Steemit Bug Report: Confusing Post Buttons

in #steemit7 years ago

Okay, so maybe I’m just confused but shouldn’t the post button like post the material? Why are there two of them now?

My last post I ended up posting twice. The first time I hit the “Post” button at the top of the page after writing my material only to see it not post.


Having two “post” buttons is like seeing snails, umm “kissing”. It can be a bit awkward at times :^)

Then I hit the “Post” button at the bottom of the page and it seemed to post but nothing happened except all my text went away and I had to start over.

Unfortunately I’ve lost the links to the oriental images I uploaded so I needed to upload them again when I started the posting process over. There could be duplicate images floating around in data processing purgatory, taking up disk space somewhere only to be never viewed by the eyes of anyone.

Sorry about that, hopefully that is not the case but if so I recommend adding a good garbage collection routine to purge out unused images, just in case I get more confused and do it again.

If any of my posts do show up twice please realize that I’m not trying to game the system, copyright infringe myself, or take a large chunk of the reward pool through spamming or something. LOL.)


Thanks for reading, please realize I greatly value all of the beneficial work that is being done and this is just a little bit of my strange attempt at bug report humor. ;)

Sort:  

I posted yesterday and I don't know if it was me or the steemit site before it went offline and all that, my post just went kaput in to oblivion so I had to rewrite it all again @lightsplasher

I understand that this site is still on beta so its Ok.

Yesterday there were a lot of issues with a DoS attack or something. Perhaps this issue is more related to that than the user interface change in the button appearance. In general things operate pretty well so I'm very hopeful much of this will be improved on as the system matures.

Yes it gives me an excitement on what improvements would be done in the future but I think the "mentions", the resteem, and the home page should be looked at too.

Yes, I think so too. Many of these types of things are user interface issues independent of the blockchain and might even be done on different open source projects. (I haven't looked into the software licensing issues or studied it much so I'm not sure though.) There have been some very exciting changes being announced - fun stuff.

We soon yet to see the fun things ahead in stored for steemit. I hope to see much of it.

I'm not a negative person, but it does seem they have bigger fish to fry rather than changing the "Submit" button to a "Post" button. Seriously? Come on devs!...

Yes, having two "Post" buttons on the page seems confusing and less intuitive than the way it was before to me. It does sound like they have some good modifications planned for the future though.

Post of the day.i love your blog.i resteem your post.

Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

@lightsplasher yes's it's just happened with me just I sharing did you know facts but when 1st time trying to upload but that was not uploaded. Than I'm 2nd time trying to upload than its successfully uploaded lol!

Yes, for me I think I pressed the wrong button the first time after proof reading my post, I think that is what messed things up. It could be some other server issue though, I'm not sure.

It looks like they changed the layout of the steemit links at the top of the page today, it confused me for a bit also.

Less confusion is more better than more confusion, more or less. ;) Anyhow, I'll get used to it but I think it could be improved a bit, I hope the feedback helps.

In Big Big City little little incident happens always! Someone takes it seriously and someone just ignore thinking could be an server error. However your point is noticeable for all.

I was having some fun reporting it anyway. :)

i resteem your post......./////////////

Thank you! I appreciate that. :)

Great Words to live by!!!!

It's a bug report with a voyeuristic picture of snails being intimate. Although people talk about debugging software I've not heard of many talking about desnailing their software so it is somewhat of a non sequitur. But thank you much for your interesting and funny comment, lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29