This is my serious face (aka I just bought my first crypto--and it was Steem!)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I have a confession to make. A couple days ago I made a decision. I was standing in the shower, water pouring down my face and I thought to myself, "Are you serious?" Then I thought to myself, "Where the hell's my slider?"


are_we_serious.jpg
image source

I've written thousands of words into the Steemit posting window, made friendships that I really value, become part of something that I consider to be very special. What am I doing?

So I thought some more, and eventually I got out of the shower. And I made a mental list of the things about Steemit that I have personally grown to love. Now I'm not saying these things are the be all and end all, but these are things that mean a lot to me:

  • The first one is personal: writing. Steemit helped me rediscover the joy I used to feel for writing. I cannot thank the community enough for that. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.
  • MSP: The support of the Minnow Support Project has been amazing. I don't know what else to say, but through the hard work of this team and the support networks they have built, I was eventually able to find the Fiction Workshop in Discord (https://discord.gg/t7Yz679) MSP is supporting thousands of members of the community, it's a huge effort. I love you guys.
  • The Fiction Workshop (https://discord.gg/t7Yz679 -- and yes I did just give you the link twice...see what I did there?) What can I say about you? What a team. I am humbled and grateful and learning so much. I don't think the rest of Steemit really understands what we have here with the Fiction Workshop. The level of talent and editing ability in the group is staggering. If you want to improve your writing, come and hang out. I swear just lurking makes me a better writer. It's also a place I feel I can give something back to the community by helping other writers.
  • #teamaustralia: You know who you are. A ragtag troupe of crazies, but I love every one of them. They've supported me so much with my posting and with their strong community. This is really a template for how good Steemit can be.

Which brings me back to my confession and my thoughts about being serious. Because if I am serious about being here and doing more, if I'm here for the long-haul and ready to help build the community, then it's time to pony up. So today I made my first ever crypto investment. I bought some Bitcoin, but I bought it for a specific reason: to buy Steem.


pIb0lU.png

So yeah, on my first ever crypto investment, I purchased Steem. Because I believe in what we are doing here, and I hope you do and will continue to do so too.

It's not a huge investment, but it's my first foray, and I'm doing it here on Steem. I feel pretty good about it, actually. Hopefully I can contribute a little more to our fiction community with my voting, and I'll have a bit more there to delegate than before as well, which I hope will make a difference.

So thank you Steemit community. It has been fun so far, but it's not over yet. Let's keep raising the bar, and pushing for quality posts.

Um, yeah. So, it also turns out I only needed about $20 extra to get my slider... 😅

Sort:  

Watch out zombie, Bitcoin is the gateway coin. The next thing you know you'll be buying ICO tokens.

starts researching Choo-coin ICOs

I feel your pain I'm in so many ICOs now it's crazy.

You ROCK, @thinknzombie. :-) You've become integral to the Workshop very quickly, because YOU bring much of that "talent and editing ability" yourself.

Totally adorbs. Thanks for sharing with us. Have a vote.

I applaud your decision. Enjoy your new found power.

lol "With great power comes great responsibility" ...so I can continue to be pretty irresponsible.

Love your excitement!!
I not a blogger nor a writer ( unless you count the fan fictions back in the day ...lol) but I will try my had at some hopeful useful content. I like that Steemit , is encouraging people to write ...but what i LOVE is that Steemit is encouraging people to READ ! We have become a "people of skimmers" and headline readers ..... We need to slow down and read ! Best to you

Awesome!!! I resonate with you. I love to write. I have been investing in LTC which is very affordable for me and plan on converting my profits there back to STEEM as well. I love the environment here and feel like I can express creative freedom and not be judged. It really is an amazing place!!! Nice to meet you kindred!!!

It really is a great environment. I've felt super supported. I wouldn't have had the courage to put my writing out there if not for this community.

I was also going to add that there are way more respectful boundaries here. it's nice. Whereas, on FB people seem to think they can say or do anything they want.....I think that entire algorithm is designed to make people do that to each other (control based). This one is more like a hippie commune ;)

haha I love the environment here. It is quite supportive. Not sure about the hippie commune aspects, but the thing is, if peeps want to be in hippie communes then we're good with that here. And that's what I like. No judging. Be respectful. We all get along. FB has never been and will never be like that. No one is making anything or creating anything there except FB themselves.

I think it's because the focus is different. On FB the posters are the product. Content is a distraction--beer and circuses to keep the masses engaged while FB makes profit. On Steemit, Steem and Steem power is the product and we are the content creators and curators. It makes a big difference IMHO.

I totally agree with you!!! Life is so peaceful since ridding it of the distractions....I gave my TV away and lifes never been better ;)

Same here! I have shared a few posts on wastebook and you can almost here the crickets chirping......the general pop just doesn't get it......seems like I have a soul tribe here @thinknzombie ;)

Quite a lot of Steem you got there! Good for you!

I love the expression of the dog! A look of disdain and decision time! And I'm glad you're excited about writing again! That's just awesome!

The dog is the real reason for the post. Love that dog. Once I saw him, I couldn't not use it.

Damn cool looking dog!!

Congrats. I can look forward to upvotes when I manage to write something then. ;-)

Speaking of quality

There are so many levels of Steemit, and I love that there are multiple ways to invest here!

I feel complete now I have a slider. It's sad, but true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86