Why does Steemit have such an outdated Web Interface?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

View the original post on Musing.io

You know, I've been thinking the same thing.

UI Isn't Everything, But It's a Crucial Customer-Facing Component

I'm glad Steemit is still being developed. I won't pretend to fully comprehend ALL of the technical details regarding the recent hard fork, but dApps will only survive with active development teams.

Steemit's user-interface doesn't necessarily bother me, but I'm 30 years old and have essentially been working in tech since I was 16. The first website I ever navigated to, pretty sure it was with the Netscape browser, was StarWars.com in 1997.

Looks like a web project that an elementary/middle school student would do today.

If Steemit wants Wider Adoption, it Needs to be Pretty

Take a look at Scorum, a brand new blockchain-based blogging platform focused on sports & gambling content.

It's still a rather simple interface, but it also looks elegant.

IMO, Steemit would absolutely benefit from a UI facelift :)

What about everyone else? Does the Steemit UI matter to you? Do you think it matters to people who are new to decentralized blockchain-based blogging apps? Let me know, and thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Yup. From my research for my "Blockchain Social Media News" series, it appears that the sheer NUMBER of new blockchain-based social media platforms will provide the free-market competition necessary to drive the development of UI and other features. I think that the strong point of Steemit lies in the "first mover" advantage, and talent/experience of the founders, and the community here, which I believe is strong enough to stick it out until all of the rough edges are ironed out through healthy competetion, and dedication by us serious members. I am in Steemit for the long haul - whatever may come of it. I have ALREADY gotten GREAT VALUE out of this platform, so everything else is just bonus...

UI is absolutely important, but I don’t necessarily have high hopes for Steemit... but that’s not a bad thing!
The way I see it, Steemit Inc. runs Steemit.com and are the core force behind Steem blockchain development. I feel they’ve made it evident their focus is on developing the blockchain and fostering an environment for businesses and entrepreneurs.
Steemit.com may go down in history as the site that was built purely as a proof of concept to get the network going. Perhaps in the future, it’ll receive some serious development attention, but in the near to intermediate term, I think Steemit Inc. is happy to encourage other web developers to take the lead and take the spotlight off Steemit.
Busy, Steepshot, Steempeak, and many more are all arguably better interfaces already. Bescouted.com is a great looking site that integrated Steem into its backend. Any site in the world can cut & paste some code from FinallyComments and become a Steem based site.
Steemit is just the tip of a very big Steem iceberg, that looks a lot more impressive below the waterline!

UI is certainly important but personally, I prefer a clean and simple UI. Then again, I'm an old geezer too. The good new is that there are already a variety of alternative steem interfaces and no doubt there will be more to come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91