You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Self-voting user list since HF19 - PART 3 (potential comment abuse)

in #steemit7 years ago

Interesting read @calamus - It certainly seems like a problem which can only get worse. I'm only 4 weeks in here, but I get the sense that more than many here are motivated by their own selfish greed and by absolutely nothing else whatsoever. In some ways, I understand this - we've all go to put food on the table, and some, sooner than later.

BUT (a minnow's cloudy uninformed perspective)

As steemit grows, as I'm sure was the original intention (for one reason or another), and unscrupulous 'investors' get wise to the easy pickings of self-voting and delegate blue whale SP to themselves solely for the purpose of paying themselves, what's to stop the plug being pulled as steem tanks and we're all left powering down to nothing with no reward when the big cash-out happens?

The so-called investors will meanwhile be laughing while us suckers are stuck with $ tied up in SP. Sure, the 'investors' will have SP too, but will have considered that a write-off anyway before their 'venture' began.

Abuse of the 'system' will always be rife if there are loopholes to exploit and this seems like a huge one, a hoop so big, giant mammals can jump through, but not for minnows who can't get out of the water how ever hard they try.

DISCLAIMER - I'm sure all of this has been considered a million times, and I may not be seeing things correctly, objectively, or with any real insight. Maybe my maths is askew, I don't know. But my minnowy sonar senses can't help but wonder what that disturbance in the water is all about. Are many here about to get Moby Dicked?

p.s I love steemit for its creative and entertainment value nonetheless but don't want to be the target of vitriol from any friends I bring on to the platform. Makes me think - what to do now?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87