One Year Steemit Anniversary - A Little HistorysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

1 Year on Steemit, 9 Years of Web Development

WebsiteHistoryNotice: I own the rights to all of the images used here.

Entrepreneurial Web Development

At the very end of 2007, I left the Military and pursued more technological interests. Primarily programming. Early 2008 I enrolled in the Bachelor of Applied Science in Software Engineering Technology at ITT Technical Institute. They primarily taught foundations and desktop application programming.

I wanted to get online though. So I studied PHP and JavaScript in my free time and applied the MySQL database implementations learned in school to start on content management sites (CMS).

Among the first domains I bought was JerokiahDarr.com and TunnelRatTraffic.com. Let the learn as you code journey begin!

Timeline

2008

  • JerokiahDarr.com - My official about me site and blog.
  • TunnelRatTraffic.com - My first entrepreneurial website. A manual traffic exchange with affiliate program. I bought a script and started customizing it; adding modules as time passed.

2012

  • Top-TE.com - My first attempt at an almost entirely scratch built website. Top-TE ranked traffic exchanges based on specific metrics, integrated the first ever chat on splash pages and included a directory with affiliate commissions.

2015

  • Top-Bit.com - Bitcoin fully piqued my interest in 2015. I immediately got to work customizing a bitcoin faucet and faucet explorer with generous rewards. Google shut down my publisher account for (I assume) using other ad platforms that were mostly bitcoin-based. Coinbase also closed my account due to some unknown reason just directing me at the FinCEN website. Causing a lot of financial struggle.
  • BitcoinsPlus.com - This was a bitcoin news platform with information on blockchain-based cryptocurrencies and happenings in the crypto-sphere.

2016

I signed up for a Steemit.com account.

The year prior I became a full-time volunteer caregiver for a family member with Alzheimer's Disease. The additional strain that put on me emotionally took my priorities away from managing my websites and they started to hemorrhage money. In October I announced that it was no longer feasible to operate any of my servers as I was paying out of pocket more than just overhead.

In November, I shut down all the servers.

2017

Liberated from my role as caregiver, I could now focus on what I enjoyed once again: Cryptocurrency and web development.

It was July when I realized my wallets had increased significantly in value! So I decided to reinvigorate my blog and get back on Steemit. I also wanted to help support the bitcoin network so I bought another server and installed a full node.

  • CoinThru.com - My first SSL domain and bitcoin node. CoinThru is becoming a dev platform for cryptocurrency tools, starting with Steemit.

1 Year Today on Steemit

Birthday
https://steemd.com/@tunnelrat
Created  2016-08-30 16:43:39

Badge source: http://steemitboard.com/@tunnelrat

You can read my original Introduction Post here.




If you want to help with the development of CoinThru.com, donations are welcome.

Sort:  

thats awesome man! I would love to have a node and to mine but i just dont know compters or coding or software.. so left just to buy coins haha

You're better of just buying coins, @palmerjm1. It gets expensive mining.

You could just open a wallet and start staking. Vericoin (VRC), Diamond Coin (DMD), Exclusive Coin (EXCL) and DeepOnion (ONION) are a few that let you stake just by holding a balance. Basically like earning interest.

First three are on Bittrex:
VRC (0.00006954 BTC) $0.33
DMD (0.00137353 BTC) $6.58
EXCL (0.00033898 BTC) $1.63

NovaExchange:
ONION (0.00045600 BTC) $2.17

A year! Dang dude your beating me by about 9 months

Yeah, I signed up made a couple posts then forgot about it lol. Just got back on at then end of July.

Welcome to Steem @tunnelrat I have upvoted and sent you a tip

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.
Check out the other content resteemed by @resteembot.
Some of it is really cool!

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-09-01 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

Congratulations @tunnelrat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71