Sort:  

When STEEM first came out in 2016 people equated it to a new take on a Ponzi scheme.

In reality the fact that people can post content here is two fold. We could consider it a veil over what is actually going on and we could also consider it a carrot for people to chase bigger earnings by buying more STEEM. "Get your post seen!!!!!"

Obviously this is the super negative way to look at it. It has gotten way away from original intention in a lot of ways.

I still think that being rewarded in a crypto can be valuable but the way it has been implemented here hasn't worked out quite right.

If done right this platform would have never experienced the broader market drop that occurred in crypto.

I'm glad this was a DTube EXCLUSIVE!!!!

I'd be curious to hear your and others thoughts, but to me the moral here is way down. When I first got on here this was an exciting place to be, now it's just a place to be, to go through the motions and to play the game. So many of my friends here have left, I just got a message this morning here have my steem I'm leaving from a buddy on here. I've seen many other people slow down in their posting or leave altogether. People aren't putting the same effort into posts they used to.

To me this platform is doomed because we have a social network and networking site built on a blogging platform. We either need to stay true to what this platform is and reward content or Steemit needs to change the entire interface to be more like a Facebook or Linked in type platform if that's more what it's turned into.

With this new platform and with it being decentralized and and open we all have had the chance to kind of shape what it becomes. We've shaped it into something other than what it was designed to be IMHO. We either need to add more features like groups and messaging to accomodate what people here seem to be about or we need to get back to being a platform where people create quality content and its rewarded if it is going to be a blogging and video platform

We either need to add more features like groups and messaging to accommodate what people here seem to be about or we need to get back to being a platform where people create quality content and its rewarded if it is going to be a blogging and video platform.'

why not both? once a re-design is done that people will be near-familar with it's then 'facebook, but get paid, and no one can censor you.'

there are huge advantages to permanent public blockchains that those who secure it get rewarded well for it, but everyone who uses it can also be rewarded for posting, when it comes to both privacy and censorship (two sides of the same coin?) on social media. twitter, google eye et al are clearly censoring and mass-programming the connected world which is fast-approcaching everyone on earth by now i imagine (agenda 21?)

what im saying is, what's not to like? why wouldn't you tell your friends to try it, especially if they're into free speech and the first amendment? and even if something else similar or better and fairer comes along and takes off, you take your content with you wherever you go - it's yours, forever. peace.

What do you means by big chain letter?

Posted using Partiko Android

Okay so the idea of a chain letter is I send you a letter and say put $1 in 10 envelopes and send to these 10 people. Take the lastname off the envelope and add your own. The next 10 people send you $1 and sendthe letter on and the people they send the letter to send you $1. it goes on and on and on. That's essentially what Steemit is.

Thanks for the explanation. I didn't know about it. Pardon me, I don't get any similarities between your explained chain of big letter system and the #steemit

Posted using Partiko Android

Basically Steemit serves no purpose except for all of us to run around like robots voting up each others shitty content for the sole purpose of upvoting each others shitty content and earning money. All the while none of us earn shit but we keep the machine going for those at the top earning the real money. Mind blown. You've swallowed the red pill. Steemit will never be the same

Neither. As soon as we have grown enough, the crowds will attract advertisers and promoters who will pay for the attention of the crowds with STEEM creating buying pressure. The price of STEEM will gradually stop being purely speculative. But if paid promotion never took off on Steem or its apps, then the system could be said to be a like a pyramid.

You make a good point, however things don't seem to be moving in that direction. i don't really dig into the Steemit stats like userbase and retention and all that but just the general sentiment I get is were going down rather than going up. When I first got on here in June of 2017 it was an exciting place to be, people were very positive about the future direction, the moral was high.

