1 SBD is worth around 3.50 STEEM right now! Plus old World's Fair cartoon, and Jonathan Coulton :)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

[Edit: the title had erroneously said "1 SBD is worth around $3.50" but that's not correct; 1 SBD was worth 3.50 STEEM, which were worth $2.15 at the time I exchanged -- thus, 1 SBD was really around $7.50. Also, see @kid4life's response, it seems exchanges have even better rates than blocktrades.us, so it may make sense to take the extra couple minutes to exchange on an exchange...]

 

If you have any SBD in your account, you might consider purchasing STEEM or STEEM Power with them. The price of one SBD is supposed to be kept to around "one dollar" so for it to have swung this much up, means it will likely be corrected soon.

I spent all my SBD to purchase SP via blocktrades.us (i.e., the in-Wallet-tab transaction). I sent 180.598 SBD, and received 626.277 SP, so at that moment, 1 SBD was worth 3.47 SP.

The reason I did this, is because I got the following email from a bot, apparently because I had used Steemit chat at some point:

Hello!

I am @overpriced-sbd, a friendly bot, which is trying to help Steem community. I am sending this message to you, because I noticed 2 things:

  • price of SteemDollar (SBD) is right now way above 1 USD, according to coinmarketcap, it is now $3.11!
  • according to Steem blockchain you have right now 177.099 SBD on your account

In the past similar things happened few times. Sometimes traders which do not understand a difference between STEEM and SBD, are buying SBD even if price is above $1. Recent growth of SBD price is caused mostly by the fact that new exchange (Upbit.com) added STEEM and SBD to their exchange.

In the past price of pumped SBD always went back to $1 and this is probably what also happen this time (sooner or later). So please consider selling all your SBD at good price, and buying 3.11 times more STEEM for the same amount of SBD :)

Please, don't get me wrong: I do not buy/sell any crypto. I am just friendly bot, which decided to notify all Steemians, that now is a time, when people can buy a lot of cheap STEEM with overpriced SBD :)

The quickest way to buy SBD for STEEM is to use internal steem market, which is available at: https://steemit.com/market

Right now you can buy there 1 STEEM for just 0.42 SBD!

you can also use other exchanges, but then you will need to first sell SBD for BTC, and then buy STEEM with BTC:

This bot might notify you in the future in case of huge spikes on SBD. if you don't wan't to be notified, please type: stop

The alts are getting wrecked right now, as Bitcoin rockets higher. Although, I perceive things as "relative to Bitcoin" rather than "relative to dollars", so even if a coin has gone up 20% today vs. the dollar, it's still down if I bought it with BTC! As BTC is currently up 24%.

I've not been on much in the past week; I'm not doing that great, with the weather and time change. Time is supposed to move forward one second per second! Messing with that causes trauma, including suicides and car accidents. Fortunately our state has said "we'll stop if the states around us stop", and several of those have made the same statement. "Won't be long now, Elmer!" (Quote is at 1:55.)

I love the sardines transport! :)

And, WOW -- at 3:12, 3D-printed buildings -- back in 1935!

 

Then a stork delivers a baby into a chimney, and she says (as she does to everything), "oh, ain't that wonderful?", and unlike his normal response, he says, "Nope!" LOL!

And at the end, they get a new roadster -- and, it has a seat in the back for the horse, named "Dog-Biscuit"!

I haven't seen this in a couple decades. Really enjoyed it back then, and it's even better now. That's so neat, that randomly I recalled it while deciding how to write "The Future, Soon" above -- uh oh, now I have to include that song, as well!

:)

 

Enjoy!

Sort:  

I did the same thing today, got 69 steem for 10 SBD, a pretty good deal ^_^

@libertyteeth Really informative post, i appreciate this,,,

That was a really old video.

Yeah -- it was half my life ago when I first saw it as well. :)

I bought alot of steem these past days! And i wil probably keep douing it :)

bought tons of steem with my sbd whoohoo

Oh, the time change jacks with me, too! Plus the days get so short this time of year... but only 2 weeks till the days stop getting shorter!

Looking forward to it! Perhaps BTC at 50k by then, LOL. :) A week ago my dad had said "maybe 15k by the end of the year!" Not ambitious enough, apparently... :)

Apparently lol! Did you see John McAffee's comment about what bitcoin will be worth in 2020?

LOL YES! I had considered including it in my response, but then realized I'm talking to a lady. :) Recently he doubled his price estimate as well!

My take on it (pardon my ribald humor :) ) is that he's not talking about grilling; he's talking about spinal flexibility. :)

Hello @libertyteeth,

The price you got for the steem power is really a good deal. For those who have a lot of SBDs right now will can really profit from this.

@yaanivapeji, some days ago i had converted by btc wallet, but deducted many of the amount, which need to do for next? @libertyteeth

Apparently, it's not that great a deal -- see @kid4life's response on this post. Hopefully he replies as to where that's from -- I spent all mine, but perhaps this can help others out!

Yah i have seen it, but i don't quite understand it. Am still learning in the crypto space.

I added an "Edit" to the top of this post -- turns out I did the math wrong, it was 3.5x STEEM, not $3.50, so one SBD was more like $7.50 at the time I did the exchange.

From reading further posts, it seems it's up to $13 now, or almost double where I dumped it! Take my investment advice, and do the opposite. :)

Ok. Thank you.

if u preffer this i try it to buy steem with sbd

Yea, unfortunately, don't have a lot of sbd :( I changed a bit couple days ago when thought that price was already very good, but now it just skyrocketed :)

Screenshot_6.png

I get much more for my SBD, how come its only 3 there?

Yikes! Thanks, where is that from? I used all my SBD but at least this can help others, or future me. :)

This is from bittrex an hour ago... Sorry to see you got a bad deal, always check "all" options first

Actually, wasn't a bad deal -- I just had the title wrong, but the body was accurate. I got 3.47 SP for each SBD that I had -- dollars not involved. Each SP was at the time worth $2.15, so doing the math, each SBD was worth around $7.50. Still, less than your above, but at least I caught my mistake and will correct the title. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99