Why I am Powering Up All my Posts – And other DisclosuressteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago


One of the easiest ways to Power up your account on Steemit is to ensure that you have the post setting to Rewards – Power Up 100%.  You can always invest money and power up that way, but we do not all have the finance available to boost our STEEM power

When I started on Stemit, I didn’t know I could Power Up 100% and my first post were 50%, but when I found out, then I power up all my posts until my account reached 1000 SP.

From here I began to take 50/50 so I could cash in a few hundred euros to help out with Christmas.

But now I am powering up 100% again and I have a good reason.

Analyzing the Steemit Data is not what some people want.  At the end of the day, although I am posting on data, I am also posting about steemains and their activity, often calling people out by name.

But when you call someone out by name, things can all of a sudden become personal for that person.  Some people will like what and how I present the data, and some people wont.

I have big hopes for Steemit and I can see such potential in the lives that can be both touched and changed by STEEM and the steemit community

But I can also see stuff in the data that could jeopardize the reputation of Steemit.  I see stuff that should be raised as discussion with the wider steemit community. And all this stuff I see, you can see too because the blockchain is open and decentralized

Along with all of this, I also see the diversity of opinion as to what is acceptable and what is not here on Steemit.

Each and every one of us has a right to our own opinion, and we also have a right to information so we can make informed decisions.  I am hoping my data posts can do just that.

I also know as well as providing information I will also be open to a backlash.  And this is why I am powering up my account.

If I wish to continue, I need to grow my SP as fast as possible.  I need to get some power behind me so not only am I taken seriously, but I can also defend my corner, my posts and the best interest in Steemit.

Let me share something else with you too.  There are other people on Steemit that also want the best for Steemit.  People that work hard to promote and protect.  People that can see how my posts can add value to Steemit and the Steemit Population.  

One of these people is @stellabelle.  Well known here on Steemit for her awesome work, Stellabelle has delegated 20K SP to me.  I don’t know how long I will have this power but it has already done so much for my confidence.

I am going to lay down my intentions with this new Power clearly so everyone can see it. Hopefully saving you the bother of analysing the data on me.  I mentioned in a previous post that I self vote.  I will be continuing to do this so I can power up and quick as possible and grow my account so I can help protect Steemit and continue to produce data posts that call people out by name. My self voting my annoy some of you, but my intention is not to power down and gain short term financial rewards but to grow my accounts and help Steemit reach its potential.

I will also continue to support projects that I supported in the past, BISteemit, SteemitBC and Minnowsupport.  I will also continue to work behind the scenes with minnow to help with retention and their progress on the platform.

Now as my vote is worth more, I can also expand my reach.  When your vote is only worth $.05, its hardly worth splitting the power if I want to show someone that I valued their post. But now with a vote of over $2 I am happy to reduce my voting power and spread the rewards as best as I can.

So there you have it.  I am Powering UP all the way.  I am loving Steemit and I am here to stay.

But before I end this post, remember, the blockchain is open and decentralized.  It is open for anyone to analyse. If you know what you are doing on Steemit will not be accepted well by the general community, chances are I will post on it at some stage.  

UPVOTE - RESTEEM - FOLLOW

Want to help keep Steemit Clean- Check out this post spaminator-needs-your-help

https://steemit.com/joy/@teamsteem/spaminator-needs-your-help


 I am part of a Steemit Business Intelligence community. We all post under the tag #BIsteemit. If you have an analysis you would like carried out on Steemit data, please do contact me or any of the #bisteemit team and we will do our best to help you... 

You can find #bisteemit  on discordhttps://discordapp.com/invite/JN7Yv7j  



Sort:  

I also have worked extensively with Power BI. Can you point me to a good resource for how to connect to the Steemit data? I know there is SteemitSQL or something?

Thanks!

sure, you will find the details here https://steemsql.com/
and please do join us in the bi community on discord

Thank you! I really appreciate that.

This post has received a 14.93 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @josephsavage

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

This comment has received a 31.01 % upvote from @upgoater thanks to: @josephsavage.

Simple rule: Power up if you believe in SteemIt.

Hi Paula,

The value of 1 Steem, compared to a SBD is actually pretty low. If you expect that value to go up soon, there's a second reason to 100% power up your posts:

The core value of your rewards is calculated in Steem, when you receive a payout in SBD that's a conversion based upon the current rates. Whichs means that, when the value of Steem goes back up, in hindsight your rewards are much bigger with a 100% power-up post, because the value of 1 SBD should always remain around 1 dollar.

Secondly, I also believe in transparancy and openness. If you ever run into issues because of revealing things that some would prefer to remain 'hidden', just know that the Steem community is always ready to support you when it's needed. Don't worry, and keep Steemin on :)

thank you @fitzgibbon, I know a time WILL come when the support is needed

If I wish to continue, I need to grow my SP as fast as possible. I need to get some power behind me so not only am I taken seriously, but I can also defend my corner, my posts and the best interest in Steemit.

