How I Plan on Increasing My Income With Steemit in 2017

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Around last year June, @infovore introduced me to Steemit which I didn't take seriously for the first 3 months. After the third month, he shared with me his success story which prompted me to sign up on September. Upon signing up, I still found it hard to believe there is a platform that actually pays you to contribute to the community by blogging.

This disbelief coupled with laziness prevented me from using the platform till about 6 months ago, when I finally published my first two contents which are absolutely dry. I didn't bother trying to understand how the platform works so I just, JUMPED IN!

I'm a Web Developer and a Front-End Designer and I currently freelance at Fiverr.com. Fiverr till today, is my only source of income, and few days ago I realized my income is really running low and I decided to give Steemit another trial and I also made up my mind to increase my income with it. I wrote down a few plans to achieve this goal, and this post is about it.

How I Plan on Increasing my Income with Steemit

I've written out 8 steps on how I think I can increase my income with Steemit, I'm new here so please feel free to correct me or give me additional info, it'll be highly appreciated.

Clearly Define My Goal

 
Over the years, I've learnt that the best way to start out any business — though this is very applicable to anything in life is to state or write out your goals. What do you want to achieve by doing this? How do you plan on achieving them? This gives you a clearer insight of where you're heading to.

I've defined my goal, and it's simple. My goal is to increase my income with Steemit, and by the end of this year, buy a MacBook Pro; Move into a new house where I get all the comfort and privacy I desire, and have a steady source of income as I save up for a project I have in mind to solve a particular problem in my country.

Understand How the Steemit Works

 
I believe it'll be stupid to repeat the same mistake I made for Fiverr after I spent months without getting a single order, only because I thought you just sign up on the platform and BOOM! you start receiving orders. So I planned on taking time to understand how Steemit works before I re-start from the scratch.

At the time of writing, I've spend about 72 hours trying to understand how Steemit works, and I believe I have at least, if not a deep understanding, a fair and average understanding of how the platform works, though learning never stops.

Study Popular Categories

 
This phase is simply where I study and understand the competition. Since my goal is to increase my income, at this point I don't want to worry myself on finding a gap and diving in, but rather study the most popular categories that gets highest attention and see how I can contribute to it

Decide on a Niche

 
After studying the competition, I've decided on the niche to dive into. Though I'll simply write on anything that interests me and any topic that comes in mind, but I'll focus my attention more on Life, Health and Cryptocurrency categories.

If any other category comes in mind as I familiarize myself with the platform, I'll consider diving into it also.

Study Contents Under My Chosen Niche

 
So now that I've decided on the categories to focus on, what I have actually done and I'm still doing is to study the other people articles in these categories. See how they structure, how they write and all. This will guide me when writing my own articles too.

Come up With good topic, research, write and publish

 
I've studied the popular categories and I've decided on what niche to focus on. I've started writing down topics as they come to my mind as well, and I'll start making research on the next articles I have to write on.

Once I'm able to gather all my research, I'll put all my effort in coming up with a good article. And of course, ask the Holy Spirit to come write with me, just as he works with me on clients project and everything has been successful!

Repeat the last three steps till the goal is achieved

 

“Success is neither magical nor mysterious. Success is the natural consequence of consistently applying basic fundamentals.”
― Jim Rohn

I believe consistency is the key to success, and I understand success takes time also. I know is might take a little time to start making some good income here, and I'm willing to work hard and be consistent.

Find a Gap and Set a New Goal

 
Once I'm able to achieve my first goal which is to maximize my income, I'll take my time to research on a new category I can start on Steemit and work hard to dominate it.

This is how I plan to increase my income here on Steemit, do you have any suggestions or additions? Please feel free to leave a reply on this post. I'm looking forward to your opinion as it'll go a long way in helping me.

Please Resteem, upvote and Follow @turn2honey

Sort:  

This is great. I love the strategic and thoughtful approach you've laid out here. I think understanding how the system works is a great place to start.

Excellent post. I'll be referring back to this one in the future.

I like your approach @turn2honey. Personally, I write on here for enjoyment and the interaction with other Steemians. Any money earned is a nice bonus. I can see though if you are planning on using the platform as an income earner then a more systematic approach is the way to go. Good luck in your endeavours. :-)

Thank you! I just followed you!

Thanks, @turn2honey and I've followed you back. :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65753.03
ETH 3281.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68