Are Your Secrets Safe? Are We At Risk By Helping Others?

in #steemit7 years ago

2017-06-15 16.24.09.jpg

Dear Steemit,

Yes I'm referring to all of you wonderful people out there who are part of this growing educational and supportive community. I have something I'd like to discuss.

I'm feeling particularily lucid after my car accident this morning and so now is a good time for me to raise a point that's been floating around in my head for a little while now.

I've only been on this platform for just over 1 month and have found myself wanting to reach out to those I can help. In many cases I have found this to be in the area of "alternative" investments or in support of ideas against the state. Naturally there is nothing wrong in principle with helping people (indeed it is to be encouraged) but it has raised the concept of a vulnerability that I'd like to discuss openly.

Take @alex-icey for example. Here's an example of a young member who's into stacking silver. A very commendable endeavour, especially for his age.

I have years of experience in both acquiring precious metals and being involved with bullion dealers globally and I feel like I have a lot to offer in this regard.

One thing that is paramount however and often spoken about in these circles is the importance of keeping stacking activities secret. This is founded on a number of arguments and is in conflict with the idea of publicly helping people.

I could for example post up photographs of a part of my collection and go over the reasons for my selecting the individual pieces but I feel this would expose publicly part of my holdings which may be detrimental for nefarious reasons.

Another example would be the internationalisation of currency. This is another field that I have experience in but there again secrecy is the name of the game. I feel like I have something to offer the community in terms of experience in the pitfalls and offering introductions to contacts but in doing so I would show my hand so to speak which is at odds again with the entire purpose here.

Naturally this dilemma does not apply to many fields. For example there would be no downside in helping someone grow a garden or speak a language or do any number of things but for those who have felt as I have felt on these particular issues where the preservation of personal wealth and security are concerned, I am curious about how one can reconcile these ideas.

This is of particular interest because this forum very much appeals to the crypto, sound money, small government and alternative thinkers. These are all fairly non mainstream topics so we are not talking about a knitting group here.

I found myself hesitating when considering recording videos on my food and water storage preparations for these reasons to but feel like I am doing the community of like thinkers wrong by withholding what I have learnt over the years.

I would be very interested in insights that people may have on this topic. I would very much like to share as much as I would like to learn and I'm sure we all have things to contribute.

With warm wishes to you all.

Sort:  

That's a totally valid concern.
We have no idea what laws and who will be in charge in the future and we've already 'confessed' to so much.
My plan is to blame Russian Hackers.
"Russian Hackers must have done it..."
That seems to work pretty well to cover things up these days. Maybe it will work in the future too?

I didn't see that reply coming @hammaraxx! Priceless 😂

I think that excuse, like so many exceptions in our system, is only open to the precious few at the top. For others, consequences are real.

What is silver stacking? I've only heard about it in my new explorations here on Steemit. Is it just the practice of stockpiling a valuable metal? I guess I could google but that's kind of antisocial!

We're glad you opted for the "social" option @renodakota and yes you have it in one. Generally referenced in the context of metals but more loosely in relation to prepping in general.

Congratulations @nolnocluap! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73