Pushing Past the Imposter Syndrome to Enjoy steemit

in #steemit8 years ago

Warning: This post and the attached video contain slightly crude language.

In the words of famous French philosopher Michel de Montaigne,

"Kings and philosophers shit and so do ladies"

That is to say, we all have flaws, even if other's aren't outwardly visible. 

The point of this quote is to remedy with your own mind, and mine, that you're good enough. That our content is good enough. That we're contributing to a community just by interacting with it. Regardless of what we see on the outset of these hyper successful posts and our own not so successful, we can really only understand the trials and tribulations we've gone through. Comparing ourselves to others only through the image we've made up of them is a surefire way to feel inadequate.

To date my most successful post is a far cry from the trending page, but I still feel like I added value. That's so much more than I ever felt blogging on wordpress, medium, or any other site. Steemit provides an audience and as it grows so does the audience for the work I put out. If that translates into more steem for myself, that's great. If it only grows my audience and the people I interact with, that's great too. 

On top of a new social group, and the possibility for the rewards, I'm an immensely curious person. Just watching steemit grow is exciting. It alone keeps me coming back. And, that in turn drives me to write more. To try and open the site to new audiences. 

I initially came to try and make a quick buck. I'm going to stay because I want to keep sharing. I want to see how steemit plays out. I want to add value somewhere.

I think this is a place I will.

Below is a video from one of my favorite YouTube, The School of Life, on the Impostor Syndrome. 

Note: If you feel like you need some tips for overcoming impostor syndrome feel free to ask and I'll try and rustle some up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45