPCS!

DQmWZ7vNxihSXUnTjYiUkYbWzp637L835LUPmkovB6tZLwt.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by VenusPCS (The Colbert Report) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Sounds like an adventure and a lot of fun to visit so many states. It would be worth it to keep a journal of your travels at that time. Thanks for sharing.

Sounds like an epic trip good luck to you. Hope to bump into you along the way 💯🐒

Congratulations @venuspcs! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Let's go for the Quarter-Finals


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

sounds like the GREAT challenge and I am going to follow it if you would post stories about it... WOW . I am under the HUGE impression

Hello,
we like what you are doing and some of your ideas. We custom build our expedition truck also.
I will post some "get to know truck" posts in future, for now it is more like travel blog, but pictures are there, have a look, you will like it :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73