Am I Just Kicking Up Dust?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago


Source

If you follow @abh12345's Engagement League, you know that on any given week, I could be one of the more active people on Steemit. I don't have as big a vote as some, but I still like to drop upvotes on people. Most of the time I leave votes on people's posts. Then I know it will get paid out because others will come along and vote for it as well. However, are my votes on comments counting?

I know there was talk in the preparation for HF20 about how they were going to lower the VESTS given per vote by a set amount, say if an account with the base 15 SP could give a vote worth 5 VESTS, then the amount per vote would be lowered by 5 VESTS. This would effectively mean there couldn't be spam farms that could just use the Steemit account faucet.

It's difficult to tell what's actually happening though. I didn't see a post that outlined all the changes that actually went live in the new hardfork. And it's not like I can see if my vote is $0.01 or $0.0099. I'm not even sure how to see how many vest a specific vote is worth.

So are people actually getting value from my vote now, or am I still just kicking up dust?



Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

I'm not sure if this is going to be helpful or not, @themanwithnoname, but in the event this actually does reflect the Vests drop (seems like it was 1.5% or 1.5 SP or something 1.5), steemworld will show what your vote is worth up to five decimal points.

If you go to settings, view, you'll see the area for changing the decimals.

Screen Shot 2018-10-08 at 1.50.42 PM.png

Then, this is what it looks like when you look at your outgoing votes.

Screen Shot 2018-10-08 at 1.51.12 PM.png

As I said, I don't know if those numbers are reflecting the change in the upvote or not, but I'm assuming these are coming straight off a node somewhere, which would reflect the actual reward value.

Hope that's helpful, even if I'm unsure about the vote drop.

Nice tip on the settings in Steemworld :)

I think 0.02 or more is good to go, the votes displayed above are 'easily' registering.

Well, obviously, it's easier to leave those amounts when you have the SP, which in my case, is upper-minnow level now. Also, it helps, when the reward pool, or RCs, or something helps the amounts increase even when the price of STEEM is doing it's light bouncing while still being under $1.

I ran into that setting a while ago. It may be new. @steemchiller has got to be the hardest working non-paid dev (along with @neander-squirrel) for third party apps that are not only useful, but intuitive and well made. He just keeps adding stuff.

I've been wondering about all of these dust votes, and since they show up elsewhere as $0.00 I figured there had to be something more than a zero at a longer decimal, and I found it. Plus, since there's the tendency to round numbers up, I can see if it's genuinely $0.03 I'm allocating, or more like $0.026 or something.

I ran into that setting a while ago. It may be new. @steemchiller has got to be the hardest working non-paid dev (along with @neander-squirrel) for third party apps that are not only useful, but intuitive and well made. He just keeps adding stuff.

Agreed. Their updates should be supported heavily when they appear.

Nice! That helps a lot. I can actually see what my vote is worth now. I feel so sorry for most of the people to whom I give votes! Ha ha.

There were 2 dust thresholds before the fork:

  1. Dust Votes
    If a vote did not contribute a minimum amount of rshares to the rewards it would not be accepted into the blockchain - no vote would actually be cast and the user received an error message. This has been essentially removed with HF20
  2. Dust Rewards
    These did not change at all with HF20. If any piece of content doesn't earn total rewards of at least 0.020 SBD it will lose all it's rewards when payday comes - 0.00 will be paid out. Due to rounding in 2-decimal interfaces like on steemit 0.015 will actually be displayed as 0.02 but it still won't generate any payout.

All that being said, I am currently working on a bot that tries to solve these woes. I'll add you to @dustbunny's watchlist and it will try to make sure all your outgoing votes and incoming rewards receive some dust-proofing.

It's running in it's first iteration right now and I can't guarantee it'll last forever. But something has to be done about all this dust that falls through the cracks between the blocks on this chain ;)

I'm not sure how small an account would have to be for their vote not to count at all. Maybe one of the accounts that is getting created with only 3 SP. I would hope that the newer Steemit users who got their accounts from Steemit would still have their 15 SP delegation and be able to have their votes count.

Good to know the reward threshold stayed. I thought it was gone. Thanks for clarifying.

Yeah, I'd love to try out DustBunny! I've been using Dustsweeper, but I'm open to more ideas that help protect payouts. I don't like my VP or others' VP going to waste. Even if it doesn't last forever, it will still be fun to try!

I don't have anything else to add, especially after seeing Glen's message, but what I can tell you is that your last vote on my most recent post, at 100% was .01 cents. So thank you :)

I followed Glen's advice and moved the decimal place out to 4 places. It looks like I'm giving the good stuff now! Ha ha.
image.png

haha look at you go!!!

Ha ha ha. Woot, woot!

I've been trying to power up as much as I can. I'm avoiding contests and raffles. I have a big part delegated out, so I'm trying to power up more to give bigger boosts to those who follow me. It's starting to pick up now.

I have the same question, i think sometimes that upvotes are only for whales and dolphins. I am a little shit in this social network and i believe that my votes do not count even a 0.00000000001 SBD

Votes are for everyone. It's not limited to the big accounts, even though it feels like that sometimes. If the old HF19 system is still in affect, then you have to get a payout above $0.025 to actually get the payout. Otherwise, it's rounded down to $0 as "dust." The change was supposed to make all votes a little smaller, but to allow payouts of everything.

Once you get 1 SBD, you can send it to @dustsweeper and they'll come through before payout and upvote comments that you haven't self-voted and get those comments above the dust threshold. I think the limit is two comments per day. Check it out if you haven't seen the program. It has been very helpful.

Hi @themanwithnoname!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.757 which ranks you at #4672 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 22 places in the last three days (old rank 4650).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 285 contributions, your post is ranked at #86.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by themanwithnoname from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27