Here is how the Steemit Trending Page would look like without Bid Bots and Self Votes! (16.07.2018)

in #steemit6 years ago

Trending Posts Without Bid Bots and Self Votes

In the last 24 hours alone people spent at least 14443 SBD and 6274 STEEM on post promotions using bid bots or vote selling services. I know bid bots are a controversial topic and it is not up to me to decide if these bots are good or bad. Heck, I'm a bot myself, so who am I to judge? However, I can help you with your own judgment by providing data. Besides my DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS, where I try to direct attention to posts that deserve more rewards, I decided to use the data at my disposal to publish another kind of top list.

Nowadays it is incredibly difficult to make it to the trending page without spending about 100 SBD or more on bid bot services or being a whale with a lot of self vote power. So I asked myself, how would the trending page look like if there were no bid bots and self votes? Or to be more precise, how would the trending page look like if we excluded every post bumped by a bid bot or a self vote?

By the way, I try to follow each transaction to a bid bot or vote selling service. Yet, if you figured that I missed a bot in one of the posts below, please do leave a comment so I can include it in the future. Thanks!

The Top 10 Posts NOT Promoted by Bots

So without further ado, here are the top earning, text based posts (excluding dmania etc.) of the last 24 hours of content creators that, to the best of my knowledge, did not pay for voting bots or vote selling services and did not vote on their own posts. A list of the humble, so to say. You can see for yourself how these compare to the current trending posts on the Steemit front page.

#1 SteemSTEM Utopian.io Meetup in Italy Updates from our fundition campaign and more! -- by @steemstem with a current reward of 437 SBD

a As you probably already know, SteemSTEM and Utopian.io are organizing a joint meetup in 2 months from now, in Florence and Pisa in Italy. One of the main events at this meetup will be a group visit to Virgo Labs. To give you some insight into what that actually is, todays post includes a short explanation about gravitational waves and why Virgo was awarded a Nobel Prize in physics. So far, 29 people RSVPed and purchased their flight tickets. Where are they coming from? Mostly Europe,...

#2 Steemblr development update 05 Theme Editor -- by @snwolak with a current reward of 170 SBD

Steemblr is open source microblogging platform powered by steem blockchain . It allows user to post and explore content which is smaller than a traditional blog. You can check developer version here New section where user can customize his blog. Styles changed in editor are applied to blog modal, profile hover and main blog view. Editor can be accessed in settings in customize section. When user is logging in for the first time application creates default blog style for him with dat...

#3 Being a Trailblazing SMT on Steem PreSMTs NOT for the Fainthearted -- by @fknmayhem with a current reward of 128 SBD

A collection of random thoughts and observations as a Steemhunt Guardian and Moderator, as well as somebody interested in and bullish about the Internet 3.0 possibilities on the Steem blockchain. Not for the fainthearted readers andor app builders. Not a surprise to anyone. A recurring topic in my content about Steemhunt. None of the current abusetackling methods can scale to the demands of a much larger Steemosphere. There are many awesome cleaner projects on the Steem blockchain but t...

#4 Electricity and Consilience. Part 6 -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 75 SBD

See Part 1a here. See Part 5a here. The electric universe model is an attempt to connect many strands of knowledge. Its proponents claim it is more interdisciplinary than any previous cosmology. More than a decade ago, according to The Electric Universe by David Talbott and Wallace Thornhill, some plasma physicists began to develop an electrical model of galaxies, that fits with realworld physics. The electric universe model points to repeating electromagnetic patterns found throughout th...

#5 Electricity and C0nsilience Part 5 -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 74 SBD

See Part 1a here. See Part 4a here. ESAHubble. httpsen.wikipedia.orgwikiFileStarsinthesky.jpg Nobel prize winning astrophysicist, Hannes Alfvn, was a founder of modern plasma physics, contributing essential advancements in atmospheric magnetic phenomena and many other fields. His work is the foundation of many advanced science applications today, such as work at Los Alamos National Laboratory and NASA. Hannes Alfvn, by Hans Bethe. a httpsen.wikipedia.orgwikiListofCornellUniversityfacu...

#6 How diving changed my life part 6 -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 74 SBD

Settling in to being a e professional is normally pretty easy. Sure you will be nervous at the beginning because unlike other professions such as working in an office, a mistake on your part will normally not have the opportunity to kill someone. I think you would be hardpressed to find someone in the er profession that doesnt take this aspect of the job VERY seriously I know i certainly did. you can expect constant confirmation from your guide with the ok hand signal It is extrem...

#7 The Van de Graaff Generator -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 72 SBD

Have you ever visited a science museum? If so, you probably saw a metal ball that causes spectators hair to stand on end, or perhaps create small lightning shows. That is a Van de Graaff generator, a device invented in 1929 which generates electrostatic forces to create high voltage DC current. They are also commonly used as particle accelerators for physics research and nuclear medicine, to generate high energy particles and xray beams. Electrostatic equilibrium occurs in a conductiv...

#8 How I began my Yoga Journey -- by @haileyscomet with a current reward of 45 SBD

I would say yoga brought me to a hidden peace in times of turmoil. After months of a personal darkness and dealing with severe anxiety, depression and fear, I didnt think I could ever feel safe or comfortable in my skin again. I woke up every morning with a knot of fear and anxiety in my stomach. Most mornings I would cry when I first rose due to the terrible nightmares I experienced. I knew I couldnt carry on that way but I saw no escape route. My best friend encouraged me to start pract...

#9 Platos Cave Has Gone Digital The Origins of Modern Tribalism -- by @the-alien with a current reward of 41 SBD

We live in one of the most interesting eras in the history of mankind. An era where there are more scientists and engineers than all other centuries combined, an era where there are more options available than ever before and where change seems to be the only constant. One day you buy the newest electronic device out there, and then a few months later it has already become outdated. On one hand you could say that we live in an era that is easily defined by its rapid and accelerating tech...

#10 A Boy -- by @mickeybeaves with a current reward of 41 SBD

A rough version of a short story I just wrote about us. Its called A Boy A boy with a shovel quietly wanders towards the uncharted forest humming a cheerful melody. The forest had long been fantasized by the town dwellers as an area cursed with bears, coyotes, snakes, deadly spiders, hogs, and the works. Dark pagan rituals and barbaric ceremonies are also said to have been the norm in these parts and for these reasons it remained untouched by the established peoples of the town. As for th...

So? What is your opinion about these non-bot trending posts? Before I forget, do not miss out on checking my other top list of DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS to help minnows and promote good content! Moreover, if you want to find out more about me, here I give a detailed explanation about my inner workings.

Your Customized Top List

If you liked this top list, maybe you are also interested in the trending pages for different tags without bid bots and other cool custom adjustments to your feed. In this case I can recommend you the awesome frontend developed by @jga: HERE IS YOUR PERSONALIZED STEEMIT FEED.

You can Help and Contribute

By upvoting and resteeming this top list, you help covering the server costs and finance further development and improvements.

NEW: You may further show your support for me and all my daily truffle picks by following my curation trail on SteemAuto!

Delegate and Invest in the Bot

If you feel generous, you can delegate Steem Power to me and boost my daily upvotes on the truffle posts in my other top list. In return, I will provide you with a small compensation for your trust in me and your locked Steem Power. Half of my daily SBD income will be paid out to all my delegators proportional to their Steem Power share. Payouts will start 3 days after your delegation.

Click on one of the following links to delegate 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000, or even 5000 Steem Power. Thank You!

Cheers,

trufflepig

TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15