You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Screw Malicious Flagging: 1 Flag Vs 130+ Votes

in #steemit6 years ago

Flagged because whatever the merits of your complaint, whining about how people vote their stake does not itself add value nor belong on the top of trending. Consider using the decline rewards option if you want have such a discussion without attracting flags.

Sort:  

How Altruistic of you to come up in here and trim the rewards... [/sarc]

  1. Do you even know muh boy Max?
  2. Did you even read the post where it was Maliciously Flagged? (and it indeed was...)
  3. Fine way to introduce yourself (not!)

...but anyway, I'm @underground, dedicated STEEMER since mid-May 2017 (yeah, still a newb) but I believe in the platform as much as anyone with my "stake", maybe more. I have a good little bit of vested interest in Max here, I selected him to be my protégé in @taskmaster4450's 1kSP program. If this post is not flagged to oblivion, (plenty of time remaining for that) Max will have eclipsed my own reputation, and rather quickly! I'm proud of him for that. He is a hard worker, dedicated and cares a lot for his followers. I think his posts geared towards minnows are some of the best I have seen on this platform, because they are written by a minnow for minnows! He is an experienced blogger... and you do not know if you are taking food off his table by flagging this post. One Flag makes a point, 2 demonstrates ill will... I can tell you that you are not hurting his physical well being by doing it but I'm pretty sure you did not know before 2 flags were thrown. I flag sparingly, and most times a small one is sufficient. 1 here would have sent your message, the second was punitive, IMO. You have not only took a great big "whale dump" right on Max's head, you have effective 'shat upon' a large, Engaged portion of the entire community.
That's all I got to say about that... [/gump]

Final Point, yes, I have seen delicate subject matter use "decline rewards" to great effect. Does such an action insulate the author from loss of reputation if flags are cast anyway? tia for return commentary.

Does [decline rewards] insulate the author from loss of reputation if flags are cast anyway?

No, but it is one less reason for flagging, making it less likely to happen at all.

BTW, there is no "loss" of reputation if the rewards are reduced but still net positive (this ignores some very unusual edge cases that are very unlikely to happen in practice). The author will still gain rep but gain less of it (as with rewards).

In any case, Max may be a great guy or a scoundrel, I honestly have no idea. There is nothing personal here. But nevertheless whine posts do not add value to Steem (which is what is supposed to justify rewards being paid out at all) and when I notice them I will flag them.

I do encourage Max (or anyone else) to make posts which do add value to Steem and be rewarded for them.

You know smooth, I want to believe you as I agree with how you justified your flag...

I didn't take it the wrong way, but reading this I was thinking... what about my last post... you didn't see value being delivered?
The response I had from the little time it was up says the community saw value there... but I get 0 from it and the post missed a lot of its audience for the malicious attack.

If you want to promote adding value and discourage whining, leave your BIG flag here by all means, but do upvote the post that delivered the value.

If on the other hand, you just want to cut the rewards off because you think I don't deserve, then say it so insteead of claiming it's just because I didnt add value.

I added value on my last post and what did I get? Nothing.

Cheers and nice to meet you.

you didn't see value being delivered?

No I didn't see it at all. I'm not reading posts all day every day, as much as I might like to sometimes. I have other obligations and time commitments. (As I commented elsewhere, I happened to notice this one because it was #1 on Trending, making it hard to miss. Perhaps you could say it was a victim of its own success with respect to my vote, but nevertheless it is still earning a significant amount.)

Cheers and nice to meet you

Likewise.

You didn't see it because of the flag, else it could be on Trending and this wouldn't have appeared which is the point.

See you around mate :)

I like smooth's attitude its eccentric and fairminded, followed
lots of interesting people popping up

I think you are further proving that you did not read the prior post which was maliciously flagged, because in that context this one looks less, or non-whiney at all. Obviously you don't have to do anything, but it appears you are detached from the bigger issues surrounding this latest conflict between 2 opposing viewpoints. It's really not about Max to most of the participants in the 2 posts. Coming in hard and heavy, and quite late, you may be inadvertently aiding a viewpoint that you might not agree with... Just Sayin'.

PS Edit: thx for clarifying my question. Could be something addressed in HF 20. It would also not prevent flags in other material posted by the one invoking "flag protection" if it is ever structured that way.

You are correct. I didn't read the post and I don't think it is relevant to whether this post adds value and deserves to be rewarded (in my opinion it does not). I don't feel that I am obligated to read every post or dig deeply into every personal or political conflict that takes place on the platform to exercise my voting rights. I happened to notice this post because it was at the very top (as in #1) of Trending which IMO is absurd for an 'I got flagged' whine post.

Well, hey, at least you DO care enough to clarify what the thought process was, makes more sense now. I'm just pretty certain that there is a bigger smack-down coming at the last minutes of voting... and that your flag will end up being less of what it was intended and more of a help to a group that many consider to be a drain on the system. I appreciate active participation and I Know that is what we have, now! I apologize for coming off with an attitude at first...
RESPECT

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04