Posting On Steemit is Like Fishing - My Thoughts on it Anyway

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I started this post a long time ago...

Like mid August long time ago...

Back in the heady days of Steemit posts paying out Thousands or even 10's of thousands of dollars!!! Seriously, some really crappy posts were getting huge paydays and other well written posts, interesting topics, with own photos or correctly quoted image would get 85c... AND that got me wondering WHY IS THIS SO

Well, fast forward a couple of months...

The STEEM price is down from well over $2 to 10c, the highest paying posts are now lucky to get a couple of hundred
and even a good post is luck to make $10...

AND No more SBD ( STEEM Backed Dollars )

But on the flip side the number of STEEM received has not fallen so much. If you received $100 reward when STEEM was $2 = 50 STEEM and Now if you get $10 at $0.10 you get 100 STEEM... so get posting its time to POWERUP...

Anyway back to the fishing analogy.

I see Fishing and Steemit have many similarities...

(https://imgflip.com/i/1dluok
via Imgflip Meme Generator
.. with fishing you can have all the gear , the best bait and still catch nothing...( maybe a few minnows) or you can turn up on the dock with a stick with a string and a piece of stale bread and catch a whopper ( maybe even a whale).

With fishing you increase you chances of sucess with the right gear , bait , knowledge ( from study and mentors), timing and Patience ...

... with Steemit.. to increase your chance of sucess;

  1. you need to be able to write ( this is our gear)
  2. find a topic that interests you and your audience ( The Bait)
  3. build a community of followers and mentors (knowledge)
  4. when to post ( timing)
    and
  5. Patience ( and persistence)

None of this guarantees sucess but we are incentivized to keep trying...

So Try we must.

Believe me when I say I am not much of a writer , I lack confidence in my writing ability as even though I am a native English (Australian) speaker I really struggled at school with grammar etc , I am easily distracted ( oh look a butterfly), I struggle with time to balance family , work and social commitments BUT I believe that Steemit can change lives and will help us improve ourselves and our community.

I have met so many interesting people here on Steemit, every day I am inspired by someones post ( or more)

I would love to have been able to get to Steemfest but alas family / work commitments and a 24 hour flight have made this an impossible dream...I look forward to seeing everyone attending posts though.

https://twitter.com/steve_somers

Please Follow Me on Steemit

Sort:  

Valued and resteemed. The first read here on a sunday morning in Nederland, aka The Netherlands.

It also pointed out to me that things to post do not have to be done instantly. And that good things take time.

I enjoyed reading it, thanks.

Good simile.

Fishing for the Muskellunge comes to mind.

They call it "the fish of a thousand casts."

I think it will get better again.... in time......

More than tree months for post. But it's good one. Better 4 per day and garbage.

I started it as a txt doc and kind of lost track of it..but found it last night looking for something else...added the meme and my comments from my reflections on the current situation and whats changed between then and now..I wonder what the STEEM Ecosystem will look like in another 3 months.

Well said and I agree it is abit like fishing upvoted and good luck power on.

I concur! I remember in late Sept people were getting money just from introducing themselves and writing blurbs. I thought that was perfect for me and I would be rich. Now I'm seeing good writing go with zero, lucky to see a could cents. It's kind of discouraging but on the upside there a lot of people still very optimistic. That's one of the reasons why I continue, I don't want to miss the money bus just in case it does show up. There's all this talk about it still being in beta etc, etc... Let's see if when it in full stream it goes full steem.

I'm a new fish and would like to ask what's a steemfest?

The first STEEMfest is happening in Amsterdam next week... https://steemit.com/@steemfest

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58976.49
ETH 2502.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48