Posting Content From Other Places is Plagiarism No Matter How You Wrap It

in #steemit7 years ago

Steemit is NOT a place for non-exclusive content. There's bots for that!

If you copy/paste from other sources, @cheetah will find you and call you out. 

A good number of people including @stellabelle have proclaimed a #WarOnSpam, and I must include myself in those ranks. 

Trying Not to Complain

I abhor complaining even though I slip into it as naturally as I do writing. It's not something I'm proud of. My experience on Steemit has been a mixed bag of excitement, disappointment, bliss, and frustration. 

When I come across posts where people are getting paid on content they've pulled from other sources, it drives me a little insane.

It's not like you can avoid it. It's everywhere!

So, while I'm out there in the wild trying to build my following, find my niche, and find a way to add value to this community, it's constantly slapping me in the face.

Nice Meme Generator You've Got There

I like how you used it to wrap your plagiarism in an image so you could avoid @cheetah.

Yeah, I came across a post from a user sharing his "shower thoughts". Being a regular Redditor, I am aware of  the /r/showerthoughts subreddit. 

I commented and asked, "Are you getting these from Reddit?" 

I didn't receive a reply, so I typed the "shower thought" text from his meme and Googled it which resulted in...

...you guessed it, the subreddit mentioned above^ with the exact thought post. 

After the first two, I didn't feel it necessary to further prove my point.

I'm Not Sure If You're Aware...

...but that's called RAPING THE REWARD POOL. 

You are cancer to Steemit.

In This Guy's Defense...

He did appear to have a good number of original posts, but as of this writing he had earned $47+ on this plagiarized post and that really chaps my ass!

A Notice to the Steemit Masses...

Don't do this crap.

Don't game the system.

If you can't do something worthy of getting paid, then you don't belong here. Plain and simple.

You are stealing from those who are doing things that are not only worthy of getting paid, but worthy of helping others do the same.

Be original or GTFO because the world needs YOU, not some reconstituted hogwash you thought would be entertaining. 

Add value, earn value....or GTFO. #WarOnSpam

Please Check Out My Other Posts:

Sort:  

For academics, honesty is a value that must be upheld. The act of plagiarism is a very disrespectful act for academics. Hides until there is a slight chance of plagiarism in scientific work produced by academics to survive the issue of plagiarism.
@prowebwriter

I'm sorry...I don't understand your comment.

DISCLAIMER: I got this comment from the web
(not really I actually wrote it myself)

Another major problem on the plagiarism front is the "Source: Google" or some other such bullshit.

Mind you, I use pixabay (pretty frequently) but I use it to augment my own content (on the days I'm too lazy to go shoot some of my own pictures). Pixabay is a repository of CC0 No attribution required images.

Some people think "original" means they have to come up with it 100% on their own, this simply isn't true. Using a quote, picture, or a video clip and saying something in your own words as the bulk of your content isn't plagiarism it's research, or journalism, some people even use the same method in creating good fiction. Copying an article word for word is absolute crap and should not be tolerated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73