Fun Night Teaching Newcomers about Bitcoin, Steemit and other cryptos here in Victoria, BC CanadasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago

So we had 2 classes tonight that my husband taught tonight here in Victoria at the meetup. The first class was "Introduction to Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency" and the other was "Advanced intro to Bitcoin and CryptoCurrency" - There were 7 people in the first class and 8 people in the second. I will post pictures as soon as my husband sends them to me. We held the class in a location where there was a bitcoin ATM --- but we ran into difficulty because the cost for each transaction was $30 and the machine required that much just to deposit some and then the machine also had difficulty reading the qlr code for the class members wallet. We talked to the guy who owns and operates the machine and got it sorted out -- and he will be coming to one of our future classes.

I was there to talk about my experience with Steemit and make myself available to anybody who wanted to learn more. Since it takes a couple of weeks for newcomers to get a new account we will see if anybody who was at the class follows through on it. I think one or two of them will.

I realized tonight that I know a lot more about the world of cryptocurrency than most people in this part of the world. It's easy to lose sight of that when you spend most of your time exclusively talking with or hanging out in the Steem world.

The Social Meetup is to take place on Tuesday night. 49 people have RSVPd to attend that event so far. So I am looking forward to that event.speuth.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you very much for sharing this post because you did not just share this post.This post has written a nice way to make sure that you have a lot of benefits to get it back and thank you for the news.

Was it a Honeybadger machine? I just figured one out the other day. Except that I used Litecoin, which was a PAIN in the derriere because as it turned out the machine is using the new Segwit Litecoin addresses, which neither of the 2 Litecoin Wallets that I tried to use would recognize as a valid address. I made 2 different half hour trips to the closest machine. The company could not help me much. I finally figured out a way to make use of a website that converts the Segwit address to a normal address, and copied and pasted that new address into my phone app -- sent it -- and FINALLY had my cash from the machine -- but this was my 3rd time driving out to the machine before I encountered success.

It was a HUGE headache. But I didn't want to use Bitcoin for the reasons that you outlined above, plus thinking that it might take hours for the Bitcoin to arrived at the machine.

... so anyways ... I enjoyed reading your tale. I have thought about offering classes like that myself at some point. I probably will end up doing it for a few friends at least.

The same thing happened to me on a honey badger, it didn't have the L on the front. I use JAXX wallet which let me switch it from Litecoin to Bitcoin inside the wallet.
The whole process took two hours though.

When you say that it takes two weeks to set up an account, do you mean the time from applying to having an account?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15