Rocky Mountain Region Steemit Accelerator/Meetup October 4, 2017 (FOLLOW UP)

in #steemit7 years ago

Rocky Mountain Region Accelerator_MH .png

I finally had the opportunity to host my first accelerator in the Denver, Colorado region and I’m happy I had a chance to bring something to life which I conceptualized and floated a proposal for about six months ago on Steemit. I am absolutely amazed and humbled by the Steemit community in Colorado.

One notable member of our growing community is @rebele93. He provided a door prize for this first accelerator in the form of two tickets to The Great American Beer Festival – one of the most coveted events in Colorado featuring 3,900 beers for ticketholders to sample in five-hour blocks. It was truly staggering generosity on his part.

Rocky Mountain Meet and Greet and Accelerator

The first portion of the accelerator was dedicated to meet and greet followed by some basics about Steemit to some of the newer members. Unfortunately, two community members, @intuitivejakob and @amvanaken, were involved in a car accident along the way, which was fortunately minor and resulted in no serious injuries.

Rocky Mountain Steemit Accelerator 1 Attendees.jpg

@jimitations, @geke, @sunravelme and @twenty23three

Generally speaking, our more recent registered users already understood the basics of the platform (posting, formatting, voting, etc.). The focus for this portion of the Meetup covered powering down, moving earnings to exchanges, and converting STEEM and SBDs to Bitcoin and USD. I also took some time to introduce the group to Streemian, explained how to delegate voting power, and how to form or join curation trails. We then discussed forming a Rocky Mountain curation trail to support our local writers and creators in the Rocky Mountain region of the US.

Rocky Mountain Steemit Accelerator 1 Door Prize Winners.jpg

Winners of the Great American Beer Festival Door Prize: @sunravelme and @twenty23three

STEEM Based Dollar Utility Project/Cryptocraft Marketplace

Rocky Mountain Region Accelerator Cryptocraft Marketplace_MH.jpg

Before I floated the proposal to make a Denver Steemit Accelerator and Meetup, I’d floated a proposal about increasing the utility of SBDs with a marketplace in which vendors could sell consumer staples (food, alcohol, gifts and some specialty items) with one caveat – they can accept any form of payment, but they must accept SBDs as well. It’s been my dream to bring that to fruition here in the Denver marketplace.

I have recently convinced a grower from the weekly Farmer’s Market I attend to consider a CSA model, which would accept SBDs for payment. For the time being, I have agreed to handle all currency translations for him from SBDs to fiat, so we can get this project off the ground.

I spoke with the group to gauge their interest in supporting this grower, and the conversation grew into a broader discussion of potential small business owners and craft/artisan product creators which may be receptive to accepting SBDs as a form of payment. Currently, I have agreed to behave as a fiat gateway in a limited capacity to translate SBDs to fiat. I’m looking forward to moving this forward and having first SBD transactions booked for consumer staples to realize true utility.

By the end of October, the state of Colorado will have hosted four Steemit Meetups, spread out over four distinct geographic regions of Colorado within a one month period. The future looks bright in the Centennial State.


Rocky Mountain Region Steemit News

If you are part of the Rocky Mountain Region and would like to join the community chatroom on the Steemit Chat application, please Direct Message me (@lpfaust) to include you in the Rocky Mountain Region community private chatroom. You can also join the conversation on the Rocky Mountain Steemit Discord Channel. We would love to hear your voice and have you participate in upcoming events (or host your own).

Some upcoming Steemit Meetups in the Rocky Mountain Region:

  • @rebele93 has formed the Colorado Front Range Steemit Meetup. The first Meetup is at the Nighthawk Brewery - 2780 Industrial Lane Broomfield, CO on Thursday, October 12, 2017, from 7:00 PM to 9:00 PM. Please visit the linked page for the Meetup.org page and more details. I will be attending this event and if you’re in the area, be sure to catch up with us.

  • @rebelmeow and @in2itiveart have a Denver Meetup scheduled at the Mercury Café in the Jungle Room – 2199 California Street Denver, CO on Thursday, October 26, 2017, at 7:00 PM. I’m currently clearing out that evening to join them and I hope to see you there.



Sort:  

It was great meeting @lpfaust and @intuitivejakob at the GABF! So sorry I could not be there at the meetup.

