Have you forgotten about the other social networks yet? Also, can we do better here on steemit?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hey again, Steemitzens

Have you forgotten about Facebook and Twitter?

Gosh, I've been so busy since I got involved in the Minnow Support Project and P.A.L. Network community here on Steemit and on the PAL/MSP discord chat channels. I've nearly forgotten about my prior lives on Facebook and Twitter among others. I have to remind myself those even exist now and force myself to go back and tell my friends and family I am still alive. It shocks me how difficult it is to convince them to come join us here, in this pioneering brave, new world at steemit on the steem block chain. It's frustrating when I show them information like I will include later in this post and they still simply don't see the truth through the cloud of their zuckerberg-feeding misconceptions. Even as I try to tell them all of the following about the place...

Let's get real though!

Lately a dear, sweet friend of mine whom I totally admire and respect, and I, have been discussing the way that steemit works in general. Things like communities and personalities and motives and ways that people could benefit from the system, but also, in the jaded, tired voices of those who have spent time deep in the battles of daily life on this battlefield for attention, we speak warily of folks with less than altruistic intentions. We talk of gaming, and bots and circle jerking and self promotion for both healthy and unhealthy purposes. We discuss deep seating feelings of dread about some of the behaviors we notice in others around us, and we discuss how it coulda, shoulda, woulda been if only if.

These discussions have really gotten me thinking about my own behavior quite a bit. I came in with lots of experience in social networks. I directed a company for years that spent millions building a gen 2.0 social network myself, and I've been online with the world via modem or internet since the mid 1980s. This was not my first rodeo and I came in like a wrecking ball. I played by the battlefield's rules and I was a rising star here in no time, climbing the various ranks on steemwhales.com like I was just jogging to the moon. Maybe not on the money totals, but in all other community respects, I sort of overnight sensation-ed.

In two months here, I've built a following of over 900 new friends, all organically without ever directly asking for a follow and posted almost 3200 blogs and comments along the way. I've built a Radio Station that now streams globally worldwide 24 hours a day, and features 14 scheduled two hour live audience shows with 22 DJs signed up and either already premiering new shows or soon to be on the schedule. Be sure to check out the full schedule of news, talk, popular commercial music and more at http://mspwaves.com to learn more about the station and our wide variety of awesome hosts, hostesses and their shows.


Another amazing graphic contribution by @fortified

I was awarded an MSP Medal Of Honor for my contributions to that community of fine folks (thanks @aggroed and MSP peeps!), I was interviewed two times by other steemitizens for their blogs ( @jassennessaj and @samest, thank you! ), and I was mentioned in over 25 blog articles by other people who thought enough of me and our shared experiences here to mention me in kind ways. (Search em, 25+peeps would take forever to find and tag!)

I am humbled and honored and flattered by all the attention, and it is definitely part of the addiction that this place, and the excited, passionate, smart early adopting folks here all feed to make me keep coming back. Ever optimistic that this block chain has a very long future ahead for all of us.

But even while I am staying busy, sleepless and poorly fed for 20 and 30 hour runs between hours in discord, live DJ sessions spanning 2-12 hours at a time and infrequent short naps, I still feel like I haven't posted anything of value in forever. It really seems sometimes like all I do now is work on the MSP WAVES RADIO NETWORK project and hang out in our chat rooms, generally causing a ruckus while helping new DJs and new minnows in MSP onboard into our groups, and people find the answers to their questions, and sometimes melting down in sheer excitement, passion, frustration, and exhaustion along the way.

But hey, we're family in MSP and I'd like to think I can be forgiven when I fall apart, given how much time I otherwise spend there trying to achieve good things that can help us all succeed in our steemit endeavors and goals.

So I got to thinking, after all this recent discussion with my friend about steemit user behaviors and all this introspection I've summarized for you above about my own behaviors, and I keep arriving at the same simple thoughts.

I am my own worst enemy. I am everything self promotional and money driven that my friend seems so disappointed with amongst our peer community here. I thought I was doing things to help others as much as I could, even to the expense of not posting, not earning income lately on steemit and had expressed that I need to think more about myself. This prompted a sure, why not, everybody else does, kind of response in the dialog with my friend and it sent me to bed that night after our chat, deep in thought about how I could "do better" as she also recently suggested to some folks within my ear shot.

