For God's Sake, Please Stop the Direct Messaging on Steemit Chat!

in #steemit7 years ago

I've had something of an internal conflict about writing this post. I like positive energy. I don't want to be known as a complainer....

But holy Gosh and his son Jeepers...

Can you all please, 

Please,

PLEASE stop the direct message spam on Steemit Chat?

I feel you, Reverend Richard Wayne Gary Wayne, but I'm starting to lose faith...

I'm not here to call anybody out personally, but it seems like every time I promote a post in one of the channels, I'm hit with half a dozen messages like this:

For me, these messages have the opposite of the intended effect. 

Let's keep our promotion to the promotion channels. No one likes uninvited spam in their personal inboxes. If I see your post and like it, I'll upvote. Don't tell me that you upvoted and followed me and treat me as if I owe you the same. 


Rant over. Sorry. I'll try to be more positive in the future.

~Seth

IMAGE SOURCES: 1, 2

Sort:  

Hahaha. Call them out! Can you not mute anyone you do not know from PM?

I know you can block individual users. I'm not sure if you can set your account to automatically block all unknown PMs.

But even if you could, I don't necessarily want that. I've had some good PMs from strangers. Some with real encouragement about my blog, others looking to collaborate on art or animation... I don't want to throw the baby out with the bathwater... but right now the bathwater is drowning the baby.

I hear you. And you not the only one I have read complaining about it. Check this post about some poeple even being rewarded for spamming : https://steemit.com/steemit/@hitmeasap/steem-chat-and-discord-spam-you-encourage-this-behaviour

Thanks for sharing. I'm heading out the door in a minute but I'll check out this post when I get a chance.

I'm glad I'm not alone. Maybe not glad, I shouldn't be happy that other people are sharing in my misery! Haha

Oh my God I'm so with you!!! There's this girl who keeps doing that to me, even though I did tell her off for one of her posts on a comment!!! I never responded after the first time (when I tried to be nice explaining it's not exactly how it works...) and she is still spamming me!! And I get the email notifications for that, imagine! There's the option of blocking people like that, but come on, this is Steemit, are we going to start the Facebookianisms here too? Best post to the point @sethlinson,thank you for that!!! :)

That's how I feel. I don't want to start blocking people... But it's pretty annoying.

Sorry I bothered you in this way on SteemitChat :)

Don't worry about it. This is part of the reason why I was unsure about making this post. I don't want to call anyone out personally or make them feel bad. It's just that my Steemit Chat experience was getting to be a little... vexing.

Well, I totally agree with you. I realized it's ok to exchange follow and upvote with other users from time to time, but it's more useful to try to connect with people that bring content you really like 🙃

The same thing is happening in the MSP Discord group, too. Drives a person NUTS.

I've been on their about 3x. First when I got pointed there (and experienced what you're talking about but not to THAT degree), 2nd when I was doing an evaluation test (so I totally forgot I was even there), and third just to promote and got the "I upped you" lie while being asked to upvote him. I don't think I'll be going on there for awhile lol

My "half a dozen" statement was a slight exaggeration. It does happen at least once or twice every time I go to promote.

the "I upped you" lie

That's something I forgot to even mention! Sometimes they aren't even being honest. Some of them think they can "trick" you into upvoting them back. Or maybe they're holding your upvote hostage until you reciprocate... I don't know.

I didnt really see it as exaggerated. It's becoming a trend and with the influx of new users (aww darn I'm a June newbie too!) that are resorting to spam tactics, I wouldn't be surprised if the count goes up to a dozen or so.

And the lie ugh. He tagged a few of us in the public chat and I was tempted to throw the lie back but I settled for saying in public chat too: I would but you didn't (or something along that line). And then I tagged him >:) he didn't talk anymore. Probably went on a pm spree instead.

Resteemed and upvoted. Thanks for posting.

Holy moly. I'd be annoyed as hell with that too. I'm glad I don't have enough SP (or use Steem Chat for the matter) to be worth something to anyone!

I don't know if it even has anything to do with SP, because no one sees my SP on chat. I think some people just hit up every single user they can with these messages.

Gotcha, that would make sense too. I hereby promise not to get like that if I ever start using the chat. ;-)

Despite my complaints here, I would recommend using chat. I've had a lot of success promoting there. But it is hit and miss.

The only solution is not t reply these messages. After sometime they will stop.

The first couple of times it happened, I indulged them. But no more.

Asking for your blessing is almost insulting their own work! It's like COME ON GUYS... have faith your work will attract what it deserves. (:

A lot of people aren't here because they have faith in their work. A lot of them don't even want to work. They just want the money.

I reckon that's the truth, huh. Sad face

I hate it too. It's annoying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16