Problem? Thumbnails not showing.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

When I "Submit a Story" with some text and an image, I am taken to the "New Posts" screen, but the thumbnail of my image is NOT showing to the left of the summary. The same is true if I click on my UserIcon and then "Blog."

Am I doing something wrong? Or can you folks see the thumbnail image?

zzzzz-thumbnail.jpg

Edited to add: And, of course, on this post, the thumbnail showed after I posted it. But the thumbnails are still not showing on my previous posts, as I reported. :(

Sort:  

thanks for this post, I am preparing my introduction post and the information on the image names is pure gold. What I learned was not to use special characters in the image names. Thanks I had a lot of underscores _ in my file names and would have been stuck, you rock!

I am so glad that this post helped someone else, too! Awesome!

For the previous and your two first posts, I see no picture.
I had the same problem, had to click an include preview flag when exporting the picture.

I will look for that and try it! Thank you! :)

What kind of files do you use for images? jpg, png,... & what resolution/size?
I use jpg but all rescaled to maximum 1000px width... never had a problem...

When I edit my images, I scale them to 1600 x 900 pixels, and save them as JPG files. I also tried uploading them THREE different ways — click-to-upload, drag-and-drop, and insert image from the HTML editor. I've also tried with text above the pic, no text above the pic, but it's always the same. Perhaps I need to scale the pics down more, that's a thought. Thanks!

I'm having same problem with a couple of my posts... drag and dropped the JPEG images and they didn't show up as thumbnails... blog shows blank thumbnails like yours. :(

One person suggested I make my photos smaller. The last photo I posted was only 800 pixels wide, and it DID display a thumbnail. I plan to try that again with the next photo I post, and perhaps you could try that, too!

I just now finally figure what my problem was and fixed it... before uploading images (dragging and dropping them in), I made sure there were no parenthesis, spaces, brackets or any other wierd characters in the file names. So I replaced all spaces and parenthesis with underscores (like this "_") and then re-added them, then poof, all my thumbnails showed up finally! :D

When I first tried to fix it, I reduced my image sizes to 800x480 or so... but that didn't actually seem to be the difference. It was the file names that actually caused it for me.

THANK YOU SO MUCH! You have just become my new favorite person on Steemit! LOL! I just changed my filenames, too, and it seemed to have worked! Now ALL of my posts have thumbnails! I so appreciate your sharing what you did to fix the problem! 😊

__kYes.jpg

So glad your problem is fixed too @thekittygirl, time to celebrate!!! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65839.11
ETH 2661.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88