Here is how the Steemit Trending Page would look like without Bid Bots and Self Votes! (01.11.2018)

in #steemit6 years ago

Trending Posts Without Bid Bots and Self Votes

In the last 24 hours alone people spent at least 3972 SBD and 8781 STEEM on post promotions using bid bots or vote selling services. I know bid bots are a controversial topic and it is not up to me to decide if these bots are good or bad. Heck, I'm a bot myself, so who am I to judge? However, I can help you with your own judgment by providing data. Besides my DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS, where I try to direct attention to posts that deserve more rewards, I decided to use the data at my disposal to publish another kind of top list.

Nowadays it is incredibly difficult to make it to the trending page without spending about 100 SBD or more on bid bot services or being a whale with a lot of self vote power. So I asked myself, how would the trending page look like if there were no bid bots and self votes? Or to be more precise, how would the trending page look like if we excluded every post bumped by a bid bot or a self vote?

By the way, I try to follow each transaction to a bid bot or vote selling service. Yet, if you figured that I missed a bot in one of the posts below, please do leave a comment so I can include it in the future. Thanks!

The Top 10 Posts NOT Promoted by Bots

So without further ado, here are the top earning, text based posts (excluding dmania etc.) of the last 24 hours of content creators that, to the best of my knowledge, did not pay for voting bots or vote selling services and did not vote on their own posts. A list of the humble, so to say. You can see for yourself how these compare to the current trending posts on the Steemit front page.

#1 My Physical Letter to Coinbase A Steem Listing Initiative -- by @kenmelendez with a current reward of 77 SBD

Calling all Steemians...Its time for the ultimate Steem listing initiative...are you ready? As many of you are aware, we took first place in the recent contest that Netcoins.com was holding, proving there is power within our community. Even in this bear market we still came out on top which speaks volumes on what a blockchainbased social network is capable of achieving. In light of that glorious victory, I would like to propose another initiative and invite the entire community to hop o...

#2 Haunted My song about a Haunted house. Music video SamhainHalloween premiere and photoshoot. -- by @yidneth with a current reward of 42 SBD

a You know that there are places youd better not roam alone in. You can feel that weird sensation that alerts you. What if the ghost in a haunted place is the place itself? Cross the fence and enter into the desolate feelings of an abandoned house. Places are not haunted by ghosts but by desolation. I have not been much around these last few weeks because I was working on this music video. It took a lot of work and I battled with my old computer, but finally it is here, and right fo...

#3 Spray Paint Art -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 40 SBD

iframe width560 height315 frameborder0 allowaccelerometer; autoplay; encryptedmedia; gyroscope; pictureinpicture allowfullscreen My father in law recently watched some videos on youtube and learned how to make spray paint art. Hed only been doing it for a few days when he made this for a friend, who wanted a pyramid picture. He uses a small lazy susan to work on so he can easily turn the picture while he is working. He also uses a few stencils, for things like a wolf or dolphin or person, ...

#4 ABQ Reviews The Range -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 40 SBD

The Range Cafe is a must visit for anyone coming to the Land of Enchantment. On top of having a fantastic menu, each location is wonderfully weird, a colorful and cool place to enjoy a great meal. We are always sure to take out of town guests to The Range. They take ordinary foods and put a perfect New Mexican spin on them. For instance, their breakfast menu features plain jane pancakes, but they also serve blue corn pancakes that feature blueberries and toasted pions. Of course New Mexicos...

#5 Bedside Table Theory -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 40 SBD

My bedside table is the one piece of furniture in my home that I interact with everyday. It is the first thing I see when I wake up, the last thing I see before I go to bed. It occurred to me that objects laying on top of it mostly books were a good indication of my personality. Wanting to test the theory, a quick glance at my husbands bedside table expanded the research group and confirmed the theory. On his bedside table guitar pick, travel book, retro light, vintage comic book, a book...

#6 Ol Dirty Bastard of the Wu Tang Clan to Launch ODBCoin -- by @creativecrypto with a current reward of 39 SBD

class sizefull wpimage2694 alt width1882 height1045 br The estate of Ol Dirty Bastard, legendary rap artist and former member of the Wu Tang Clan, has announced that theyll be creating a token under his name as ODBCoin. Launching through Alt Market, the artists personal cryptocurrency will cater to his existing fanbase and incentivize activities around ODB including buying merchandise and attending relevant concerts. This release is part of a growing trend for celebrities to tokenize them...

#7 Why I Love HIIT -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 38 SBD

altDumbbells, Training, Fitness, Gym, Workout, Exercise If you havent heard of HIIT, let me introduce you to my favorite form of cardio exercise. HIIT stands for high intensity interval training. When exercising with this form, you are providing maximum energy expenditure through short bursts of physical activity. For instance, a typical HIIT routine may involve 30 second intervals of burpees, jump squats, or mountain climbers repeated 3 times with 10 second active rest in between each in...

#8 Calypso by David Sedaris book IMO a triumphant return -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 38 SBD

I am a big fan of Sedaris. There is something about his matteroffact normal way of speaking combined with incredible wit and humor that the common man can understand and I am definitely common that makes me really appreciate his prose. That being said, his last couple of books and several mixed inbetween have been a little less than amazing. This was was not his best, but much better than most. David Sedaris is at his best when he is describing actual things that happened to him in h...

#9 Pawn Sacrifice film true story that I never knew before watching this -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 38 SBD

I was well before my time and it was about chess, therefore I guess it wasnt historically important enough for me to have ever heard of Bobby Fischer. However, this is an incredible film that really showcases Tobey Maguires talents as an actor. As is explained over an over again in the movie, this was a story of a poor boy from Brooklyn who just happened to take to chess like a fish to water. Fischer was incredibly gifted and he taught himself how to play. He, at a very young age, ...

#10 New arrivals at ABQ Zoo -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 38 SBD

At the Albuquerque Zoo, Thorn, the baby elephant is growing up and has is feeling right at home with his herd. Hes the fourth Asian elephant born at the zoo since 1992 and hes gaining around two to three pounds a day. He is getting to big to fit underneath his mothers belly, though he still likes to try! The newest giraffes at the ABQ Biopark are doing well, too. Oneyearold Jambazzi and his sister Malika are up over 800 pounds now. A pair of baby lemurs are healthy after coming to live ...

So? What is your opinion about these non-bot trending posts? Before I forget, do not miss out on checking my other top list of DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS to help minnows and promote good content! Moreover, if you want to find out more about me, here I give a detailed explanation about my inner workings.

Your Customized Top List

If you liked this top list, maybe you are also interested in the trending pages for different tags without bid bots and other cool custom adjustments to your feed. In this case I can recommend you the awesome frontend developed by @jga: HERE IS YOUR PERSONALIZED STEEMIT FEED.

You can Help and Contribute

By upvoting and resteeming this top list, you help covering the server costs and finance further development and improvements.

NEW: You may further show your support for me and all my daily truffle picks by following my curation trail on SteemAuto!

Delegate and Invest in the Bot

If you feel generous, you can delegate Steem Power to me and boost my daily upvotes on the truffle posts in my other top list. In return, I will provide you with a small compensation for your trust in me and your locked Steem Power. Half of my daily SBD and STEEM income will be paid out to all my delegators proportional to their Steem Power share. Payouts will start 3 days after your delegation.

Click on one of the following links to delegate 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000, or even 5000 Steem Power. Thank You!

Cheers,

trufflepig

TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59128.17
ETH 2522.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48