faq. of steemit.com says that steem is not an investment???

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I just don't understand what is going on with the development of Steemit right now.

Who is involved in the team?

Why is there no feedback option for the beta version?
https://steem.io/2017roadmap.pdf

Latest reply on the roadmap is 7 months ago.

Is there another place where we can give feedback?

Steemit.com faq mentions steem is not an investment?
I am pretty sure with 9.5% inflation you can call it an investment.

But yeah if people read the whitepaper and believe that steem is no investment, surely you are right that they won't bother investing in steem.
Heck they might also have read that their money is stuck for 104 days. So here we go another investor gone.

What is happening with Steemit?
Are investors not worried?

Why can't I find any development updates from the last 6 months, am I looking wrong?

What are your thoughts?

image.jpeg

Sort:  

Apparently posts are made by a user called steemitdev.

Couple of posts in the last few days. Nothing before that for 9 months.

Not the most user friendly way to do marketing

But this place is obviously a tech weenie code dev shop, so if you have expectations of marketing, you will be disappointed

The thing that worries me is that "when building software" a thing called agile modeling suggests the best way to develop is to constantly fall back to the ideas of it's users.
Reading the latest post @steemitdev It seems indeed that there is a lot of technical focus.

They could be building a wealth of knowledge if they had a way to capture the ideas of the community in terms of where they want this platform to go.
That is generally the idea of a beta, yet it very much feels they are not interested in our views right now.

I understand that a lot of the marketing can be done by the community, but they are failing to see the big picture, when they don't think it is important to update all the portal info so that 300k users and new users actually understand what they are investing in.

In the roadmap it is at a later stage that they are building this better way of understanding steemit to it's users, I don't understand that. They could start off with something simple and then update this whilst they move along the roadmap, or at least work on that from the beginning.

Now for months people will be left in the dark.

Bu

You'll want to follow @steemitblog

That is the official account and Hardfork proposals and feedback if done via that account...

The wording in the FAQ is the answer to the question can I invest in Steemit, Inc. I can clarify it in my next update though. Let me know if you find any other issues with the content in the FAQ.

I don't understand steemit, it seems fishy to me! ;) Great photograph!!

i can explain most of it to you if u want to know how it works :)

I'm following you I am trying not to resist learning but I really feel like a part of my brain is missing LOL You are very kind maybe you can make your posts educational or create youtube videos for "crash test dummies" like me and then we can ask questions.

thx, I think some intro video's are actually being made right now(not by me) , once they are out I will drop you the link.
For now main question to ask yourself is what your goal using Steemit is. Based on that you can figure out how to reach that goal.

My goals are out of this world and perhaps idealistic but to simplify I just want to make enough money for myself to have the things I need and I want to feel free and safe to bring my family aboard and then give back to a community and an economic system that respects humanity nature and diversity and uses technology to enhance and heal rather than make sick and destroy.

Hi Sacka,
nothing wrong with idealistic goals, you want to make money from Steemit as primary goal?
Are you a writer or want to be a writer? What content interests u?

Congratulations @oudekaas! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I'm beginning to worry too. Remember the slogan "Come for the rewards, stay for the community" But we are constantly being told the opposite once we've joined, so maybe they should consider re=ordering those two halves of the sentence. I came looking for a way to diversify from bitcoin and have the chance to increase the holding through work as well as pure investment. I have to say It worried me that in order to commit myself and give my effort the best chance of success, I sold bitcoin to invest in SP, but lost quite a bit immediately on this transaction. And of course now bitcoin has increased in value and steem fallen... so right now I'm in the position where it's actually cost me .4 btc to have held that SP for a month. But perhaps things will improve...

Things I don't like... it's very easy to be misinformed = you've suffered from this just as I have. We've both been searching for answers to the kind of questions that don't arise until one has been here awhile, mainly because old posts misinform, and changes in conditions are not always shown elsewhere. For instance, I came here believing that there was a 10% interest on SBD. The witnesses that I have come into contact with are great - really helpful and knowledgeable, but I'm sure they have better things to do than answer individual questions about things that should have been in the faq.

I don't like the fact that posts can't be edited after 7 days. Surely the ability to edit a post could prevent some of the confusion being caused by the reading of an out of date post? On the same subject, it's a shame that posts don't carry a clearly displayed, exact date of posting; " over a year ago" is a tad vague for time-sensitive material! I would like to be able to see the date of a post before I actually open it, too. There is frequently room to put this immediately after the title, so maybe authors should do so? Not always important, but sometimes vital!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99