Upgoater will be closing shop as a bidbot

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Winds of change

There has been a seachange in the general feelings on bidbots over the last few weeks, especially with the recent debacle that is @zeartul, @bellyrub, and the case of the sold-no-not-sold accounts.

There have been many posts about how vote selling is hurting the platform and a few that are in favor of it. But it's pretty obvious that the bots are getting to be less welcome than in the past.

Upgoater is a small bidbot, and was built with the idea of helping some of the smaller accounts get a bit of return on their posts. I have, I believe, the lowest set minimum bid of any of the bots. The delegation I have received has come from my own pocket, and was leased through Minnowbooster and Blocktrades. I do not have exact numbers, but I believe my profit to be about 100 SBD in liquid and whatever the account has in vested SP as curation rewards.

While that is not an argument neither for nor against bidbots, I thought it would be nice to share a little of what goes on with these.

So what's the plan?

I have approx 21 days left in this delegation cycle, and when that delegation ends, I will be abandoning this account.

So, a thank you to all of you that used @upgoater over the last 3 months, but it is time for some changes. While I can't claim that this took too much time, it will be nice to focus on other projects without the slight distraction.

If I do take it down early, it will be for manual curation purposes. I will be running the software on bounce mode, which means that bids sent in will be auto-returned as soon as they hit the wallet. I will leave that running for a while, but I can't promise how long that will remain running as I doubt I'll check it too often.


I have closed the Discord which was only used for issues of non votes, but I kept up with the returns well enough that I doubt it will be missed.

Sort:  

Torico and I were talking about the bidbots on her posts and we came to the idea of having a cap on the bidbots so that no one could get too much from them.
Well, do what you feel that you need to do.

That works well for those that can run their bot with their own SP. It would have definitely killed off Upgoater much quicker if that was the norm.

The basic problem with vote bots on a SOCIAL site, is they are not social.
They are more AI, and I guess we could have writing bots, curation bots, and everything else bots as well, that way we can all go to the beach.
But does that make a "social" site?
So thank you for 'closing' the bot, I think it is a good direction for steem as a platform

It's a sad day. I'll pull you from the list at https://SteemThat.com. Very helpful to so many minnows. What is killing the platform is whales and dolphins publishing pixabay images and upvoting 10 of them a day on fake accounts. Very hard to find and spot.

Seems to me we are entering a new era on Steemit... delegations to human curators appears to be where it's at now.

Of all the bots though... I'll miss the goat pictures...

I agree. I want a goat on every one of my posts. dont care about money just give me the goat.

I already reported it twice to you: I sent you 0.75, and got no vote.
Reporting was not answered either. I want my 0.75 back.

Haha

Which post was that on? I see there was a transfer back to you on one of them.

Refunded. Perhaps you should have used the discord like was stated in just about every post if the refund didn't happen.

I discovered that it was 0.08 and not 0.075, and this makes the no vote even more dubious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87