So actually, this "getting sent to bed thinking" just happened last night, and this post is the brain barf that is coming from the deep dive into my own actions around this community as I drifted into a restless sleep last night on the couch within reach of my steemit home, unable to even find the energy to leave my office building to go home to my actual mountain side cabin.

How can I do better?

How can I contribute even more, take even less, still feel whole about my involvement and the give and take of gifts and rewards and feel like I am a benefit to others rather than a burden on them? How can I help the less fortunate or less adequately equipped among our pool of minnows here on steemit? What can I do to help change the negative patterns sneaking in on the coattails of human nature as the pond gets bigger and more densely populated with new arrivals?

I know I can do better. Just gimme a chance!

I joke with this phrase a lot, "I can do better, gimme a chance" but it's really true and not just for me. It's true for everyone but sometimes the second half, "gimme a chance" is the part we need help with.

I'm not sure how I'm going to change my behaviors on steemit yet. I am already not one to self vote at all, and I already comment and participate as much as human time clocks allow for, and I already have tried to build new communication tools for the communities voices to use as they see mostly see fit, via the radio station, and I am working hard to maintain that as an opportunity rich environment where literally anyone can join MSP and get some air time on the station to voice their opinions, views, creative interests and musical tastes, while potentially empowering them with new angles on the money making aspects of steemit via this increased exposure, available to pretty much anyone able to voice their desire to do so and commit to a two hour weekly time slot consistently and professionally and maturely.

But what else can I do? I have given money to the needy on here, and I use tips to boost my modest vote values on posts I find value in. I am depositing now and then, and spending and spreading more on sharing with deserving others and growing the community than I am earning in return.

But I WILL do better. Gimme a chance!

I also decided I could do better about remembering important people in my life outside steemit. So I decided to celebrate my two month anniversary weekend on steemit (62 days today since I first even heard of the joint and signed up) by going back over to facebook, where I have barely even shown my face for two months and checking in with my nearly 750 life long friends and family over there. This is what I had to say to them after all this time away, spent here on steemit instead. Perhaps continue trying to get them to come finally discover our beautiful home here on steemit.

Just letting you know I'm still alive. I've been off doing great things on steemit.com and am proud to announce I also have just launched a radio station that streams globally 24/7 to every corner of the Earth, featuring 22 DJs so far, with fourteen 2 hour live audience interactive talk, news and music shows already on the schedule and premiered this week and just getting started. Still adding new shows and DJs daily to fill the schedule. I'll drop a link here next time I go on the air and maybe you all can give a listen.

As for my steemit results, and this "make money doing FB like stuff" thing I kept trying to tell you all about, well, the proof continues here, and this is after withdrawing a bunch to pay for radio station related expenses like royalty licensing for commercial music and the media servers and software licenses we needed for me to produce a real-deal world wide legal broadcast network.

Find out more about steemit at http://steemit.com and more about the steemit sub-community I take part in leading at http://minnowsupportproject.org and about the radio station I built with the help of some friends at http://mspwaves.com
Join steemit.com - the only social network based on a cryptocurrency block chain that pays you to participate.

It's no joke and it's not a flash in the pan. Anyone in crypto can tell you block chain tech and cryptocurrencies are quite assuredly here to stay. Come get ya some. My friends in the Minnow Support Project and I will get you there.
In 61 days at Steemit, I have earned over $2000.00 USD extra income. So put that in your pipe and smoke it. I sure did (with some of it anyway lol) ;)

So the real question still remains, I'm not a rich man, but I want to give, so how can I "do better"?

For now, the best idea I've got is to come up with some kind of way to give tangible things to folks who could otherwise never obtain them, so that they can get ahead. Like maybe I could find a microphone and headphones for a disadvantaged kid in Africa who could be the world's next huge thought provoking media journalist or a decent tablet or laptop for the world's next great writer currently living impoverished in some eastern block country somewhere.