Please sign up for the meetup if you are planning on attending. Right now it just looks like one person will be there. Me. While I have no problem drinking and playing pinball alone, I'd love to meet some of you guys!

Cheers, @rebele93

(corrected your name... sorry about that @intuitivejakob!)

Great to meet you too!

I'm Jakob with a K, amigo!

(@rebele93 thanks, brother! Much appreciated and excited to see you at the meetup in Broomfield tonight!)

(@rebele93 thanks, brother! Much appreciated and excited to see you at the meetup in Broomfield tonight!)

I just signed up. See you this evening.

@rebele93 the Beer Festival was awesome. Thanks again for the tickets.

I have been chatting on the Discord channel with some of the others in the community and Inthinknwe have four going up your way (@sunravelme, @geke, @intuitivejakob and me). I will be sure to let them know to sign up on your Meetup page through the Discord channel.

Looking forward to catching up again. Will you be bringing your wife as well?

Bummed that @amvanaken and I missed it due to the rear ending.

I was surprised how well the Great American Beer Fest helped take the edge off the whiplash!

It has been exciting how responsive our region has been about organizing this community. Looking forward to tomorrow!

@intuitivejakob I was surprised at the enthusiasm and engagement after the first meetup in Colorado Springs. I have two newbies to bring into the ecosystem in the near future.

That is most excellent!

Looking forward to tomorrow, too. It is a good sign how well we all connect too. I feel like our vibes and our synergy is excellent.

Yay for the Front Range steemians!

I wish I could have made this one! My busy season is now over so I should be able to make several more meet ups in the future.

@broncnutz I was hoping you were going to be able to make it, but no worries because there will be some more. Aside from the two upcoming events, I will be hosting another in November. I will be posting regularly here on Steemit, in the Rocky Mountain Steemit chatroom and on the Discord channel as well.

Looking forward to catching up with you again at the next Meetup.

Still kinda bummed Jakob and I missed this event, but thank you for making this post for us to see what we missed and also so we can Follow & Support our fellow Colorado Steemians! I will try to be at the upcoming meetups!

@amvanaken all of us were happy nothing serious happened to you and Jakob. I will be hosting another Meetup in November, hosting the Rocky Mountain Steemit chatroom and Discord channel. If you're looking for news about what's coming up in Colorado, just check out those resources.

Looking forward to catching up again at one of the upcoming events. Take care, my friend.

Wow, this is wonderful. Great work getting people more involved!

@donkeypong since that time, I now have two newbies very interested in the attending some of the upcoming meetups and registering on Steemit. I also have a co-founder of a tech company whom I initially got into cryptos very interested in participating/attending the application development side I am actively looking to pull together. I need to find a dev in the community who can help run that portion of it.

I think the most awesome part about the community is geography does not seem to be a barrier. some of the group from Colorado Springs attended my meetup and will be attending the next two meetups, so the community so far appears to be very active. Let's see how well it continues moving forward.

Fun times.

Very nice @lpfaust

@andrewramdas thanks. I appreciate it.

The Rocky Mountain Region summit was as I see it, a great way to bring people together. It must have cemented goodvrelationship.

@stbrians it was great to meet up with others in the community. Lots of energy and great ideas with this group.

That is a very good orgsnisation. I wish we can organize one in Kenya

Congratulations @lpfaust
MinnowsPower listed your post "Rocky Mountain Region Steemit Accelerator/Meetup October 4, 2017 (FOLLOW UP)" as one of the top 5 upvoted and commented posts of the day...!!!

Exceptional meetup which helps to build brilliant Steemit Community...!!!

50% Upvoted by @MinnowsPower

MinnowsPower is not a bot, I am a Crowdfunding Hybrid
One small UpVote of Yours build MinnowsPower and MinnowsPower will Not Forget Your Support...!!!
(Limited Service Offer) Send 0.01 SBD and get $0.025 - $0.03 worth upvote from @MinnowsPower

wow thats very nice, meeting each other is a good thing. hope to meet someone here too :) congrats @lpfaust for meeting more steemians.

@ruah thanks for the kind words. Why not start something in your own community rather than wait for it to happen? Honestly, I wish I'd followed through six months ago.

Very cool initiative. Great job.

@luzcypher thanks. I appreciate it. How have things been?

Great! It's easy to have things go great when you live in Cancun, man. LOL!

Getting ready for SteemFest.

Hey, you still want to do that post we talked about? How have you been?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87