Sort:  

Yes, it's supposed to be on an open blockchain. The password has a private and a public component. What is shown is the public one. If your password is short, predictable, etc, it can be broken by cracking the public component. If it is long, unpredictable, etc, you are more OK.

Ok. Thanks. What I'm still confused about is why some tutorials are telling me to write down and back up these public keys, when I or anyone else can find them online.

Public and private keys go in pairs. So you need to have both. A hacker, if he breaks your private key, may change the entire pair of public/private into something new.

So the backing up is more retrieval purposes than security purposes. I think I understand. Thank you for your time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99