Making a Difference for Young Girls and Women in Rural Uganda

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello my fellow Steemians,

In 2011, I met a young Ugandan woman named Beatrice via a World Pulse engagement (Women's organization). I was quite overwhelmed with her presence, speaking abilities and now more aware of what she has done over the last 6 years. She looks over 26 children and has recently adopted an abandoned 2 day old infant whose mother passed. Beatrice's story in and of itself is worth telling and I will share more with you as I get to know more when I visit her later this month.

She's not the focus though, it's her work that I'm focusing my efforts on by funding and personally delivering a public address system for her organization. She often speaks in rural areas where there may be 300 people in attendance. Though Beatrice has just received support from the US Embassy in Kampala, there are still many needs to be met. Her organization is different as it isn't focused on handouts per se, rather they look to educate and empower these young women and girls to help liberate them from a life of servitude.

I'm looking for your support in my project benefiting the PCE Foundation (Pearl Community Empowerment Foundation) which is based near Kampala, Uganda whether through your votes here on Steemit or directly through the donation site: www.youcaring.com/PAsystem_PCEfoundation
(get more detail on how this will be used below)

mipro3.jpg

Electricity will be sparse as will be any Internet connections. Regardless, I intend to spread the message of STEEMIT to those that I meet who are in a position to contribute.

So far, I have secured my flights, travel insurance and I've just gotten my Yellow Fever Immunization today... so far not feeling any adverse affects besides in my wallet - ($250 for those that are curious what it can cost in the US). As you might imagine, this is not a vacation, though it will be mind broadening without a doubt even though I've traveled to roughly 25 countries. Still need to get an e-visa.

I will use all of the proceeds from this post to fund my efforts above and beyond the PA System. So your vote, will be translated into making a difference to those I encounter on this journey.

  • If you wish to fund the PA System, please do so directly - funds go directly to me and I will purchase the system & carry it.

  • Any shares on social media of the campaign are greatly appreciated.

  • To date there have been 48 shares on FB and we've raised $497 of the $1299 needed to purchase the PA system.

I plan to do some photography and documentary style videos while in the field there. I plan to share this here on Steemit if it looks like everyone might be interested. I'll be visiting Kampala & Tororo (if anyone happens to live there who uses Steemit just let me know).

If you'd like to see Beatrice speaking at a TEDx event in 2015:

If anyone has experience and tips for me regarding travel and life in Uganda please feel free to offer below in the comments.

Share and Resteem - thank you in advance Steemians!
Conrad

Sort:  

The fundraiser was successful and I'll be heading out to volunteer in a few weeks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89