I don't know. I'm good at ideas, but they are not always good ideas. I'm told to think globally, act locally, and to change the world by changing one life at a time. I'm as much in a position to do some great things as I've ever been, and by nature of being merely average in the USA, I am still very aware that puts me at great advantage over most of the rest of the planet. So what things to do for the world? I could focus on doing things for myself, or I could focus on doing them for others, which in turn would likely lead to even more gains for my own soul and peace of mind, which are the real riches and success I hope to achieve.

I do know that when the plane is crashing, you need to put your own oxygen mask on before you help the person next to you, and I've still got some stuff to take care of in my own life, but I want to get ready to give more than ever, because I've almost got my own security adjusted now. Time to plan ahead for the next phases of growth. Mine and others wherever I can do the most good.

Help me out with some ideas on how I can use the power of the network, my involvement in it's largest minnow community, our radio station and my voice and other talents and capabilities to do more, be better and help more people fly here. How can I help YOU on steemit today, in a sustainable, holistic, positive way?

Money pays the bills, but love both given and received, is where the wealth of a man really comes from.

And you can take that to the bank!

Just like that, this post is over.

Full steem ahead, steemitizens!

@sircork

Tune into my show: Monday Night Minnow School on The MSP Waves Radio Network
Get more info about this and other great steemit MSP talk-radio shows at:
http://mspwaves.com


Witnesses I support:

@aggroed, @teamsteem, @gtg, @timcliff, @klye, @clayop, @ausbitbank, @dragosroua, @rolandp, @jesta, @personzzz ( @personz ), @lok1, @someguy123, @thecryptodrive, @netuoso, @good-karma, @lukestokes.mhth, @klye, @theprophet0, @swelker101, @steemed and co-witnesses @followbtcnews & @crimsonclad

Think you deserve to be on this list too?

Earn my vote. Tell me why!

Be sure to learn what witnesses are and vote here!

All Steemitzens should be choosing their preferred representatives to make reliable, positive, growth oriented steemit.com and steem network decisions for us!


The Peace, Abundance, Liberty Network (PALNET) Minnow Support Project (MSP) is home for a minnows best new friends!

Find us on Chat with the PAL/Minnow Support Project peeps at: https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw

Sort:  

Almost exclusively on Steemit now.

only almost? :) You can do better! :)

Soon will be exclusively here, but before that I need to port over 900++ real life friends over here first.

Lead, follow or get out of the way. I look back to see if they follow now and then but I've got places to go, I can't wait for them all day. Some will never learn...

Don't give up on your Facebook friends. It was through a friend on there that brought me over. I'm sure this friend is still regretting that post :-)

I hope you find the balance between investing in the community and your personal life. It would help me out a lot if you took care of yourself.

When you're doing well you naturally help me out a lot. I'm super needy and could really use your help in filling my attention quota.

Also, side note you are not supporting Shane as a witness. You might want to consider adding him.

Ps. 😘 love ya and happy almost birthday!

I am, the list is copy pasta from my notes and probably not 100% up to date. I'll make the correction. It's shane's fault though. That sneaky rat bastard stealths around.

I love you too, extra daughter. Thanks for reading <3

Bahahaha, always his fault.

always.

always

If you've read my intro. You will know that I had completely removed myself of social media prior to steemit. I was undecided about joining and I honestly did not know what to expect. What I found... a community of people who were interested in each other, interested in sharing their truths, fears, sillyness, and support. Sir Cork...I felt this post, thank you for having a huge and giving heart. Because of you and so many others in discord and steemit I have embraced this platform whole heartedly. You have given so much of yourself, sometimes at the cost of a good nights sleep, a meal, or just a little you time. Your success speaks for your dedication to this community and your desire to do more shows how BIG your heart really is. You have also given me something much bigger than riches: Friendship! I love you all at MSP PAL/Discord! I know I'm not alone when I say thank you so much..

<3 your discord "nursey"

I can do better.

gimme a chance!

<3 you TN!

You never fail with me, take all the chances you need...and if you need any help along the way, don't be afraid to ask :) after all ... ' "gimme a chance" is the part we need help with -Sir Cork'

I get by with a little help from my friends, baby girl!

