You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steemit Issues - Arguments From The Other Side - PART 1 - Censorship

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Excellent post @skeptic! I recently had an experience on this site that very much aligns with the issues you bring up. There is a user with a lot of power who decided it was his prerogative to use his SteemPower as an Iron Fist against anyone who disagreed with his statements on his blog, or even mentioned his name in another blog if he didn't like what they said.

Fact is, it doesn't matter if what was said is true, false, agree, disagree, or whatever.....like you said, he's got a mute button. He knocked me down to level 6 for calling him out on ripping off someone else's catch phrase. Sure, he has the right to do it, and I have the right to let him know that we know he's doing it, and we think it's lame. Sure enough, within an hour, I lost everything I had built over about 4 months. I tried taking a step back and reasoning with the guy, but he just kept flagging.

I was truly, truly disappointed in the Steemit system. In fact, I started doing my work here behind the scenes, seeing as I could barely post, and certainly not post any pictures.

Well, eventually someone else mentioned that "someone" was doing the things I mentioned above in their post, never even mentioning his user name. No one asked him to come and out himself as the one being spoken about, he chose to out himself. By doing so, something amazing happened. He started threatening others, by saying he will do the same to them. I just kept pointing out how much of an asshole bully he was, and he kept insisting he was a nice guy all the while threatening anyone and everyone who challenged what he said. My account was ruined, what did I have to lose?

This is the amazing part....the community stepped up. A few friends on here backed me up, and one went to a large group forum and told the story to them. Within two days, he backed the fuck off, as a bunch of other people with the same power as him told him he was being a dick and using his power in the worst way possible. Not only that, but they all went through and upvoted everything I did to get me back to the level I'm at now.

I have to admit, I almost quit this thing because of that moron. I figured this place is just like everywhere else....money rules over everything....but that actually didn't turn out to be the case. Many people stepped up and were willing to have their accounts ruined also to fight the bully. My faith in the community was revived, as was my account.

No one told him to stop saying what he was saying, they just said "Listen up buddy, we see what you're doing, censoring people and threatening people, and ruining their accounts....and well, we will gladly do the same to you if you think that's how steempower should be used"

Point being, I completely agree. I just wanted to share that with you, and encourage you to keep your head up, and fight the good fight. I dealt with a worthless account for quite a while before justice came around, but it did in the end. Sure enough, that guy isn't flagging people into oblivion anymore.

Any small group is going to have their own standards for what they believe is their "territory" if you will, and yes sometimes you get smashed for being real with someone, but don't let it ruin your experience here. I know first hand that getting the word out like you are doing is the best remedy for those assholes. Good on you brother.

Sort:  

im sorry to hear you ran into randowhale aka berniesanders aka nextgencryptoi on and on with his alt accounts. Im just guessing it was him as 90% of the people me included are dealing with or have had to deal with him doing just that. My first expierence dealing with it was alot like yours was, the second and third time not so much...... it got to the point where peoiple were saying it was my fault because i wouldnt stop talking about what he was doing or kept saying his name. it really upset me and fucked with my brain. it still fucks with me tbh. what worries me is that flagging his account doesnt really do anything to him and if i am honest i dont think he should have been flagged either. flagging only one of his accounts is pointless and truth is he should have his voice just like everyone else. but having a voice and censoring others and stuff like that is where i have a problem.
Thank you for your story as there are many of us that deal with it and alot are to scared to talk about it because if they do they get smacked down more. Im glad you have stuck around, i almost quit at one point too, came back after not touching steemit for 2 months and he was right there to flag me instantly. but it drove me to be where im at now so its whatever.
The more we talk about it and spread the information the sooner something will be done to be able to stop the censorship.
Thanks again for the awesome comment and words!

I know who you're talking about, I have a list of all his alt names.....believe it or not, it wasn't him. It was just another asshole who has no regard for an open discussion with someone who disagrees with him. But ya know....they don't have freedom of speech everywhere in the world, and without pointing out his country, I'm not surprised he acted that way, they're known to be cowards when the boots hit the ground. That's not a true assessment of all those from there of course, but he sure did propel the stereotype into reality.

I looked it was kyle the cocain and hookers guy. lol
all the popple doing this are all freinds and been doing this crap from the begining. It is true that not everywhere has freedom of speech and not everyone thinks we should have it. tripps me out though. lol
i like the way you put it, was alot nicer then the way i end up saying stuff.
Hopefully he went away and hasent gotten you to self censor. it sux when they go that far.
hope the flagging has stopped and that enough people start talking about it to where something gets done about it.

I don't self censor, but I'm on a mission here. And to help that mission, it is prudent to not bring up the past by mentioning names and calling them out again. It's been settled. Haha.....trust me, I get plenty of haters due to me being uncensored! I did notice their huge ring of people, and took all their names down to know who I'm dealing with.

lol
:D
well im glad its over with, getting flaggedby a whale always sucks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59117.01
ETH 2525.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48