Open letter to the Steem community - A year on the blockchain.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone,

I am one year on Steemit! Well, I am on #steempeak these days, but hey, it is still the same chain.. Time has flown, a year has gone by and I would have never expected that it would have such a big influence on my life. I am even considering going to @steemfest.

tim mojak.jpg

It all started with me discovering crypto thanks to a friend of mine and that was a huge shock to my system. My mind was (and still is) blown by the endless possibilities and since I was spending quite a lot of time on social media for our hostel on wheels project it wandered straight into the direction of a social media app based on the blockchain. After a short search on the web I found out that there was already such a thing and it was called Steemit.

I didn't take me long to sign up and create my first post (which was kind of horrible if I think about it now). However, I dug deeper in the Steem ecosystem and found out quite a lot about it and decided to start writing more meaningful content. A couple of weeks later I got noticed by @geekgirl and she even wrote me an email asking if I wasn't impersonating someone else and if not, she would be able to help me start out on this platform. I had neve heard of the @curie project, but suddenly I got a substantial upvote and quite some genuine interaction on my post. I said to myself, this is it, this place is home.

And so, I stayed and started writing more content and trying to find out even more about how this platform works. After I while I spotted that most posts in the trending page got huge upvotes by people called buildawhale etc, which I found weird and since anything is open on this platform it wasn't hard to figure out that these accounts weren't actual people, but bots and you could pay those bots to get a part of their upvote. That's when I decided to invest some money into the system by writing content and upvoting these posts through some bots in the hope of finding a bigger audience and that worked quite well, I wrote a couple of posts and got more than a hundred comments on it. It even got my excited to create a special account that would try to highlight the kindness of humans @humankindness and delegated 500SP to it, because in my travels (which is something I do for a living) I have met countless people who are really kind and friendly. This account was going to be my way to give back to the community. I might have stop this side-project, because there is no interaction whatsoever going on it, sadly.

However, the moment I started using bots and smartsteem, upvotes from some curation trails stopped (and because of that it seems like I fell of the radar of a part of Steemit) and up till today I have no idea if this was the right strategy to invest, but that is what I did. In a way I feel sad about this, because all I wanted was to commit to this community and create meaningful content. Everyone is saying SMT's is going to change a lot and I really hope so, because if not, that might trigger me to pull away from this chain, because for now creating content on this platform is just to damn hard and not rewarding enough in terms of interaction and ease of finding the right community.

Anyway, at the moment it is what it is and it is time to move on. I still believe in the potential this chain has, so I am sticking around and getting involved in projects that I really like and deserve to grow (in my eyes sort of pre SMT's) and I keep talking to people on discord, where the real interaction is.

I really like the fact that you can support projects on the chain and in my humble opinion these are the most important ones at the moment. I have invested/delegated to each of them.

  1. @steemmonsters
    Impossible not to have heard of this one if your are at all serious about the Steem blockchain. I am quite invested in this card game and will write an elaborate post about it in the coming week. They are currently running a kickstarter and it has the potential to change the whole chain.
  2. @actifit
    I have become an ambassador for this app that pays you to be active, because that is something I really relate to in my daily life when I guide people on hikes or skitours. People need to be more active.
  3. @steemhunt
    I love discovering what creative minds come up with in this world and Steemhunt is such a good place to do that. Really impressed by them!
  4. @air-clinic
    A healthcare platform and social media that pays you money for living a healthy life. Their grand aim is to promote affordable and accessible Medicare worldwide. This is huge!
  5. @steem-ua
    Fairly new, but really promising! It is all about replacing the Current Steem Reputation Score System.

As a last thing I wanted to say is that Steem is a place where anyone can find their way, you just have to look around and see what you relate to the most.

Cheers everyone!

Thanks for being around, dear Steem!


FAVORITE STEEM INTERFACE

steempeak.jpg


!!!FREE STUFF!!!

Get an account on PRESEARCH, start earning PRE coins while searching the web!
I am now at 231 PRE (21$ at current rates) in less than six weeks for doing the research what I would normally do anyway on the web. The only important thing is that you need to stick with this till your reach 1000 PRE if you want to withdraw it and convert it to another currency.

Sort:  

You're an asset to the chain, mate. I look forward to besting you on the field.

Thanks :) Haha, I am getting ready! I won't be easy, I can guarantee you that much. I usually need a bit of time to figure something out (faster than average I would say) and when I get there I get good fast!!

I already have a strategy and team I want to try, but I have to wait a few more weeks.
I'd ask Yaba to run it as a demo but I don't want to give it away ;)

Ha, I thought you would. You think it's unbeatable?

Everything's beatable. We'll just say it's strong ;)

Gosh I have the same exact thoughts. Some of the posts that I make that I think are exceptional that take me 2 hours to write I'll buy a bot to up vote it to maybe get it close to a hot or trending page but people are spending $400 a post to up vote it and it's impossible to get on the trending. About 8 months ago I made it on the trending page when a random whale swam by with a group of people and I made it. Gosh that was a good feeling, spending so long writing that post and having a ton of people appreciate it. But now even the new accounts of people that have 10sp will sell their votes to smart steem for like 0.5 steem a month when they could just vote their selves and help their other plankton friends out. I really hope to see SMTs help... I think it will but we will never know. Whales should be as dedicated to this platform than anyone else, finding exceptional curators and up voting their posts, not selling them. But what ya gunna do. I just want to find active people that are actively posting that I can develop a relationship with. If I can influence these people to stay active and keep posting maybe we could start steering away from that stuff. I'm not saying stop selling your votes, but if you think someone's product is good, give it a solid up vote. Sorry I'm ranting now! Hahaha

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the honest reply. I sometimes also feel like ranting! And when it is out, it is good to focus on the positive things. Like the projects I mention and the upcoming SMT's. I am sure we'll be able to create a community that appreciates one and another. The good thing about smartsteem is that you can still use your SP to vote whenever you feel like it, instead of just delegating it to bots, it does make you lazy.. But such a busy life and now there is also steemmonsters.. Followed you :)

We are in the same boat mate! Good explanation. Followed you!

Nice one bro! Keep it up! I just passed my 6 months mark not long back :) sky is the limit my man.

Thanks for listing some good additional way to potentially earn! I use presearch, but actifit sounds awesome, I’m going to have to check that out now for sure! Peace :)

You have received a Steemmonsters upvote! This post has been upvoted by Steemmonsters Discord member, toocurious.

Please find out more about Steemmonsters: https://steemmonsters.com/

Looking forward for my anniversary as well!

Hi @toocurious!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.926 which ranks you at #3803 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 3801).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 450 contributions, your post is ranked at #53.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Your post has been hand-picked by an Actifit moderator for additional reward, as having great content and Actifit promotional-quality aspect.
Well done, you've been accordingly rewarded 200 Actifit tokens, as well as a higher upvote!
rulersig2.jpg
Actifit..Rewarding Fitness Activity
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Congratulations @toocurious! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99