You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Plagiarism is every where here. Let me Explain why it is important for us to Police it and what We MUST do. Please Resteem This.

in #steemit7 years ago

The only thing I can think of is a hosting them by their own petard kind of thing. Perhaps if we got enough people creating their own post about this and linked them all together through comments we could create a huge net that informs everyone of the problem. Everyone would have to agree that posting links in comments on these particular post is ok, and I think it would have to be placed somewhere in the post why it is not spam to share your post about plagiarism on these particular post.

Just some ideas.

It really is ignorance in most cases. So if in those post we teach how to credit the source.

I also think that a HTML code could be developed that won't allow the post to load if the picture is not credited, but I don't know how to create code or what would be involved in creating it.

Sort:  

The issue I am seeing is a lot worse than an unintentional case. I am talking about people stealing pictures of other people and posting them as themselves and posting entire recipes with pictures from professional cooking sites. Getting tons of upvotes. I am sure hundreds of thousands of dollars are bleeding out of the platform because of this and part of the reason why the voting pool is reducing to nothing. If we dont control it and report it, it is only going to get worse. There is people creating accounts with all fake images and stolen posts, getting paid 100's of Steem and cashing out before ever getting touched. If they get caught they come back with a different account a few minutes later.

What about my ideas on preventing plagiarism. I don't think it matters if I am wrong about those who are doing it. If we educate the masses those upvotes and comments will go somewhere else.

Absolutely that will work. I just do not know how it could be put into action.

Perhaps asking minnowsupport if you are a member. someone might also know in the Steemit.chat. I really don't know, how it could be put into action either????

I need to do a lot of research here, but this is a leak in the boat that needs to be plugged or we are all going to sink.

While I agree it is a problem any time people think it is OK to steal. I don't think it is going to bring down steemit. Especially as long as we have people like you who care. Thanks for the post.

I think the community will out grow its growing pains, but we must correct these issues before they spin out of control. We have to make it easy for people to bring down content and identity theft.

I wonder what would happen if a person username had 0 curation or even negative curation. Making it impossible to steel is never going to happen, but it could be made harder than it is worth maybe. This is what I was thinking when I said hosting them on their own petard. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34