As I wrote in my post about centralization this is a tough cookie to crack. I think we especially need analytics for that. What makes a quality post? And as I see it this can be done better with #machinelearning. I really feel that reading takes time and there are not the right incentives; it's cheaper to just auto-upvote popular posts as @jerrybanfield has shown here

You might also explain your criteria for what makes you give out upvotes.

This post by @fitzgibbon appears to me to deserve one, but didn’t get one. 26 comments in 4 hours and not a single upvote on any comment.

Dear @aboutyourbiz, there is no such thing as deserving an upvote. I think the whole idea of Steem is to contribute and add value without demanding anything back. If you approach this platform by taking action in order to get rewarded, I think you might get disappointed in people somewhere along the way.

I don't really know how to put this clearly, but I try to give without expecting anything in return. I don't comment to get a new follower or to get a reward, I would have hoped that would kinda speak for itself.

Well ok. Poor word choice.

In the context of this post where she talked about how she’s going to self vote to gain more power, which is a wise thing in my opinion, she also talked about giving upvotes.

As of my comment, I hadn’t seen any upvotes and your comment was a good example of one I thought would have merited an upvote but didn’t get one.

She’s confronting the issue of self voting head on, which again is a good move, but so far in this post apparently not sharing the love so to speak. This could lead to people giving her crap about self voting.

She’s being proactive and I was pointing to something she may have missed.

@aboutyourbiz I have been offline most of the day, hence the few replies and upvotes. i am now looking at all of my comments and will upvote. I do like to reward my loyal followers because at the end of the day, without followers online you dont really have much.

@fitzgibbon you are correct, there is so much more when it comes to curating then looking for a vote

On saying that, when someone take the time to make good comments and join in a discussion time and time again, they do deserve to be rewarded.

And there you have it :)

Hello Paulag!
Those of us who know what’s involved in designing and executing a data mining exercise where the file is huge the file structure is complex ( it was not particularly set up to facilitate extracting statistical series from it), then processing and analyzing the extracted data, and finally writing an informative report on the results, will have no difficulty sympathizing with your decision.

As you will recall, I have already gone on a rant about the manner in which the existing reward system is inherently incapable of delivering to you a reasonable compensation for the services that you are delivering to the community. In effect, what your SP donor did was to take a step towards resolving this distressing problem. (I say “distressing”; because it is not only you. There are others who are doing serious service to support the community and the reward system is incapable of providing them with reasonable compensation for same.)

I need your help on one point, Paulag. My Newby status is preventing me from knowing what is the procedure to which you point when you say “you have the post setting to Rewards – Power Up 100%”. I went over into the settings part of my account and I could not find anything that relates to your remark.
Cheers!

There's a number of things we can do outside of the general rewards system to support authors and causes in which we believe. Direct donation of STEEM/ SP / SBD is possible - kinda like a tipping system. There is also delegation. Direct to selected people (which I do some of) and also delegation to community-curation-accounts that curate and upvote on posts that are of value to that community.
I bit more contentious, but you can also buy your favourite authors an upvote. That generally has more long-term effect than a direct donation, but some authors would prefer the donation so they have more flexibility.

Thanks for this info, @eturnerx.

at the bottom of the post screen you will see the post button on the left and on the right you will see the option to both self vote and power up your post 100%

Hi @Paulag. Thanks for drawing my attention to the ability to power up my post to 100%. I never knew you could do that. Just to confirm my understanding is correct..... “The reason to power up a post is to ensure all rewards are paid in steempower”. ? Is that correct?

Any other reason?

I totally understand why having more steem power is useful and your article totally covers this.

Loading...

You Go Girl!!!!! <3 We love you, and we love Steem!

Enjoy steemfest!

Good post but still I think you should not upvote yourself, you should live your voting power for some other good posts. I see your intentions good but still upvoting yourself is not good for Steemit, I did this too but @ecoinstant explained me why it is not good to upvote your own post. All rest what you wrote is great and I like it. I spend about 500$ to buy voting power when I start here on Steemit, I did this as investment in community. I like Steemit too and I think that Steemit will be just better. Idea with adding 100% powering up posts is good because in long term it should help you grow faster here.

Not everyone can afford to buy voting power. its really awesome that you could and you did

Go! I hope you grow fast enough. Thanks for valueble posts and your work for bisteemit!

Thank you very much @st3llar :-)

One supporter here. glad to be part of #bisteemit. :)

and a big asset you are to the team too @eastmael

Thank you. Just doing my part. :)

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

excelente cncejo lo tomare en cuenta

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88