Today however I see people posting less, i see the quality of posts going downhill and I see many people who I was friends with on here leaving. Hell today @tolkatore gave me his steem and said he's leaving. @emmyem84 who always seems to post when I mention her, hey Emmy, has been gone as has her husband @bradlovesbeer. @kenanqhd who's always been positive made a video voicing his frustrations the other day. @brianphobos is a positiveperson and a huge value to this community in bringing people on and helping newbies get established but he realizes its not all sunshine and puppy farts here. I could go on and on.

This platform at it's current rate will never grow to what you describe because were losing people not gaining them and because the quality and type of content we have here is notsomething that advertisers are going to want to associate themselves with.

The crypto winter is causing that. Where do those people think they should go instead? Facebook? What's relevant is not the current crop of mainly Steemit users. What's relevant is all the development taking place. The future is in all the apps. We just had HF20, SMT's will be next in March 2019, then communities. All those people gone now will be back when the next bill cycle starts.

P.S. Advertisers don't give a rat's ass about quality. All they care is attention.

Posted using Partiko Android

I would think Steemt would get better in the winter, people are inside instead of enjoyingthe nice weather.

In terms of advertisers, advertisers don't care about quality but they do care about attention and nobody gives a shit about anything on here. Nobody pays attention to the posts and content itself let alone to the advertising. We also have to narrow of a focus. Crypto content could draw advertisers but posts on Steemit about Steemit will not. This platform needs to be more diverse if we want to grow. if its going to be all about crypto and steemit itself were going to have a very narrow niche audience base.

Forget about Steemit. There are new apps cropping up all the time that address the narrow focus issue you've brought up. I do care about the content I'm getting from the people I follow. A lot of it is photography.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't follow the Steemit news too much so if new apps are cropping up that's cool and I look forward to it. That said I've been hearing "things are comming" for quite some time and nothing comes.

I agree with you photography is a good topic. While photography does require work I can go out to shoot for an hour and potentially get 50 nice photos to share so it's easier to share quality content. Also with teh popularity of Instagram and Pinterest people like photos and engaging with them.

Check out DLike, SteemPress and Share2Steem.

Posted using Partiko Android

I like share2steem I did get that setup. That's actually really cool and the type of stuff I would like to see coem to steemit. I'll check out dlike and steempress

I used to share more photography but because I’m focused and being pushed to making more dtube videos I haven’t really been doing many of the posts I used to.. I think people who are for dtube are pushing hard on creating more easy viewing content so that the platform has more people posting and hopefully more variety of content to watch.
But video making does take up a lot of my time - even the small one minute snaps sometimes

Anyway for the blank posts idea. I’ve seen one or two of those before on steemit - one of them was a mistake blog post that was edited and she couldn’t delete it because it was already auto voted by some people. That post actually got a whole heap of votes on and did pretty well - had so much engagement and upvotes in comments lol... I’ve accidentally done one too but not as good outcome. It depends on the person and their following I think.
The other one I saw was a video error and they still got their regular whale upvote lol..

Posted using Partiko iOS

The whole play the game thing is quite true.. I feel like if I said the truth that people don’t want to hear I would lose a lot of following too. There’s a fine balance to playing this game..
My husband often tells me what he thinks about the platform - the reality of it and it makes me feel conflicted about it. But it also helps me not be on the fluffy clouds either.. it is hard to join that happy fluffy steem to the moon positivity when I know the reality. I think that’s why I’m not doing as good as I could because I’m not saying all those fluffy things about steemit/dtube..(or enough of them because I did attempt to say some in my past videos haha)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Its definitely a MLM scheme, with each layer feeding on the fervor of the layer below. I haven't been on Steemit in a few months, but when I last checked there was just so much rent-seeking behavior as to destroy the economic engine of Steemit.

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

This post has received a 92.42% upvote from thanks to: @rulesforrebels.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.010 SBD|STEEM to bid for votes.


Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP or Another amount

You got a 100.00% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 90% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

You got a 2.05% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @rulesforrebels!

Congratulations, your post received 28.38% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @rulesforrebels! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17