WoW! You are amazing! You have done all this and still feel like you need to do more? I am sure you will! Don't forget to take good care of yourself in the mean time!

Steemit is the only social network I am involved with now. Eventually, the FB people will find their way! :)

Not amazing. I am just one man, currently wading through docs on how to set up a witness server and begin that journey too, in the near future. I want to contribute from every angle I can!

I left Reddit cos of all the arseholes over there, lets hope they stay off steemit. I was never on Faceberk anyway; I dont want to get in touch with old school friends, who were never really friends anyway (I still see my real old school friends, y'know, in person!).
Twitter, I find fairly pointles; no, I dont care what you had for lunch, or how yummy it was.

What is this "lunch" you speak of? I haven't seen a normal meal in 62 days...

You need to slow down mate 'the brightest lights shine for the shortest time' and all that.
Just do what makes you happy, you owe no-one any-thing; its your life, you only get one go at it, so stop and smell the flowers, and maybe even have some lunch while you are at it.

We'll see about getting that on the todo list for... tomorrow.

How can you help me? balance yourself a little bit more, take as much time as you give to others and return it to yourself in some enjoyment of that beautiful place you inhabit, spend some time putting in a lifter for that water of yours. Go dance an irish jig.

I see you pushing so hard and have much admiration for it, but at what cost mate?

You have to look after yourself as well.

How can you help the community in a sustainable way? perhaps collate some of the finer posts you find, push them into a single spot, maybe a once a week update aligned with when you drop your show.

Talk about that work during your show, give them some free airtime between a song.

That's my silly idea.

You silly man, there is no intelligent life outside steemit!

Okay.

maybe you are righter than I want you to be.

Love you upside down brother.

I like your character and how you want to support other people. For me, this is a really important mindset and be encouraged​. Congratulation and all the best for the coming time.

Thank you. Character is in my name, my last name is Kaericher, it's Germanic in origin and pronounced just the same as the word "Character" without the "T" sound in it, like "Characker". Imagine that! :D Thanks for reading!

This is great :D

:) Never a dull moment!

Where are those other places you mentioned? Face book? Twitter? I vaguely recall hearing those names before ;-)

You cross the great chasm into the darkness outside the light. Be careful. It's dangerous to go alone. It's dangerous to go... at all!

They are the mind suck locations with no thinkers allowed!

Maybe they are just misguided.

in my 4 days on steem i have already seen your name about a dozen times @sircork! it seems to me like you contribute as much as one man can to this place!

As i learn steem, i hope to be able to emulate some of the things you have done for the community.

i wull definitely be on the look out for you on discord to chat about the radio station. i have DJed on Second Life for years, so interested to see how thay translates.

keep up the good work! this particular minnow appreciates it greatly!

OH SHIT, YOU ARE AN SL DJ!!!! CONTACT ME ASAP!

I AM SIR CORK THERE TOO, LAST LOGIN WAS MONTHS AGO, AND YEAR BEFORE THAT LOL. SO MANY NIGHTS LISTENING TO SL DJs!

Yes, I am shouting, this is exciting! You saw me all over the place? Wow! That's so humbling! Come see us in the MSP pond!

Don't get too terribly excited! I didn't say I was a GOOD SL DJ. hahaha.

Yeah I haven't found much time for SL this summer, but my avatar is 12 years old. DJed for some pretty decently populated clubs in my time. But I am very much of the "I'm going to laugh at myself, regardless of if anyone else is laughing with me or not" mentality.

Listening in to @globocop now before I head out to see Roger Waters perform this evening. Will catch up with you soon!!

Great the shows are all over the map. Bring two hours of entertainment or infotainment a week consistently and you're on.

Funny you should mention this.. I too did a little check in on friends and family on Facebook, Twitter... my only Facebook posts are now links back to my posts on Steemit. Still working on move friends over... I have older parents that are just getting comfortable with Facebook... May need to humor them for a bit. I like your sentiment. Congrats on the msp waves radio, I'm listening often.

Thank you! That's great! Glad to have you around!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86