Current Pitch for Steemit on Other Social Media

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

While I encourage folks to write their own pitches to get their friends to try out Steemit, I am sharing mine to get suggestions on making my pitch better!

You will occasionally hear me talk about Steemit, and I FREQUENTLY repost the articles I write over there here on FB.

I started writing over there last August. Currently, I have $5800 in my account. Half was made from WRITING.

At least half of that is a return on investment. I sold my WOW account last year and was trading cryptocoins, but put it into Steem when my writing matched the total.

So $400 became $2900, and I made $2900 from writing.

Not bad.

Steem is a little complicated; upvotes (facebook "likes") become payouts in 3 types of cryptocurrency, two of which are tradable for bitcoin, and then to cash...and the last type is a reinvestment into the system that can only be pulled out (in the form of the other currencies) in a 2 year series of installments.

If I were to "cash in" right now, AND IF the price remained stable, I would make $55 a week for the next two years.{see edit]. I am going to continue to build stake instead.
[I have been corrected; the withdrawal process is known as "powering down", and occurs over 13 weeks, not 104 weeks]

The reinvestment gives you a say in how other people on Steemi are rewarded for their work

For example, right now, my "like" (upvote) is worth 7 cents. (yes, I can vote on my own submissions, but only once).

I have made $130 from one post, and as little as a penny on others. I average about $1.50. And I currently have $20 coming my way.

First caveat is that your balance is not "liquid"; as explained above, a big chunk can only be withdrawn in installments

The second "buyer beware" is that the price of the currencies is based on market demand. It seems to match bitcoin fairly well (the price increased recently with the jump in bitcoin value). So the value of your account can go up or down

I encourage everybody to try this out, especially if you create art or write fiction

you can check it out at
https://steemit.com

or you can see all my posts at
https://steemit.com/@stevescoins

st1.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84