Please remember to flag (down-vote) all spam posts and comments folks.

in #steemit6 years ago

Hello my fellow Steemit peeps, and good day to you.

Today, my article is going to be about doing the right thing, even if you don't want to waste precious Steem power doing it, but for the sake of the community as whole... you definitely should.

What am I babbling about you ask?

Spam!

It's everywhere on Steemit, including made up price prediction posts, that have little to know substance, but are just pushed out all day, and the bots and spammers up-vote them to the Moon, which only enables even more spam on the platform.

In your comment section, I know you see it, because I see it everyday, comments like these:

Simply tap or click here to enlarge the image above.

As you can plainly see, all of these comments are obvious shit, and deserve to be down-voted, and the reason why they do this, and even make money, is because of auto-vote bots, which in my opinion are a disease to this platform.

There are so many auto-vote bots, that the chances of spam posters running into them is extremely high, so they do this shit all day everyday!

Oh, and now with known big-time scammers like Trevon James and Craig Grant seeking refuge here on Steemit, now that their beloved BitConnect is no more, they are bringing armies of spammers and beggars with them, so expect this situation to get even worse if we don't actively do something about it.

So please, flag (down-vote) as much of the spam on here as you possibly can... before the entire platform is overrun by it.

Sort:  

Comments just for upvotes wastes valuable space. Space costs money. The top space is a chance for exposure of those who have something interesting so say.

Indeed they do, and I'm about sick to death of all these fucking spam riddled comments and posts... we must do something about it!

There's too many good posts out there. People who are trying really hard but their posts are pushed down by these spams.
I remember uploading Picture with no description from steepshot and I had one of those "nice read" comments

Yep, they are everywhere, and you are so right about good content being pushed out of the way, but sadly... that is the way Steemit is designed. The rich get richer, and the poor must get lucky!

One way to make money now is to invest in this platform

That is true, and I put my spare change it when I can.

The account v2ex3 spams, I notice the account seems to copy random comments and images from Telegram chat. https://steemit.com/blockchian/@v2ex3/is-that-all-i-have-to-do-in-case-of-register-my-tokens-for-june-and-for-the-iq-airdrop

Is he a damn spammer?

Well, he copies and spams random Telegram posts so quite possibly. 😅 How do I know this? He posted the exact same question I posted on EOS Telegram chat along with an image from another. Here He didn't add to it or make any changes. A quick scan of the account shows a bunch of similar looking posts with the eos tag. It could also be that he is simply posting to keep a log of notes on things he is interested in or would like more info on but isn't communicating it so well.

To me, this falls into the realms of using the platform as intended not because the platform allows it and on that note I'm upvoting my own post for more visability not the $0.03 reward.

Interesting, and keep an eye on em.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76