You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do You Care Too Much About Steemit Blogging Rewards? Find Out Here.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

A downvote was applied to partially counter earlier whale votes as an experiment to reduce whale domination of voting influence. Not intended to express an opinion on the content nor result in a net reduction of rewards or reputation (automated notice)

Sort:  

Rock on with your STEEM Power! :)

Good luck, @smooth. I hope you all don't get too flamed for this experiment you're running. As I commented to @abit recently, I find it quite interesting, and I'm hopeful we'll learn some important things about our platform and the community that uses it through this process. We are in the early, early days of Steemit. As long as we're still here in ten years, that's when the experiments we do know will really matter.

I agree with you. Thank you for the post and comment.

A down-downvote was applied to partially counter earlier whale votes as an experiment to reduce whale domination of voting influence. Not intended to express an opinion on the content nor result in a net reduction of rewards or reputation (automated notice)

I figured you'd be swamped by hateful comments by now. The fact that you're still checking your comments and replying to some speaks volumes to me. Do your thing, @smooth. The results from ten years from now will judge you, not the people complaining today.

hmm... ten years? a little bit too long, don't you think? :)

As of February, Facebook is now 13 years old. My business will be 10 years old this summer. If we're not thinking long term, we're thinking too small (IMO). I invest in long-term investments because those provide the greatest consistent returns.

[nested reply]
well said!! and really cool business you've got there!

These spam comments add no value to the platform.

I dont necessarily disagree. It was suggested to me to include them, so I have, but I'm on the fence myself.

I agree with Luke and have changed my position from short term/against this effort to much more interested in the long term/lasting effect. I do implore you to please remove the up vote for yourself, I wouldn't be bothered by the comments as I believe it's completely warranted, I believe people should know the motives for bringing down the hammer.

I applaud the effort you take to calculate each and every vote, that is by-and-large admirable in it of it's self, but like I said, I don't think you should vote for your comments even if they get hidden/flagged or in an attempt to keep them visible since it distributes rewards to what many consider spam, please consider that.

The upvote is only placed after the comments are maliciously downvoted (usually by @htooms) and are tuned to avoid having the comment hidden without contributing to a reward. Due to rounding sometimes the reward sometimes goes to 0.01, though I'm not sure if that will actually get paid out (I think 0.02 is the minimum?). Also I have disabled the comments for now, but might or might not turn them back on.

I was a bit perturbed by all the comments showing up with 0.01, and I apologize for doing rounds on your comments. I think you should re-enable comments so that people know why they were downvoted, right now it's minimal impact I think, now that the steem world is saturated with information about the experiment and peoples opinions about it, but who knows, maybe a new person will be turned away by the downvote without explanation and information cannot hurt. And again, I think what you're doing is great, especially considering the time and work it takes in calculating the votes individually, keep up the great work sir!

If anybody is interested here is the proof that it's not wanton acts but conscious effort and fairness:
https://steemdb.com/@smooth/votes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37