My First Computer

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


source
Try connecting to Steemit on this. My second manual calculator
from when my dad was in the Army. My first manual calculator was
my fingers. That's how the Babylonians did it. My dad learned this
method from his parents, and they from theirs, all the way back to
Scotland.

Using Your Hands to Count to 60 - Babylonian Counting System


source

What do you think these guys would have thought of Steemit? I was
nine in 1979, and the only thing I knew about computers was to do
with my Texas Instruments calculator with red lit numbers that ran
on a 9v battery. That's right, no photovoltaics, not yet. In fact, I still
had myself a slip stick, that's a slide rule to those not in the know.
I'm not actually all that ancient, but I did learn to operate an abacus
in eighth grade. I highly recommend it.

1979 Computer Store Manager Predicts Future


source

One of the first calculators, very like the one I learned to operate.

source

My first electric calculator

Texas Instruments - Electronic Calculator TI 30


source

Abacus Tutorial: 1 Basic function

Sort:  

Every thing changes; even the technology. Computer has become a huge revolution with in a very short period.

Texas Instruments, I had one of those. I think I still have a Commodore 64 in the attic somewhere.

The dust and cobwebs on it probably weigh more than the actual computer by now. I still have my slide rule in storage somewhere.

Hell, kids today don't even know how to tell time on an analog WATCH! My 6-yr old grandson got a wristwatch-phone for his birthday. He called me on it and said, "Granddad, you can't get one of these."

"Why's that?" I asked.

"'Cause you got OLD FAT fingers, and you NEED small ones for this!"

How right he is! (Heh-heh!)

You might remind him about genetics and how age works. Tell him to enjoy it while he can. Of course, by the time his fingers get too big, computer phones will be wearable in your ear and will read your mind.

You're right... What's the point of spoiling it for him? (I'll let HIS g'kids do THAT!)

Hahaha, isn't that what grand kids are for?

They say the child is the father of the man. I suppose the child-of-the-child reminds him how REALLY old he's become!

Grand kids wouldn't exist without Grand parents, and Grand parents wouldn't need to exist without Grand kids. The best possible outcome that Grand kids can really hope for is to get old, if they're lucky.

"Grand kids can really hope for is to get old, if they're lucky."

Regrettably, I know some old folks who'd disagree with that. Too bad for them. Life is a daily gift - especially if you have kids or pets to keep you young at heart.

I think most people who do not appreciate every breath, have not been properly challenged in life. The most mundane life is filled with more astonishingly amazing experiences than all of fiction put together. All that is needed is the perspective to see it.

I remember those days. The art of using a calculator is quickly becoming replaced with the art of looking up the answer on Google.

Yeah, kids today are going to be completely helpless if this modern civilization doesn't work out. That's the point of this post. Maybe I can stir up some interest. There is a museum for slide rules. It's almost like using your brain for actual self reliance is a thing of the past.

Heh "almost" good one

Yeah, you're right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75